We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Wyndham Garden Gainesville

Booking.comUSD 77*
View Deal
GreenLeadersSilver level
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Wyndham Garden Gainesville
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,302 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,290: English reviews
Start your review of Wyndham Garden Gainesville
 Click to rate
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewed today NEW

Checked in May 19th with our 86 year old father. Went up to rooms in an elevator that was in very poor shape/not working. Rooms were filthy, old, run down, sheets smelled. We tried to use the elevator to return to front desk but is was not working at all. Use stairs which 86 year old father cannot do. Advised...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jcssiorio
JACKSONVILLE
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 27 February 2017

Great place to stay. Our room was huge! Big balcony overlooking the lake. I would highly recommend the king suite. The room had a full size dining room table and a bar/kitchen area with a sink. The view of the lake was great, we even had an alligator friend that showed up to greet us in the mornings! His name...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank REGGIE J
About Hotel's Favourite Review
WyndhamGardenGainevi, webmaster at Wyndham Garden Gainesville, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for staying with us. I’m very glad that our hotel impressed you in so many ways. I’m extremely happy that you had such a pleasant stay.We’ll be here when you need us with another great stay that you’re sure to like again. Sincerely, Hotel Manager

Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Every visit each week I find hair somewhere in the bathroom..almost every toilet I sit on rocks or moves

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jimtC942LJ
WyndhamGardenGainevi, Webmaster at Wyndham Garden Gainesville, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thanks for your stay at the Wyndham Garden. We note your review and regret the inconvenience caused howsoever. We have investigated the issue and we have never come across such a comment earlier, but your review is serious to us. We shall be taking steps for overall improvement. Trust us and visit again. Sincerely, Hotel Manager.

Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

The hallways and elevators are shabby and hot. Our room was ok, quite large. The update to the small bathroom consisted of s coat of paint. There were dead bugs in the light fixture and a layer of dust on the vanity. No hair conditioner . We were out of our room from 930 to 5pm and our room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandy J
WyndhamGardenGainevi, Webmaster at Wyndham Garden Gainesville, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and staying at the Wyndham Garden.We appreciate your feedback.Please allow me to offer our apologies for the inconveniences that impacted your stay. Your observations has been taken up by a team for verification and necessary actions. It shall be our endeavor to offer a fantastic experience to all our guests, but regret that...

Lawrenceville, Georgia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

A very old, outdated property in need of TLC. My daughter and I only stayed one night. The light in the bathroom didn't work, there was no shower curtain so we showered in the dark with the bathroom door open for at least some natural light and water dripping on the floor from the shower. The "junior suite" was just...

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 486cheriw
WyndhamGardenGainevi, Webmaster at Wyndham Garden Gainesville, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for commenting. I apologize that you were here when the property was not at its best. We’re involved in efforts to further clean and improve it. Maintenance staff was informed about the light and other issues and try to solve the issues. I also hope you’ll choose us again in the area because of our value, friendliness...

Clearwater, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have been staying at the Wyndham hotel (formerly the Paramount Plaza) for 10 years 4 or 5 times a year while visiting UF Shands hospital. Since the takeover from the Paramount the Wyndham hotel has been a disaster during our last several visits. Apparently they are upgrading the hotel and while doing so they have no quality control for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 22Ron1
WyndhamGardenGainevi, Webmaster at Wyndham Garden Gainesville, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments. I’m sorry that several issues combined to make your stay less than desirable. We take real pride in offering the best possible guest experience, and I understand that we let you down. You can be sure we’ll do better for you next time. Nothing means more to us than providing a pleasant guest experience....

Lake Worth, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our stay ended up being over graduation weekend for University of Florida so the property was very busy. But even with all the people, they were doing work on door locks and left extension cords all over the interior halls. These same halls are in need of updating badly. Smelly, dirty carpet and nonexistent air conditioning. The rooms however were...

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank cmitch76
WyndhamGardenGainevi, Webmaster at Wyndham Garden Gainesville, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your kind words about our friendly staff. We have indeed been making changes to better meet guest needs. We take serving our guests very seriously and are very pleased that we met your needs so well. We’ll be here for you when you need us again. Sincerely, Hotel Manager

Huntington Beach, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a hotel undergoing major renovations. The location is nice and having a view of the lake from your room is nice. We even saw an alligator in the water. The breakfast is okay but could be better for price paid for the room. Staff was helpful. Hopefully this will be a nice hotel when all the updates are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DrAHol
WyndhamGardenGainevi, Webmaster at Wyndham Garden Gainesville, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from the Wyndham Garden,Gainesville. Thanks for your stay and the review. We have taken all steps towards improvement especially the breakfast and you have to check in again. We won’t justify, but rather invite you to stay again and feel the new experience. Guest reviews always help us to improve. You are always welcome to stay with...

Vienna, Virginia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel has clearly been through a lot, and I understand it's changed hands several times. The current property, a Wyndham Garden hotel, is working at renovation, but it's been going on awhile and nobody seems to know when it will be completed. The setting (next to a lake) is nice, but currently the furniture in the lobby is ripped,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trackervienna
WyndhamGardenGainevi, Webmaster at Wyndham Garden Gainesville, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for staying with us during your recent visit to our area. We appreciate your review and also take your points seriously. We regret the inconvenience caused whatsoever and we are addressing your observations related to the room features and cleanliness and overall hospitality. You shall definitely find the difference during your next visit. We await your next...

Glenview, Illinois
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidbH9661NP
WyndhamGardenGainevi, webmaster at Wyndham Garden Gainesville, responded to this review

222 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (203)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
View from Room (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
4.3 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
1.0 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
4.5 km away
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
#14 of 44 in Gainesville
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
0.7 km away
Quality Inn University
Quality Inn University
#27 of 44 in Gainesville
124 reviews
4.6 km away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#5 of 44 in Gainesville
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Wyndham Garden Hotel and Conference Center stands out amongst the best accommodations in Gainesville, Florida. Bordered by the picturesque Bivens Arm Lake Nature Preserve, the hotel is Gainesville's only lakefront hotel, offering a taste of Florida the way it used to be. The Wyndham Garden Hotel & Conference Center offers full-service Gainesville hotel lodging at surprisingly affordable rates. The Wyndham Garden is ideally located only minutes from Gainesville's most important and popular attractions and venues, such as the University of Florida, the Butterfly Rain forest, Paynes Prairie State Park, the Phillips Center for the Performing Arts, and Shands Teaching Hospital at The University of Florida. The hotel is a short drive North of historic Micanopy and antique shopping, and just a few miles from downtown Gainesville. Each of our 197 large NON-SMOKING, comfortable guest rooms and suites are designed to meet your Gainesville accommodation needs. Our guest rooms are larger than most hotels in the area, which leaves you with plenty of space to create your home away from home. In-room guest amenities include coffee makers, wireless Internet access, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Unwind on one of our comfortable pillow-top beds and catch up on your relaxation with remote controlled cable television. The Wyndham Garden offers free shuttle services from 7:30 a.M. To 5:30 p.M. Daily upon scheduling at check-in. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Gainesville

Address: 2900 SW 13th Street, Gainesville, FL 32608-3015 (Formerly Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites)
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Price Range: $97 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Gainesville 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Wyndham Garden Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paramount Plaza Hotel Gainesville
Paramount Plaza Hotel And Suites
Paramount Gainesville
Gainesville Paramount
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Gainesville
#7 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#14 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wyndham Garden Gainesville staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Wyndham Garden Gainesville staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay after the renovation has been completed.”
trackervienna, 5 May 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on 2nd and 3rd floors give the best view of the lake.”
  • Our large room...
201ronr, 1 May 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room away from the current construction activity, quiter rooms.”
CMichelle44, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Get the lake view”
LindaW387, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for lake view”
flyboy4fun, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 77* /night
View Deal
PricelineUSD 77
TripAdvisorUSD 77
Hotels.com
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates