We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Smallest Bar Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

152 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Smallest Bar Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 151: English reviews
Middletown, Maryland
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This place is a place to crash. It isn't terribly filthy, but it isn't clean. They do have roaches. I didn't see bedbugs. The shower is the size of a phone booth. Bring your own shampoo. If you're looking for a nice hotel experience, don't stay here

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Jkuf
Key West, Florida
Reviewed 14 March 2014

This is truly the worst hotel i have ever stayed at on my life. I didn't want to believe the reviews, and gave it a whirl but guess what?! All the bad reviews were correct! Bed bugs scouring the counters and walls, the maid comes whether you want her to or not, and doesn't even bother to flush when she...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Worsthotel1seriously
customshouse, Owner at Smallest Bar Inn, responded to this review

if you were having a third world experience then it is without a doubt that you had it somewhere OTHER than this establishment . Perhaps your impression of our Guest House was for some unmentionable reason skewed horribly. It appears that the recent reviews are an attempt by either an unhappy individual or other properties to make us look bad....

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 13 March 2014

This is by far the worst place I have ever stayed in my life. I am not a fancy traveler and have stayed in many motels in my time. This again, is THE WORST. Where do I begin.... 1- There is no front desk nor is there anyone on the property to assist you. Yes, you pick up the key...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank wantingwarmer
customshouse, Owner at Smallest Bar Inn, responded to this review

this is what a person writes when they expect a to stay for free and it doesn't happen. Future guests should look at the honest, candid reviews posted by travelers!!!

Cape Coral, Florida, United States
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I must say, the location was hard to beat. Cute little tropical path leading back to the rooms. I've read some other comments regarding noise; however did not find this to be an issue. Simple and clean decor, and again, location was fabulous. I have already booked my next stay!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Erin W
customshouse, Manager at Smallest Bar Inn, responded to this review

thank you very much for your stay!!!

Miami Shores, Florida
Reviewed 18 February 2014

My husband and I were lucky enough to get a last minute reservation here for valentines day weekend. The room was beautiful and had a full kitchen with fridge. It is located in the heart of Duval street. At a most affordable price. There is no real check in office but getting your key at "the world smallest bar" was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rosanna R
customshouse, Manager at Smallest Bar Inn, responded to this review

thanks for your review and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us

Cool, California
Reviewed 13 February 2014

My bride to be booked a room at the Old Customs House Inn for a night when we would be spending a day of our honeymoon in Key West. The charges were confirmed at the time of booking, but the credit card was billed an additional $15. When we inquired as to why, we were told it is a 'room...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank gary p
customshouse, Manager at Smallest Bar Inn, responded to this review

we do send out a room receipt and a letter that confirms the reservation. The room receipt details EVERY charge PRIOR to a guests stay. This is done because we have no hidden or last minute fees that are charged at check-out. You stated in emails to us that you were unhappy with the booking fee and we responded the...

Verdigre, Nebraska
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I wish I could write a better review for this place. The room was large except for a small bathroom. The location is great, but loud. I booked a room for 2 nights and received an email receipt with Balance Due: $201.37. The next day I received another Email from "j." at the Old Customs House Inn with a receipt...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank 3river
customshouse, Manager at Smallest Bar Inn, responded to this review

in response to your recent review .... Housekeeping alerted us about the damage and documented it. ....if any guest(s) incur room damage, then we charge for the repairs.

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The absolute worst part of key west is getting around. renting a car or a scooter or even a bicycle creates numerous problems. That being said, being so close to the action of Duval Street was fantastic. On a previous visit we stayed more north of Duval and rented a car which costs a fortune to park. Being able to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Eric V
customshouse, Owner at Smallest Bar Inn, responded to this review

thanks Eric ! please visit soon !!!

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 11 January 2014

The property and the rooms are very nice (though the shower had very low pressure). However, the experience of staying there is not entirely comforting. There is no staff to speak to, and obtaining the keys from a rude and busy bartender who hastily showed us our room is not becoming of a place that charges so much per night....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank J K
customshouse, Manager at Smallest Bar Inn, responded to this review

thank you. and yes sometimes a guest would have to wait until the people in front of them are taken care of and then it is your turn. Thanks for your patience and we dont need a big staff especially when the "Smallest " is right next to us ! Were happy that you did enjoy the room.

Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

My husband came down for a few days and love the location of the inn..This was our second time staying and it went as well as the first! Rooms are clean and spacious. The inn is right in the middle of everything but set back so you don't hear Duval steet noise! Hotel staff and Smallest bar staff are always...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Pamela S
customshouse, Owner at Smallest Bar Inn, responded to this review

thank you Pam and Kevin for your review, its always a pleasure to see you !

69 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (68)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.5 km away
The Weatherstation Inn
The Weatherstation Inn
#50 of 77 in Key West
218 reviews
0.4 km away
Artist House
Artist House
#13 of 77 in Key West
898 reviews
0.4 km away
L'Habitation
L'Habitation
#49 of 77 in Key West
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
New Orleans House
New Orleans House
#54 of 77 in Key West
223 reviews
0.3 km away
Casa 325
Casa 325
#30 of 77 in Key West
678 reviews
0.6 km away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Concierge

Additional Information about Smallest Bar Inn

Address: 124 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-6506 (Formerly Old Customs House Inn)
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Price Range: $298 - $472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Smallest Bar Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Smallest Bar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Customs House Hotel Key West
Smallest Bar Inn Key West, Florida
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Smallest Bar Inn staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Smallest Bar Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Quietest room is #3 upstairs.”
 of 5 bubbles chunkmb, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Free wifi but it did not work consistently”
  • both sketchy and scary
 of 5 bubbles lild0g, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“You don't go to Key West to be constantly on the Internet, so forget the wifi and all relative attachments to it.”
 of 5 bubbles Sashaserena, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Downstairs rooms are not very private as they only have net curtains”
 of 5 bubbles Flying-Uke, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
“If you must stay here, request the second floor to reduce the number of people looking into your room.”
 of 5 bubbles Dr Dudik, 18 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5