We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sun Viking Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Sun Viking Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

721 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sun Viking Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 698: English reviews
Coldwater, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were shown to a room that was not just damp but wet. When we complained about the wet and the smell, we were asked to pay for an upgrade. My son had checked in earlier with his wife, toddler and baby and had the same problem, they we given a room in the main block. After a lot of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anne B
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for sending in your review and I apologize that you were unhappy with our guest service. As you can see from many of our reviews, most of our guests feel our employees give good guest service. As you mentioned, a little over a week prior to your arrival, Hurricane Matthew hit our area. After the hurricane passed, we... More 

Clermont, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Contacted the resort after making my room reservations for 2 rooms for 2 nights online for April 2017 . I was contacted by a young lady saying my room deposit was not accepted and to please call and confirm my account. I did so not too long after receiving the voicemail By the time I called back they had straightened... More 

Helpful?
Thank Geneva51
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to send in your recent review and for saying the Sun Viking Lodge has “Great Customer Service” – thank you. We are happy that you and your family will be staying with us next April! However, you certainly got our attention when you described the increase for your upcoming stay, saying you wanted to... More 

1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very close to the beach, good amenities, nice water slide, pools and jacuzzi. The front desk and maid service were hospitable. The beds were comfortable and clean despite looking a bit dated. The kitchen had everything one would need for quick meals. First and second floor rooms were a bit noisy as noise from traffic and public were heard. Choose... More 

Helpful?
Thank Judith J
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking the time to send in your review and for saying our rates are reasonable. We are glad you were happy with our oceanfront location; being just a few steps from the ocean and our beautiful coastline is certainly a favorite location for all our guests. It was nice to read your words... More 

Traverse City Mich
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

This place was so nice. The girl at the front desk was so helpful. I decided to stay an extra day just to enjoy it. Very clean, older motel., easy parking. Many updates and a good price. Comfortable beds, which is very important to me. That and being clean

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to send in your kind review and for saying that you feel the Sun Viking Lodge is "great" and “so nice” – we are certainly happy to see you enjoyed your recent stay. We are glad you found your room and our property are “very clean” and you are right, we are not a... More 

1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

Excellent family hotel. Our room was clean, the staff was friendly and the waterslide at the outdoor pool kept the kids happy for hours. No complaints other than we had to have our room keys reprogrammed several times. We will definitely come back.

Helpful?
Thank Laura G
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to send in your kind words and for saying that you feel the Sun Viking Lodge is a “great family hotel” – we sincerely appreciate the compliment. We are happy to read your comments saying that “our room was clean and the staff was friendly” – our staff certainly works very hard and many... More 

Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2016

I am a insurance adjuster I stayed here when Hurricane Matthew hit I asked if they had Internet so I could work they assured me they did , I paid almost $200.00 for 1 night as they had a big motorcycle event in town . When I checked out I told the front desk attendant that I didn't have Internet... More 

Helpful?
Thank kellianddave29
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for sending in your review and for rating the Sun Viking Lodge so high in the categories of Sleep Quality and Cleanliness and for your comment that our hotel is a “decent place” to stay. I am sincerely sorry that you had difficulty in using our free Wi-Fi for your work on the Internet. When you stayed with... More 

Georgetown, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2016

The best part was the staff. They receive 5 stars!! We will definitely stay here again and this will probably be our choice every time we go to Daytona. It is a bit outdated but a great place to stay. The pool and easy access to the beach was just what we wanted. And we LOVED the pool slide. Perfect... More 

Helpful?
Thank threem79
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to send in your nice review and for rating the Sun Viking Lodge so high in the categories of Sleep Quality, Rooms and Service. It certainly warms our hearts to read your comment about our employees when you said, “the best part was the staff – they receive 5 stars!!” We certainly agree that... More 

knoxville
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel many, many times. My mother and I stayed here for a short vacation in September as we have done for the past several years...sometimes we visit multiple times during the year. We have always found the rooms to be clean, neat and orderly. On our most recent visit we got a room with a... More 

Helpful?
Thank lynncomm
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review

I would like to thank this guest for taking the time to write such a nice review and for saying that you feel the Sun Viking Lodge is “excellent” – we sincerely appreciate your kind compliment! It certainly humbles us to know you have stayed with us so many times and that each time you return, you find our rooms... More 

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2016

Copied text to clipboard: We have stayed at the Sun Viking several times. We have made The Sun Viking our Daytona Beach Shores our destination for lodging in the past and will continue to do so. We always get a top floor end unit in the tower which features a bedroom with two queen size beds, bathroom with full tub,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jingles2005
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review

How nice of you to send in your very kind review and for rating the Sun Viking Lodge so high in the categories of Sleep Quality, Rooms and Service, thank you! We are certainly humbled to read your comments that you would “highly recommended” the Sun Viking Lodge and that we offer “very affordable rates” – we sincerely appreciate it.... More 

Hamilton, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Fun, affordable, family accommodations on the beach, with access to the ocean, an indoor pool, an outdoor pool with a 60 ft. slide and an outdoor hot tub. Rooms are clean and comfortable, with the option of ocean views and kitchen facilities. We've stayed at Sun Viking the past 9 years and are planning to stay there next year for... More 

Helpful?
Thank swebster3
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review

First, let me thank you and your family for being loyal guests – all of us enjoy welcoming back returning customers who have stayed with us for years! Like you, many of our customers have met other guests from all over the world, who then become lifelong friends! The Sun Viking Lodge just celebrated our 45th year in beautiful Daytona... More 

718 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (287)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (69)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (99)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (414)
Viewed
Amenities (66)
Viewed
Beach (27)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (12)
Viewed
Outdoor Pool (27)
Viewed
Plan #1 (50)
Viewed
Plan #2 (68)
Viewed
Plan #4 (56)
Viewed
Plan #6 (69)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
2.2 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
6.7 km away
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach/Beachfront
3.5 km away
Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
#16 of 103 in Daytona Beach
1,247 reviews
1.6 km away
Bahama House
Bahama House
#11 of 103 in Daytona Beach
1,062 reviews
9.1 km away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
Daytona Beach Resort and Confere...
#18 of 103 in Daytona Beach
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Sun Viking Lodge, located oceanfront in Daytona Beach and Florida's only winner of the 2012 Trip Advisor "Family Travel Award" for Small Hotels - offers spacious guest rooms, kitchenettes, suites and private cottages. Expect casual accommodations in a relaxed atmosphere with a beachy flip-flop ambiance! Kids love this "Unique Family Resort" featuring a 60-foot waterslide, kiddie pool, beach volleyball, basketball goal, game rooms, playground, poolside bingo and free recreation program providing beachside fun for all ages! Work out in a complimentary fitness room or jog on 23 miles of scenic beach, then relax in a sauna or an oceanfront hut tub. Enjoy indoor and outdoor heated pools, spacious oceanfront sundecks. The Sun Viking Lodge . . . a place where you are always welcome! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sun Viking Lodge

Address: 2411 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Region: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Price Range: $108 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sun Viking Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Sun Viking Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Viking Hotel Daytona Beach
Sun Viking Lodge Daytona Beach, Florida
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Daytona Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sun Viking Lodge staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Sun Viking Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“High in the tower facing the ocean.”
 of 5 bubbles Motherroad, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Floor plans with a kitchen are nice to have with families”
 of 5 bubbles 436aileenp, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“we loved our room--it was quiet and very comfortable--we had the Garden pool view room with a kitchen and 2 queen beds,,,”
 of 5 bubbles Wallyworld2014, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“opt for a higher floor with a balcony overlooking the beach.”
 of 5 bubbles 897judithj, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The view from the top floor is amazing but the rooms walking out to the pool are a major plus, especially with children.”
 of 5 bubbles threem79, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay