We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway

Booking.comUSD 68*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 88*
USD 68*
Great Deal
USD 75*
USD 76*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel \/ Gateway
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

701 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway
See the most recent reviews
Showing 633: English reviews
Lynnfield, Massachusetts
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We chose to stay at Candlewood as my parents are spending the month there. I don't have any complaints. I thought the location was very good. It was convenient for spring train, beaches and grocery store. Yes the pool area is a little strange without sun, but I heard it was built after the hotel, hence its poor location. Kids...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Donna A
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review

I personally thank you for writing such a nice and honest review, so glad to read that you and your family enjoyed the stay. I am sorry that you lost your computer battery and will have the staff on full alert, with our lost & found procedure in place this has never been an issue? With that said, we at...

Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Candlewood is very convenient to Fort Myers Beach.The staff is friendly. Checkin and out very quick and easy. Room was clean and had a kitchenette. They supplied pots, pans, dishes all necessities. The hotel offers free washer and dryer for your use.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rjs1952
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review

Team Candlewood thanks you for the short but nice review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we lived up to your expectations. Please come back soon! Thank You Dan Berben

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Bizarre location in the middle of an empty business park. We had not visited Candlewood Suites before and would certainly avoid in future. Grubby communal areas and very basic room. Double room had bed pushed up against a wall so you have to both get in from the same side and odd sheet and blanket combo! Worse was somebody else's...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Julie B
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review

Let me first apologize that we did not meet your expectations with your stay with us. I see that you thought our location was in a bizarre location and I was puzzled by that. We are actually nestled in a very upscale area of Fort Myers between the Lexington Golf resort and accross from the Lee Memorial Hospital Park. Usually...

Toronto
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We are into our second week of a four week stay. Yes the place is a little worn but very clean. We could not complement Sonia and would give her five stars. Sonia will go to all lengths to provide service. The only problem is that the hotel is short staffed so you may have to wait in order to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Larry E
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review

We Thank You greatly for the very nice review on our Hotel, staff, and overall satisfaction with your stay. This is why we work so hard to provide the top service from our property. Team Candlewood thanks you and welcomes you back real soon!! Dan Berben

Rochester, MN
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This is our 2nd stay here in 2 years, so it must be better than OK since we came back. It's a good snowbird value particularly in January (price rises dramatically in Feb). We really enjoy the location in a safe area close to the nature park for 1-2 mile daily walks and venturing a few miles to the local's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SE_MN_warmth_seekers
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review

Thank You for taking the time to write a nice rewiew for Team Candlewood. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and the facility, as evident by all our returning guests year after year. Please spread the good word about our property and come back real soon!! Thank You Dan Berben

Reviewed 17 February 2014

Very outdated. Paid over $300.00 with a dog. The only perk was a free coffee and no charge for laundry machines. No ice. They have ice makers in refrigerators if you get there early enough to turn it on. Beds are old. Dust covers are heavy velvet. I went to look for our dogs toy under bed. Wow it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy G
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review

First, let me apologize that we at Team Candlewood did not meet your satisfaction levels with your stay. From your comments it appears that you enjoyed the upgrades of the free laundry facility, heated pool, and the staff was very friendly. I was very surprised to read those other comments about our Hotel. Our Candlewood was a new construction not...

Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We had an enjoyable stay at Candlewood. Our experience was the front desk staff we interacted with were friendly and dedicated professionals. Jody is an outstanding manager who works hard to accommodate guests.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank j s
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review

Wow!! As a Hotel Operator we appreciate great comments like this. Our Team works hard to please our guests. When we read reviews like this, it makes it all worth while. Team Candlewood thanks you!! Please come back real soon. Thank You Dan Berben

Minnesota
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We made this reservation months in advance not really knowing what we were getting. We got there at 1 pm and only had a 15 min wait to get in our room. The front desk person was very helpful and told us about the hotel amenities. When we got to the room we were pleasantly surprised at the size. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank plasticman1234
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the nice review of our Hotel. I am very pleased to read what most everyone finds out when they stay with us, W Thanks so much for the very nice review of our property. You discovered what our guests learn once they stay with us, the best kept secret in Fort Myers! Team Candlewood love to...

Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We were very pleased with Candlewood Suites. The room was just right for 2 people and we appreciated the kitchen and large bathroom very much. It's situated among some medical buildings and was very quiet yet close to the highways, providing easy access to all the sites. The only negatives were: the shower was very weak and the bed was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ctabbott
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review

We at Team Candlewood love to hear feedback like this!! Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay. So many times guests seem to only write when something bad happened during their stay. Its so nice to hear great comments about out Hotel. I thank you & Team Candlewood Thanks You!! Come back soon! Dan Berben

Fort Wayne, Indiana
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Our impression of this facility is generally poor. The most frustrating part of our stay was the painfully slow internet access during all times of the day. We found it quite interesting that our access to tripadvisor.com was blocked whenever using their internet feed. As mentioned in another review, it needs to be noted that housekeeping tends to the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank glenndora
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review

I first aplogize but was very shocked to read this review about any internet service issues during your stay with us, No such issues have been reported at the property level. We also have 24hr tech support for any customer free of charge! I also apologize that you were not completely satisfied during your stay, for that is our goal...

451 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (78)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (333)
Viewed
Amenities (92)
Viewed
Double Room (52)
Viewed
One-Bedroom Suite (87)
Viewed
Pool (24)
Viewed
Standard Queen Room (49)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (21)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Myers
13.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers - Colonial Blvd
5.5 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway
2.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#11 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel
12.7 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Fort Myers Airport / FGCU
16.9 km away
Candlewood Suites Ft Myers - I-75
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Candlewood Suites Fort Myers/Sanibel Gateway hotel conveniently located at Summerlin and Bass Roads, near Lee Memorial HealthPark and Lexington Country Club. This extended stay, all suite property is located near Fort Myers Beach and Sanibel-Captiva Island and is minutes from Everglades National Park, Manatee State Park, Tarpon Tournaments and just a short drive to Naples and Marco Island. At Candlewood Suites Fort Myers/Sanibel Gateway, we put the amenities where they really count in your room. Our guests can cook meals in their fully equipped kitchen, relax in the overstuffed recliner while watching movies from our free movie library. Business travelers will work more efficiently utilizing the executive desk with 2 separate phone lines and free high-speed and wireless Internet. Candlewood Suites Fort Myers/Sanibel Gateway provides our guests a free fitness center and a comfortable place to do laundry in our free guest laundry room. Candlewood Suites Fort Myers/Sanibel Gateway is located nearby to many local favorite restaurants. For those guests that prefer to dine in , a fully stocked Candlewood Cupboard provides breakfast, lunch, and dinner options, as well as sodas, snacks, and ice cream.Earn more with each night's stay! Priority Club Members earn points and rewards every day at the Candlewood Suites Fort Myers/Sanibel! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway

Address: 9740 Commerce Center Ct, Fort Myers, FL 33908-3624
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers
Price Range: $95 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway Hotel Fort Myers
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Fort Myers
#11 Business Hotel in Fort Myers
#14 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers
#19 Family Hotel in Fort Myers
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question
Muskegon, Michigan
1 month ago
Chicago, Illinois
Englewood, Florida
over a year ago
Centerville, Massachusetts

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The room was a suite with kitchen living room and bedroom. ”
susanlD5627QC, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“air conditioner was a little noisy.”
paulaT5126YY, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Bath room needed some minor repairs that were attended to same day as we notified the front desk.”
philipk970, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stay at another hotel”
ChapelRacine, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Queen suite was a fine room.”
karlaneb, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 68* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUSD 75
TravelocityUSD 76
TripAdvisorUSD 68
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates