We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Palms Hotel- Key West

Expedia.comUSD 224*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 224*
USD 224*
USD 224*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Palms Hotel- Key West
The Palms Hotel- Key West
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

572 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 436: English reviews
Start your review of The Palms Hotel- Key West
 Click to rate
Salford, England
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here for three nights. Warm welcome on arrival with the benefit of an early check in. Nice room on the ground floor near pool and breakfast area. Both room and bathroom bigger than I expected given reviews I'd read prior to travelling although in comparison to modern hotels, they are smaller. Breakfast fine - coffee, juice, breads, rolls, pastries,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margrove
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Loved this place! If you want to get away and really feel part of the Key West culture, this is the place for you. Comfortable clean rooms in an old vintage hotel with a wonderful continental breakfast in the morning. Close to everything, we rented bikes and spent our days riding around town - we never used the car once...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Otoolegirl
palmsreservations, Guest Relations Manager at The Palms Hotel- Key West, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us! We're so happy you had such a great stay!

Columbus, OH
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed for 5 nights in this quiet and residentially located hotel. The rooms were exceptionally clean and a very nice size. The beds were comfortable with nice linens and plenty of pillows. Wifi was free, as was breakfast. Breakfast was standard fare but the coffee was some of the best I've tasted. There are two Cuban coffee stands just a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patricia V
palmsreservations, Guest Relations Manager at The Palms Hotel- Key West, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us! We're so glad to chose to stay at The Palms while you were in Key West. We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 1 week ago

Let me start by saying some rooms are better than others. OUR room was on the 2nd floor, dirty floors, dirty bathroom, and old. And the price we paid was double what our friends paid with a nicer room. The location is a full mile / 20 minute walk to Duval, so if that's important to you, then you may...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alp1234567
palmsreservations, Guest Relations Manager at The Palms Hotel- Key West, responded to this review

We're very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are an older hotel, so some things are a little more outdated than others. Our housekeeping staff works very hard to keep the rooms very clean, so we apologize you did not find them clean. We do have a lot of renovations planned coming up this off season...

Varna, Bulgaria
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

+ Walkable distance to downtown, excellent location. Comfortable kingsize bed (single mattress). Quiet zone, away from the noise. For US standard - clean room (could be much better). Free parking. - Rooms are not soundproof. Breakfast is on the basic side: only boiled eggs, toast, juices. No bacon, sausages, etc - for the money payed, it should be better If...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aleksandar K
palmsreservations, Guest Relations Manager at The Palms Hotel- Key West, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us! We are a historic hotel so we are smaller and do have do not have full access for all guests to keep the integrity of the historical property. Our free breakfast is on the lighter side, more of a "starter" breakfast to get your day going. Thanks again and we hope to see you...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here 20 years ago and it is the same today as it was back then. Although the rooms are a bit outdated, the place is clean and the staff is very nice. The breakfast is also a plus. Free continental plus breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alina L
palmsreservations, Guest Relations Manager at The Palms Hotel- Key West, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting us again! Twenty years ! Wow, Key West must have looked quite a bit different than the last time you visited. Thanks again for choosing The Palms and we'd love to see you again!

Palm City, Florida
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and myself have stayed at The Palms Hotel in Key West Florida numerous times in the past 5 years. The Hotel and property has a beautiful pool area and they serve Continental Type Breakfast every morning. The rooms are in the Key West tradition and kept immaculate.. The staff are the nicest people and very accommodating to all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeandHarriet
palmsreservations, Guest Relations Manager at The Palms Hotel- Key West, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us! We like to think of our loyal, repeat guests as family. We appreciate you coming back year after year and can't wait to see you again next year! We're so happy you choose The Palms for every visit to paradise! Thanks again!

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

First time in Key West with the family so didn't know what to expect. It isn't cheap and you don't get five star luxury for your dollar but we thought it was quaint, clean and all staff helpful. It is around a 1km from Duvall Street but there is plenty to walk out and see. Hire a bike and enjoy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thatt0
palmsreservations, Guest Relations Manager at The Palms Hotel- Key West, responded to this review

We're so glad you enjoyed your trip to Key West! It truly is a place of its own. Unfortunately because Key West is so unique and small, things are quite expensive so you can't do much to avoid that. We'd love to see you the next time you visit our island! Thank you again for choosing The Palms!

Reviewed 12 April 2017

I understand that Key West is an expensive place to travel but for over $300 a night basic things should be expected. 1) An outdoor seating area next to a pool with a sign that says Tiki Bar should probably actually be a bar, but alas, not a drop of rum in sight. A rather ho-hum breakfast of cereal and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey A
palmsreservations, Guest Relations Manager at The Palms Hotel- Key West, responded to this review

We're sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us at The Palms. We do have plans to use the Tiki Bar for more than breakfast, but that is a licensing issue we are working on. Our breakfast is a variety of fresh cut fruit, yogurt, juices, bagels and coffee. It is a complimentary breakfast, so it is not a...

Ocoee, Florida, United States
Reviewed 8 April 2017

Sometimes when you travel with extended family, you have to compromise. Such was the case with this hotel. Yes, it is cute and quaint and has nice colors, but the rooms are very small - barely accommodating two double beds, and parking is an issue. Once we found a spot, we didn't dare move. The first room they gave us...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kris B
palmsreservations, Guest Relations Manager at The Palms Hotel- Key West, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us! We know quirky, authentic Key West accommodations aren't for everyone, so we do thank you for staying. The room you were booked in is called our attic suite. It's exactly that, an attic converted in to a room with a mini kitchenette in the downstairs portion. Because the hotel is converted from two historic...

413 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (165)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (43)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (60)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (216)
Viewed
Amenities (30)
Viewed
Pool (26)
Viewed
Queen Bed (43)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Suite (66)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (6)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
3.4 km away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#42 of 51 in Key West
2,323 reviews
0.5 km away
Eden House
Eden House
#8 of 51 in Key West
1,696 reviews
0.6 km away
NYAH Key West
NYAH Key West
#24 of 77 in Key West
1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Grand Guesthouse
The Grand Guesthouse
#19 of 77 in Key West
736 reviews
1.0 km away
Southwinds Motel
Southwinds Motel
#22 of 51 in Key West
666 reviews
4.4 km away
Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Palms Hotel is the perfect hybrid of a quaint historically built guesthouse with all the amenities of a modern hotel in the historic district of Key West, 8 short blocks to Duval. Complimentary breakfast, seasonally heated pool, WI-FI property wide, guest computer, bicycle rental ($), BBQ picnic spot and lounge areas around the porches of the property. Concierge service is available to plan your Key West adventures and activities. Will you be here for a special event? Let us know and we can make your event even more memorable. Each of our guest rooms is equipped with a TV, telephone, individually controlled air conditioner and ceiling fans. Children and pets are welcome. IMPORTANT NOTE: Our front desk is open form 8am -10 pm. If you are going to be arriving after 10pm please contact us to make special arrangements for your arrival. Our after hours late check-in/emergency contact number is: 305.293.9815 ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Palms Hotel- Key West

Address: 820 White St, Key West, FL 33040-7157
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Price Range: $224 - $440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Palms Hotel- Key West 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Palms Hotel- Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms Hotel- Key West Hotel Key West
Palms Hotel Key West
The Palms Hotel- Key West Florida
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Palms Hotel- Key West staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from The Palms Hotel- Key West staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you want a quiet area, ask to have a room that isn't close to the pool - otherwise a great place to meet people!”
Otoolegirl, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor suited us just fine”
Thatt0, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Call Hotel Direct for Better Deals. Park in the back of the Hotel for easy luggage load up.”
wanderingwidows, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“VIEW spectactular”
603stephanie, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Depending on budget, get a suite. It includes bedroom, bath, plus kitchen, dining area .”
Flyaway2014, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
USD 224* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUSD 224
TravelocityUSD 224
Orbitz.comUSD 224
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates