We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Caribbean House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Management photos
Caribbean House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

229 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 161: English reviews
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2016

We stayed for 3 nights and wished we had longer. Our room was small but very cute and clean. It was all we needed as a comfy place to sleep. The building was traditional for the Keys and so pretty in pink and white, and maintained beautifully. The outside terraces were communal and kept spotlessly clean - great for eating... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lea R
Epping, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
INNKEEPER’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 30 January 2016

Myself and a friend stayed here for one night in January 2016. We did an excursion to Key West from our main holiday in South Beach Miami. We paid $149 for a twin room. No breakfast was included but loads of places close by to eat. The room was comfortable and very clean. The location is excellent. A special mention... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher B
About Innkeeper's Favourite Review
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2016

The Caribbean House was perfect for our 5 days stay. The Room was small but very clean. The only down side was the control of the AC in our room. The temperature control is in the main office and at night it could get a little warm, but once we asked they lowered it and it was okay. You can... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Odalys V
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2016

we live on south beach and regularly go down to key west for a weekend getaway, and this is the place we've been going to and coming back to for the past 10 years !! we know the owners by name and every time we go there it feels like seeing family !! centrally located and walking distance to duval... More 

Helpful?
Thank Phil F
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2016

We stayed for two nights. The air-conditioned room was small but lovely and clean. The whole place was very well maintained. Marie and her staff were delightful to speak to and very helpful. We parked right outside the building and was able to walk wherever we wanted to go. Fantastic location, central to everything.

Helpful?
Thank deniseandmark2016
USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights and loved it. My inbound flight lost my bag and Marie, the owner, received it from the airline and delivered it to my room when I was exploring the city. The rooms are small but just fine for a solo traveler. The place includes bath towels and beach towels, rents out bikes, and is only... More 

Helpful?
Thank saman007
Trenton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
154 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2016

The room was clean, but it was 10'x10'. It was also $109 per night, a great price. No breakfast, but coffee if you wanted it. No control of the A/C. It was just on the edge of being warm in the room. They failed to clean our room 1 day. (that's a problem). I'm giving it a 4 because my... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barry M
MINOU226, Manager at Caribbean House, responded to this review

We apologize if this guest is mad because we did not clean the room one day, but we don't go in the room if there is NO DISTURB sign and the housekeeper finish around 2 o'clock like it is advertised in the rooms Sorry again sir More 

Coxsackie, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2016

WE had never been to Key West before and didn't know what to expect, but when we arrived at the Caribbean House, we realized we had picked a perfect location. Though the rooms are very small - its fine to stay for a couple of nights. The rooms are well decorated with an island theme, with refrigerators in the rooms.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cheryl E
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2016

My wife and I stayed at Caribbean House from April 1-3 and we had a great stay. Marie at the front desk was extremely helpful and accommodating. We reserved one of the parking spots ahead of time which was $20 for the stay. Well worth it to have your car guaranteed a spot right in front of the inn as... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank FLboy22
Cathedral City, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2016

Our room so small unable to fit our lugguge. All 3 windows in room unsecured no way to lock on the ground floor. The airconditioning was not working so room was hot as an oven making it impossible to sleep or use the room. All air conditioners controlled by office no way to regulate so high Temps and humidity make... More 

Helpful?
Thank prairiegarden
MINOU226, Owner at Caribbean House, responded to this review

I will not even answer to this, it is too vicious ! This review is just too outrageous to be trustful ! Just read all the other reviews that we had all these years and you will have an real idea of what we offer to our guest. We are sooo sorry of all this The owner More 

96 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (74)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 km away
Angelina Guest House
Angelina Guest House
#24 of 85 in Key West
734 reviews
0.3 km away
Coco Plum Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.5 km away
Marrero's Guest Mansion
Marrero's Guest Mansion
#15 of 85 in Key West
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Weatherstation Inn
The Weatherstation Inn
#43 of 85 in Key West
213 reviews
0.3 km away
Casablanca at Bogart's
Casablanca at Bogart's
#55 of 85 in Key West
101 reviews
1.1 km away
The Grand Guesthouse
The Grand Guesthouse
#21 of 85 in Key West
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
CARIBBEAN HOUSE IS 2 blocks from Duval Street (the main street), 1 block from HEMINGWAY HOUSE, 3 blocks from the beach (FORT ZACHARY TAYLOR BEACH). Dogs are welcome at NO charge. All the rooms are renovated and have their own bathroom, A/C, Flat screen TV with cable and a fridge. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Caribbean House

Address: 226 Petronia St, Key West, FL 33040-7374
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Price Range: $178 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Caribbean House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribbean House Hotel Key West
Caribbean House Key West, Florida
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Caribbean House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Trenton, New Jersey
6 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Caribbean House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upstairs for noise control”
 of 5 bubbles boxtersue, 5 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Request first floor rooms to avoid steep stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles beezus2015, 6 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Second floor rooms feel more secure, but there are plenty of steps.”
 of 5 bubbles FlyguyUK, 20 Jun 2015 | Read review
“All rooms are the same size”
 of 5 bubbles big4buck, 30 Apr 2015 | Read review
“If you don't need a big room - take it !!!”
 of 5 bubbles Hollidaystraveller, 27 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay