We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel \/ Gateway
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

682 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway
See the most recent reviews
Showing 614: English reviews
Brantford, Canada
Reviewed 9 April 2013

After driving 25hours straight to get to Florida, with no hotel booked (during March Break), we were glad to find that this hotel had a room for us!! We had never stayed at a Candlewood before and was very pleasantly surprized. Although, they only had a room with 1 queen bed (we were a family of 4) they were able...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank twinzzz11
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review

I am glad you found the Candlewood Suites! Most people are pleasantly surprised when they arrive. Our homey atmosphere gives you plenty of privacy and large rooms for the price. Full kitchens, free laundry, free Wi-Fi, free parking and our great Candlewood Service!

Forsyth, Illinois
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Close to trolly stop for beach. Great pool and deck area. Rooms clean and well cared for. Staff was very friendly and helpful. It's nice to have kitchen area for breakfast and snacks. Only complaint I have on this chain is there are no ice machines. The ice maker in frig isn't adequate for a cooler

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SuzanneMon719
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review

Being 4 miles from Fort Myers Beach, a short drive to Sanibel Island, and minutes from Downtown, makes us central to all Fort Myers has to offer! Beach, Shopping, Restaurants, Night Life, I hope you bring comfortable shoes on your next stay!

Rome
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This was our 2nd time in a Candewood, having experienced NY Times square I did not expect much, I was wrong: the rooms are 3 times the size, in a very quiet location just a few miles from the bridge to Sanibel and Captiva. From our room we could see a pond with turtles and alligators. Staff is great as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sandripera
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review

Our hotel is uniquely situated in a cul-de-sac, for nice quiet business accomodations or a much needed getaway to the World Famous Beaches in Fort Myers Beach or Sanibel Island. Our full kitchens in our all suite property make your stay feel like home. With a full size fridge, cook top and microwave, we take care of all your needs...

Reviewed 6 April 2013

Carol at the front desk was outstanding! Great customer service! We found the rooms very clean and enjoyed our stay very much! we will Be back next year!! I would recommend candlewood hotel and suites (fort Myers/Sanibel Island to anyone... Sam Dentico

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SamDentico
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. The best compliment we could have is your return stay! Our staff treats you like this is your second home. If there is anything you need, feel free to ask the Front Desk. We look forward to having you again next year.

Michigan
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We chose the Candlewood Suites for a short trip to the Ft Myers area. We found the staff to be very accomodating. There was a small issue with our reservation and the front desk staff corrected it to our satisfaction promptly upon our arrival. The room was comfortable and clean. Clean towels were available on request. We were pleased with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sleeping_bear
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review

Only 4 miles to Fort Myers Beach and a short drive to Sanibel Beach, make our hotel a great place to stay while in Fort Meyrs. Close to Lee Memorial Health Park, and both the Twins and the Red Sox stadiums. Thanks for choosing Candlewood Suites!

North Adams, Massachusetts
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We are a college softball team and for the last 3 years have stayed here at the Candlewood Suites in Ft Myers on our spring break trip to the Gene Cusic Softball Tournament. This is a great place to stay while in the Fort Myers area. The staff is extremley professional. The property is very clean and well taken care...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 833MikeA
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review

We look forward to the Cusic Classic every year! Sandi and all our staff want to make your team feel like they have the home team advantage. Even though we are geared toward long term guests, our hotel amenities are a perfect fit for your team.

Bradenton, Florida
Reviewed 2 April 2013

I needed this hotel for a soccer tournament for my 11 year old. We only live 3 hours away but I needed somewhere to stay that would accomodate myself & my 11 & 9 year olds...We weren't going on "vacation" and needed to be at the fields at specific times so I needed something quiet and off the beaten path...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Creekcrazy
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review

Thanks for your review! We love our teams that stay with us. The kids can enjoy the pool and the adults can cook on one of the gas grills provided by the pool. The free laundry is perfect for washing the dirty uniforms. Our full kitchens in every room is convenient for making dinner for the whole team!

Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

My husband and I brought our 9&5 year old daughters to Ft Myers for spring break and we chose this hotel. The price is great however, the pool gets ZERO sun, no seating if there are more than 5-7 people at the pool. Our room took forever to cool off and the A/C seemed to shut off when we left...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LCaub31
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review

I am not sure why they put the pool where they did, but it does get great sun in the morning hours before noon. Hopefully you will be at one of the world famous beaches (Fort Myers Beach or Sanibel) during the day, or enjoying downtown or one of the Spring Training games (Red Sox or Twins) in the afternoon...

Sun Valley, Idaho
Reviewed 31 March 2013

After staying at this hotel several times, we had an unpleasant experience there in 2012. After that stay I wrote an unflattering review and was impressed that management contacted me in regard to my concerns/complaints. After that discussion, we decided to give it another try and I am happy to report that 2012 was probably a fluke and things appear...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank merizonsv
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review

I am glad you had a good experience this year and hope you can come back next year! We are going to be working hard during the summer to freshen up the hotel so it will look like new again.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We had booked this place for 14 nights, We arrived on sunday night after a long drive from Miami airport. First impressions were good but the next morning found out that no maid service in this Hotel. After you have stayed 7 nights they will clean your room and change the linen etc. If you wanted towels you had to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 85harry
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review

First let me thank you for staying with us. We are an extended stay Hotel with full kitchens in every room. We have limited staff and once a week room service which keeps our prices down. We have some of the best rates this close to Fort Myers Beach (4 miles). We always let everyone know you can exchange linen...

451 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (78)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (333)
Viewed
Amenities (92)
Viewed
Double Room (52)
Viewed
One-Bedroom Suite (87)
Viewed
Pool (24)
Viewed
Standard Queen Room (49)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Myers
13.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers - Colonial Blvd
2.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#11 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
963 reviews
5.5 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel
9.2 km away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#14 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,466 reviews
16.9 km away
Candlewood Suites Ft Myers - I-75
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Candlewood Suites Fort Myers/Sanibel Gateway hotel conveniently located at Summerlin and Bass Roads, near Lee Memorial HealthPark and Lexington Country Club. This extended stay, all suite property is located near Fort Myers Beach and Sanibel-Captiva Island and is minutes from Everglades National Park, Manatee State Park, Tarpon Tournaments and just a short drive to Naples and Marco Island. At Candlewood Suites Fort Myers/Sanibel Gateway, we put the amenities where they really count in your room. Our guests can cook meals in their fully equipped kitchen, relax in the overstuffed recliner while watching movies from our free movie library. Business travelers will work more efficiently utilizing the executive desk with 2 separate phone lines and free high-speed and wireless Internet. Candlewood Suites Fort Myers/Sanibel Gateway provides our guests a free fitness center and a comfortable place to do laundry in our free guest laundry room. Candlewood Suites Fort Myers/Sanibel Gateway is located nearby to many local favorite restaurants. For those guests that prefer to dine in , a fully stocked Candlewood Cupboard provides breakfast, lunch, and dinner options, as well as sodas, snacks, and ice cream.Earn more with each night's stay! Priority Club Members earn points and rewards every day at the Candlewood Suites Fort Myers/Sanibel! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway

Address: 9740 Commerce Center Ct, Fort Myers, FL 33908-3624
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers
Price Range: $104 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and IHG so you can book your Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway Hotel Fort Myers
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Fort Myers
#11 Business Hotel in Fort Myers
#14 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers
#19 Family Hotel in Fort Myers
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
Chicago, Illinois
Englewood, Florida
9 months ago
Centerville, Massachusetts
Wyoming, Michigan

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Queen suite was a fine room.”
 of 5 bubbles karlaneb, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“corner suites are nice and quiet. kitchen had full size fridge, dishwasher and nice size stove.”
 of 5 bubbles 612deborahw, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Go for a top floor room away from elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles T0pspin, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Bonnie at the front desk provided excellent customer service and will keep guest happy and returning to this hotel. Maid service should be everyday. The room had dust. The coffee maker was dirty. Breakfast should be included with your stay at this high price point.”
 of 5 bubbles gebhardtd, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Although the room AC was a loud, the room itself was very comfortable, clean and had everything we needed. Plenty of towels, kitchen utensils, etc. I would recommend this hotel to my friends and family. We loved the "family atmosphere" of the hotel and the incredible staff.”
 of 5 bubbles Nasusyelesom, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5