We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

El Matador

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
El Matador
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

107 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for El Matador
See the most recent reviews
Showing 106: English reviews
Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewed 28 July 2016

The El Matador is a great place to stay. We have stayed there many times. We like the fact that it is gated, the grounds are kept immaculant, The convenience of being on Okaloosa Island great. You are close to restaurants, attractions, etc. The condos are beautifully decorated and the view are gorgeous.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank tm8395
ElMatadorRentals, Manager at El Matador, responded to this review

Thank you for review your stay. It really makes us happy that you had a great time and loved staying at El Matador!

Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

Very nice and clean. Front gate staff is super sweet. These condos are right in front of the beach. This is a great place to stay if you are bringing children. Basketball court, tennis court, 2 clean pools, saunas and Jacuzzi, gym. The only complaint is that I wish we would have gotten a room with a view. We were...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jennifer R
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

Had a great time! Room was very spacious with a great view in 168! Hoping to return next year! Room was clean except hair left on wall in the shower. And the guard closed up the pools when there was rain in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melanie K
Reviewed 17 July 2016

My room was 623. The furnishings were old and worn out. Bathtub was so gross I couldn't use it. The beach and access were perfect. Probably would not stay again. It's a shame because it was a great location.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kim H
ElMatadorRentals, Manager at El Matador, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay. We are very sorry to hear that you were not happy with your accommodations and apologized for the condition of your unit. We are currently in the process of taking the necessary steps to rectify the issue with the room. Every unit is individually owned and are very different from each other. Because you...

Ankara, Turkey
Reviewed 23 June 2016

This is a great place! Unit 363 is on the top floor and has a perfect view of the gulf and the pool! We sat on the balcony every morning and watched the dolphins. The resort is clean and well maintained. The guards are always friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jdobson007
Granite City, Illinois
Reviewed 12 June 2016 via mobile

El Matador is a great place to go with the family. My daughters and their families rented a condo for the week that slept 9. There were 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. One bedroom has a queen, a bunk with a double on the bottom and walkin closet. The master has a king with an attached bathroom and large closet....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank KatSuess
Reviewed 11 June 2016 via mobile

We stayed in Destin in the same resort for the past 10 years at least 3 times a year.We knew almost every unit and resort started to get crowded which is not my thing. And than out of the blue we discovered EL MATADOR.Now this is what I would consider real vacation.Very peacefull,family friendly,beach not crowded,beautiful pools,24 hour security,property very...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jelena L
ElMatadorRentals, Manager at El Matador, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay! We are very happy that you enjoyed your vacation! Thank you for all the kind words and we hope we have the pleasure of seeing you again the next time you visit this area.

Arab, Alabama
Reviewed 5 June 2016

Stayed at El Matador recently. It was a very nice place to stay. I really loved the family feel of this place and the setting is very peaceful. There are many things to do: two pools,tennis courts, a workout room, hot tubs, saunas, etc. The beaches seem to be white sugar. The only negative of our stay would be the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AUChickadee
Reviewed 29 May 2016 via mobile

Great place to stay building really well Kept clean and calm is a perfect place to relax and enjoy of the gulf beach is perfect staff is really friendly and the condo 468 was perfect for us we were five and we have plenty space and awesome view to the beach if you need a place relax this is the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jaime g
tulsa
Reviewed 27 May 2016 via mobile

We spent 4 days at el matador and we could not have picked a better place! All of the condos are different. the one we stayed in had older decor (if that sort of thing matters to you, we didn't mind) but was very well taken care of! And the best part of you can walk right to the beach!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Samjop
ElMatadorRentals, Manager at El Matador, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are very happy that you enjoyed your vacation and hope that we have the pleasure of providing your accommodations the next time you visit beautiful Okaloosa Island.

100 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (80)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Walton Beach
26.4 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
3.4 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton B...
#1 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
562 reviews
3.5 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- ...
#7 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Best Western Ft. Walton Beachfront
Best Western Ft. Walton Beachfro...
#2 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
1,229 reviews
29.9 km away
Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
29.0 km away
Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our Fort Walton Beach condos are located next to 17 miles of uninhabited beach. To make your Florida vacation as memorable as possible, our 12 acre beach resort offers an array of amenities which includes two pools, tennis and basketball courts, a fitness center, whirlpools, saunas and more! Our staff has dedicated themselves to making certain that the time you spend with us will be the most enjoyable vacation experience you've ever had. You'll experience recreation, sightseeing and world class dining all within minutes of our vacation resort. You'll find beautiful beaches, sugar white sand, emerald green water, one of a kind shops, magnificent scenery and everything else that makes for a perfect stay in paradise. Our Fort Walton Beach Condos are beautifully furnished and fully equipped for your comfort, convenience and offer stunning views where you can enjoy beautiful beach sunsets. Don't waste another minute, contact us today and book your dream vacation condo. ... more   less 

Additional Information about El Matador

Address: 909 Santa Rosa Blvd, Okaloosa Island, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548-5979
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Price Range: $168 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Matador 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your El Matador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Matador Hotel Fort Walton Beach
El Matador Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from El Matador staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
Lafayette, Louisiana
over a year ago
6 months ago
Prairieville, Louisiana
4 months ago

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from El Matador staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Look for dates after Labor Day for the best deals and the water is warm and so is the air.”
LarryMSyputa, 1 May 2017 | Read review
“Buildings 3 and 4 are closest to the beach.”
AnnF886, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“room 118 in building 1”
MarshallB445, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“As these are privately owned condominiums, rates and amenities will vary.”
ScottyWood1927, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“You have great views of the water if you are on a higher floor.”
marynewpherwitt, 16 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Expedia.com
* /night
View Deal
Cancelon
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates