We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center

Booking.comUSD 148*
View Deal
GreenLeadersSilver level
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 148*
USD 148*
USD 149*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

333 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center
See the most recent reviews
Showing 329: English reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2016 via mobile

Very clean rooms excellent service start to finish especially Marjorie and Linda. I really enjoyed the hospitality services everything about the Holiday Inn University Center was fantastic. Well sure the rooms could use a little renovation and I'll be nice if there was a bar on the pool deck but outside of that it is a fantastic place and the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Flickac2
HIGainesville, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review

Dear "Flickac2," Thank you so very much for your feedback and recent patronage. Your commentary will be shared with my entire team, particularly Marjorie and Linda. Those two are the epitome of individuals committed to providing the highest of service levels, regardless of the physical plant. We truly appreciate your patronage and hope to have the opportunity to host you...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 28 February 2016

I'm about to check out after a three-day stay and this hotel was fine. I was booked here by a conference organizer and after reading recent reviews I was worried that this was some kind of dive. Far from it! It's a typical Holiday Inn. Not over the top, not terrible. Clean, mid-level hotel. My room looked exactly like the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MiJohnson
HIGainesville, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review

Dear "MIJohnson," Good afternoon. Thank you so very much for your recent patronage and feedback. We're extremely happy that we met and exceeded your expectations, particularly with our Bell Staff as well as your noticing the other wonderful enhancements that are in progress. Your feedback will be shared with my team. Hopefully we'll have an opportunity to host you again...

orlando
Reviewed 26 February 2016

I hadn't been to the Holiday Inn Gainesville for about six months. We always enjoy staying there because of the great staff and great location. I nstead of just keeping things the same and coasting, the hotel has worked hard to improve. The business computer area has been expanded and upgraded. The fitness equipment and room has also been expanded...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank goodtogo33
HIGainesvilleGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review

Greetings "goodtogo33," Thank you so very much for your recent patronage and feedback. It was an absolute pleasure having you return as our guest. Your sentiments shared regarding the "great staff and great location" echo those of many others. Our property has been an icon in the city for several years and it always has and will continue to be...

Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewed 10 February 2016

Positive-Good location close to bars, several restaurants. Piesano's Stone Fired Pizza downstairs is great. Close to UF Bad- Room smelled BAD!! Bathroom had wallpaper falling off, chipped peeling tiles. Ac unit looked to be 20 years old and made a ton of noise. Would not stay here again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wvujaguar
Odyssey L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review

Dear "wvujaguar," Thank you for your recent patronage and subsequent feedback. We're disappointed that we did not meet your expectations however, happy that you felt Piesanos was "great." Each of your concerns will be addressed with my team. We wish you the very best in your future travels. Respectfully, Odyssey Leach General Manager

Stamford, Connecticut
Reviewed 9 February 2016 via mobile

I came here for a one week course at university of florida. I chose this holiday Inn because it was basically right on campus and had a shuttle which was a plus because I could either walk or take the shuttle and avoid renting a car. The hotel shuttle was hard to use because they usually used it for airport...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chriskjfk
Odyssey L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review

Dear "Chriskjfk," Good morning. Thank you for your patronage and feedback. It is disappointing that we failed to meet your expectations however, your commentary will be shared with my entire team, both operations and ownership. We wish you the very best in your future travels. Respectfully yours, Odyssey Leach General Manager

Reviewed 8 February 2016

That hotel stay was a disaster it was like prisoin but i had to get out of town for a while the bathroom was very dirty and the showers did not look so good i am glad i showerd at home befrore we left we did this to go to uf on a tour for my brother.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alex D
Odyssey L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review

Dear "Alex D," Thank you for your recent patronage and feedback. We're truly disappointed that you felt this was the "whorst hotel on earth." Had you expressed your discomfort during your visit, we would gladly have refunded your stay as well as assisted in relocating to different accommodations. I assure you that your feedback will be shared with my entire...

new york
Reviewed 31 January 2016

I booked this because it was near the university, and I looked forward to swimming while I was there. I just assumed it would be a heated pool -- foolish me. And I just assumed the fridge in the room would work -- but no. After 2 days of requesting help with it, it was replaced on my last morning...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bridgeandtunnel
Odyssey L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review

Dear "bridgeandtunnel," Thank you so very much for your recent patronage and feedback. We regret that we were not able to provide you with the quality of service you deserved during your visit. Our goal is to provide an unparalleled service delivery, and we are always looking for ways to ensure that each guest experiences the very best we have...

Siloam Springs, Arkansas
Reviewed 29 January 2016 via mobile

When arriving I was in shock, I thought about turning around immediately and finding someplace else for the 4 nights in Gainesville. But in I went. To say this hotel is dated is misleading , it is also dingy, smelly, noisy and lacks a proper welcoming lobby. I couldn't wait until may visit to Gainesville was over to head home....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WMStevensonIII
Odyssey L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review

Dear "WMStevensonIII," Thank you so very much for your feedback, particularly the comment regarding our team. Indeed, the quality of any "joint is the staff," as service is what makes the difference in a lodging experience. As you're a seasoned traveler, you recognize that the elements of pricing are the functions of supply, demand, and quality. If your visit was...

Pensacola, Florida
Reviewed 20 January 2016

The reviews are accurate. Good service and location across from UF, but terrible, smelly, low ceiling rooms. There were ants in the bathroom sink in both rooms. The restaurant attached is actually quite good. I won't return until a massive redo.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Katie R
Odyssey L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review

Dear "Katie R," Thank you so very much for your recent patronage as well as sharing constructive feedback. Your comments regarding service and Piesanos restaurant are particularly appreciated and will be shared with my entire team. Although your overall perception is somewhat disappointing, I assure you that each of your concerns is being addressed. The property is in the midst...

Reviewed 28 December 2015 via mobile

If proximity to the University is high on your list this place is for you. It is an older facility but has an upgraded TV and the rooms have microwaves and mini-fridges. Overall it needs a major overhaul because there are more modern facilities in the area. Close to all types of restaurants.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jerry J
Odyssey L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review

Dear "Jerry J." Happy New Year! Thank you so very much for your recent feedback. Indeed, if your desire is to be near the University of Florida or one of the other well respected venues in Gainesville, then absolutely the Holiday inn Gainesville University Center Hotel is ideal for you. We have recently upgraded all guest rooms, public areas, and...

125 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (56)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (69)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
2.3 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
1.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
3.8 km away
Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
6.2 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
3.3 km away
Wyndham Garden Gainesville
Wyndham Garden Gainesville
#25 of 44 in Gainesville
1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn University Center is surrounded on all sides by the University of Florida, local shops & boutiques, restaurants, in 'the Heart of Gainesville.' This 6 story 'almost on campus' city landmark offers a roof-top swimming pool surrounded by 14,000 sq. Ft. Of 'sunning' space. The fitness room is located adjacent to the pool on the third floor. Complimentary transportation is provided to the airport and local hospitals daily from 7am-11pm. Free High-speed Wireless Internet service, In-room movies, are available in all rooms. The hotel offers an open and spacious lobby with open business center. The hotel has also recently completed the Holiday Inn Relaunch and features luxury linens, fresh pillow selection, and new signage. Piesanos, an exciting new Italian themed restaurant, is open 7 days a week serving lunch and dinner. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center

Address: 1250 W University Ave, Gainesville, FL 32601-5118
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Price Range: $176 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gainesville University Hotel Gainesville
Gainesville Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Gainesville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
11 months ago
Jacksonville, Florida
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You are in Gainesville, there really are no good views.”
Y88VXtimw, 27 May 2017 | Read review
“Convenient to the University of Florida, Has a great restaurant on-site.”
francesc16, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Pool view rooms are very nice”
LarryJupiter, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“In the heart of everything, lots of food options within walking distance.”
mbeasley2017, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Pool view is quite nice”
726kenr, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 148* /night
View Deal
HolidayInn.comUSD 148
Expedia.comUSD 149
PricelineUSD 148
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates