We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Historic Peninsula Inn

Booking.comUSD 153*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 153*
USD 153*
USD 153*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
The Historic Peninsula Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

277 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 265: English reviews
Start your review of The Historic Peninsula Inn
 Click to rate
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed 2 nights at the Peninsular Inn very nice place very traditional with lovely owners. But, felt it was very pricey for what it was! Yes, it's right in the middle of the now fashionable Gulfport. But our room was very small with its creaky bed not very good air con and a fan in a very dodgy position. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John H
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

At first glance, the inn seems like any ordinary BNB but once you walk in you are surrounded with the character and history it has to offer. Located right in the heart of Gulfport, it is not 5 minutes walking distance from any good place to eat, drink, or sight see. The staff was very helpful when it came to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kayla M
Fayetteville, New York
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I've stayed at many wonderful inns/Bed and Breakfasts thru the years. The Historic Peninsula Inn was a major disappointment. The Innkeepers (although they never introduced themselves) were disinterested and not gracious at all. They did let us leave our bags due to our early arrival (but we felt like it was an imposition). There was no sense of feeling welcome....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank julesbent
veronicachampion, Owner at The Historic Peninsula Inn, responded to this review

Dear julesbourbon, Thank you for taking the time to write out your opinions although we really wish you had spoken to us while you were here. We try very hard to make every guest feel welcome and assist in any way that we can and clearly we failed to do that for you. For this we are sorry. We really...

Palm City, Florida
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Gulfport has a quaint town center in an up and coming artsy area. Peninsular Inn anchors this location and is active in the community. Owner and staff were very attentive and accommodating. The Inn is a work in progress as the new owner updates and improves amenities. Surprise 1, was the excellent meal, served on the patio, that we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gail S
veronicachampion, Owner at The Historic Peninsula Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Gail! We are so happy to hear that you appreciated Gulfport, Isabelle's and your stay at the Inn. We are very proud of our little town and the Tuesday Fresh Market. We also have fun Art Walks on the 1st Friday and 3rd Saturday of each month for visitors to enjoy. Chef Phil and his team do an...

Naples, Florida
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I stayed over Easter Weekend and were a bit disappointed overall. Lamp did not work in our room nor did the A/C work properly. Front desk told us he'd look into it but nothing was done. Tom at the front desk always head in headphones which was very annoying and disrespectful to guests trying to speak to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kevin W
veronicachampion, Owner at The Historic Peninsula Inn, responded to this review

Dear Kevin W, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your visit. I sincerely wish you had mentioned something during the multiple conversations we had during your visit. All of us at the Inn and at Isabelle's work very hard to provide an excellent guest experience and when something is not right, we work to fix...

London
Reviewed 11 April 2017

This Inn has a great deal of character and is of considerable architectural interest. Sadly, the rooms are very tired looking. I stayed in two different rooms on consecutive nights, and each had drawbacks; lighting was poor, beds uncomfortable and bathrooms inadequate. Breakfast was a big disappointment; an egg dish was available, but there was a very poor fruit salad,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank londonfoodie81
veronicachampion, Owner at The Historic Peninsula Inn, responded to this review

Dear londonfoodie81, We are very sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. All of the staff work very hard to provide a comfortable and welcoming experience. I sincerely wish you had mentioned something while you were here. While I am not exactly sure what we could have done to improve your visit, we certainly...

Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewed 9 April 2017

this is a historic building, beautifully kept in the old style, run by very friendly, welcoming people who made is feel at home instantly everything is personal, original and feels home made, particularly breakfast was such a change from standard offerings we also recommend the restaurant, eating on the large front porch on a warm spring eaving was a lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter S
veronicachampion, Owner at The Historic Peninsula Inn, responded to this review

Dear Peter, Thank you for your kind review. We very much appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. All of the staff at the Inn and Isabelle's restaurant want every single one of our guests to enjoy their visit. It really does make us happy to know we have been successful. Please come back and visit with us...

Rochester, New York
Reviewed 6 April 2017

The location is excellent.Close to the beach and plenty of great restaurants. Gulfport is a small town reminiscent of an old hippy beach town. Bed was comfy and sheets and towels were soft and welcoming. Staff was helpful when asked. The breakfast was very good although our stay was 10 days and we would have appreciated a little variety. The...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank jfavk
veronicachampion, Owner at The Historic Peninsula Inn, responded to this review

Thank you jfavk for taking the time to write your review. We very much appreciate all of your comments (Although I admit I like the good ones just a bit better) Because you have taken the time to detail your issues it makes it much easier for us to act on fixing them. Yes, I purchased the Inn a little...

Western MA
Reviewed 30 March 2017

Very nice breakfasts provided with one warm egg dish each morning, fruit, breads/toast, juice, etc. Lovely service... staff was always available and ready to help. Room was adequately large and well maintained. Ours had an attached sitting room as well. Bed was very comfortable. Very convenient location to the Gulfport Casino and beach. Many restaurants within walking distance. About a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RSG-foodie
Veronica C, Owner at The Historic Peninsula Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review! We are always happy to hear that people have really had a chance to enjoy the Inn as well as some of the sights in the area. We are working on a plan for new windows and new AC's which we expect to make a stay at the Inn even better. We look forward...

Reviewed 28 March 2017 via mobile

This was our second stay at the inn and we expect to have many more down the road. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are not fancy, but have that classic feeling like staying at grandmas. We love the quirkyness of Gulfport. There's no other place like it. Great food, interesting shops, nice uncrowded beaches, the historic...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patrick M
Veronica C, Owner at The Historic Peninsula Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for you kind review Patrick. It was wonderful to have you back with us and your Gulfport "grandma" looks forward to your next visit!

121 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (84)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (10)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulfport
3.8 km away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
946 reviews
4.5 km away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,456 reviews
5.1 km away
Blue Waters Treasure Island
Blue Waters Treasure Island
#18 of 48 in Treasure Island
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
444 reviews
4.2 km away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#2 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
327 reviews
3.8 km away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#15 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Peninsula Inn, built in 1905 in the heart of the historic waterfront district of Gulfport, is one of the oldest hotels on the west coast of Florida. Featuring 12 unique guestrooms and suites, the Inn is also home to Isabelle's, the award winning restaurant specializing in Southern Cuisine with a modern twist. The Inn also has a full service bar and live entertainment on most nights. There is Free parking and Free WiFi and the Inn is a short walk from the Gulfport Beach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Historic Peninsula Inn

Address: 2937 Beach Blvd S, Gulfport, FL 33707-5547
Region: United States > Florida > Gulfport
Price Range: $216 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Peninsula Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Historic Peninsula Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Hotel Gulfport
Peninsula Inn And Spa
Peninsula Gulfport
Gulfport Peninsula
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Historic Peninsula Inn staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Historic Peninsula Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Enjoyed the Casablanca Room, good for families and 2 friends traveling together.”
I9200FFgails, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Do not stay on the ground floor. (see my review) One guest told me her room was close to the nightly entertainment and therefore was loud.”
  • This door was in our room!! The light was was too bright!!
  • Screw driver holding door shut. Very easy to make this better
  • Door in our suite. Exit sign and screw driver holding door shut
jfavk, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We enjoyed the size of the Burma room.”
MikeRossTravel, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors have less noise”
pesevern, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms facing the street were actually quieter as some facing the courtyard overlooked a restaurant.”
WideWorldTraveller, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 153* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUSD 153
Orbitz.comUSD 153
TripAdvisorUSD 153
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates