We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Sun Viking Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Sun Viking Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

719 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 696: English reviews
Sebring, Florida
Level Contributor
108 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Great view, clean rooms, friendly staff, decent price. You can't ask for anything more, particularly in a place like Daytona Beach. They don't allow the college party crowd here, so you can actually get a good night's sleep. No running through the halls, no blaring boom boxes on the parking lot at 2 AM. We'll be back.

Helpful?
Thank Motherroad
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to send in your nice review and for saying that you feel the Sun Viking Lodge is, in your words, a “great place” – we sincerely appreciate the compliment! It was nice to read that you enjoyed a “great view, clean rooms & decent price”. We certainly agree, the view of our beautiful beach,... More 

Wesley Chapel, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Been here multiple times and will keep coming back pool beach staff people here are so friendly been going here since I was a kid and I always have loved it right by the beach it's awesome water slide is really fun too you half to come here

Helpful?
Thank jbrchamp1113
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for your recent review and for saying the Sun Viking Lodge is, in your words, “Awesome” – we sincerely appreciate it. However, what we appreciate the most is your loyalty over the years and we are certainly honored to know you have fond memories of staying here since you were a kid. We are... More 

Inverness, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Our stay was very nice the room was very clean the accommodations and the staff were very friendly I rated a five star and we will be returning. It was very close to the beach the kids activities were great the waterslide was awesome the pools were very clean the deck was very clean the maids were very kind and... More 

Helpful?
Thank tabydaddie
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking the time to send in such a kind review and for saying you rate the Sun Viking Lodge “a five star” resort – we are humbled by your kind words. As you know we are not a luxury hotel offering upscale services; we offer casual accommodations in a relaxed beachfront setting. It... More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Always a pleasure staying at the Sun Viking Lodge~ We've been coming here for over 25 years and are never disappointed. Highly recommend staying here whether you're with family, friends or even by yourself. You can't beat the price but even more importantly the hospitality and warmth you feel every time you come. Also love the kid programs for our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Aileen P
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for your very nice review and for saying that you and your family feel the Sun Viking Lodge is in your words, an "excellent place to stay!" and also for rating us so high in the categories of Value, Rooms and Service. However, what I can tell you warms our hearts the most is... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I have stayed here every year for about 7 years. Its my favorite place. Some years i have came back twice in a year. I have stayed at 3 different houses now and a variety of different rooms. Staff is always been accommodating and the place has always been very clean. The structured kid activities are helpful for more relaxation... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for sending in such a nice review and we are happy to read that you have been a loyal guest for so long, thank you! We are happy to read that you felt that our “staff has always been accommodating and the place has always been very clean”. It certainly is always our goal to offer clean accommodations... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The place is older and quite a bit dated but it was clean and the staff was friendly. My room was pretty small and it didn't have a refrigerator. If you're looking for high end amenities you're not going to find them here. But if you like quaint and a little quirky this one is both in spades.

Helpful?
Thank Anthony P
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to send in your recent review and for saying that you felt “the staff was friendly” – we get many compliments on our employees, so we sincerely appreciate your compliment. We are happy to read that you found that your room was clean. Yes, we do have many rooms styles to select from, such... More 

Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Sun Viking Lodge was a pleasant surprise. Picked Lodge out from its pictures and we were not disappointed. We traveled with our 13yr old grandson. Room was garden view with a kitchen. We liked what we saw from the minute we opened the door. We looked right over the indoor pool-patio had 2 chairs and a table. Indoor pool is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wallyworld2014
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to send in such a nice review saying the “Sun Viking Lodge was a pleasant surprise” and for rating us so high in the categories of Value, Sleep Quality and Service – we sincerely appreciate your kind words. We are happy to read that you enjoyed spending time with your grandson and family during... More 

Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Sun Viking not only has what is important, like being a safe, clean, comfortable place to stay....it is also super friendly with lots of family fun things to do. We've stayed here many times over the years.

Helpful?
Thank Karen_Wayne_KREW
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for sending in your kind words and for saying that your feel the Sun Viking Lodge is, in your words, “Great Everytime!” – what a wonderful compliment from a returning guest, thank you! We are so happy to read that your feel “safe” during your vacations with us and that you consider our hotel... More 

Coldwater, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were shown to a room that was not just damp but wet. When we complained about the wet and the smell, we were asked to pay for an upgrade. My son had checked in earlier with his wife, toddler and baby and had the same problem, they we given a room in the main block. After a lot of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anne B
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for sending in your review and I apologize that you were unhappy with our guest service. As you can see from many of our reviews, most of our guests feel our employees give good guest service. As you mentioned, a little over a week prior to your arrival, Hurricane Matthew hit our area. After the hurricane passed, we... More 

Clermont, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Contacted the resort after making my room reservations for 2 rooms for 2 nights online for April 2017 . I was contacted by a young lady saying my room deposit was not accepted and to please call and confirm my account. I did so not too long after receiving the voicemail By the time I called back they had straightened... More 

Helpful?
Thank Geneva51
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to send in your recent review and for saying the Sun Viking Lodge has “Great Customer Service” – thank you. We are happy that you and your family will be staying with us next April! However, you certainly got our attention when you described the increase for your upcoming stay, saying you wanted to... More 

718 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (287)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (69)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (99)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (414)
Viewed
Amenities (66)
Viewed
Beach (27)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (12)
Viewed
Outdoor Pool (27)
Viewed
Plan #1 (50)
Viewed
Plan #2 (68)
Viewed
Plan #4 (56)
Viewed
Plan #6 (69)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
2.2 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
6.7 km away
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach/Beachfront
3.5 km away
Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
#16 of 103 in Daytona Beach
1,247 reviews
1.6 km away
Bahama House
Bahama House
#12 of 103 in Daytona Beach
1,062 reviews
9.1 km away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
Daytona Beach Resort and Confere...
#17 of 103 in Daytona Beach
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Sun Viking Lodge, located oceanfront in Daytona Beach and Florida's only winner of the 2012 Trip Advisor "Family Travel Award" for Small Hotels - offers spacious guest rooms, kitchenettes, suites and private cottages. Expect casual accommodations in a relaxed atmosphere with a beachy flip-flop ambiance! Kids love this "Unique Family Resort" featuring a 60-foot waterslide, kiddie pool, beach volleyball, basketball goal, game rooms, playground, poolside bingo and free recreation program providing beachside fun for all ages! Work out in a complimentary fitness room or jog on 23 miles of scenic beach, then relax in a sauna or an oceanfront hut tub. Enjoy indoor and outdoor heated pools, spacious oceanfront sundecks. The Sun Viking Lodge . . . a place where you are always welcome! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sun Viking Lodge

Address: 2411 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Region: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Price Range: $108 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sun Viking Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Sun Viking Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Viking Hotel Daytona Beach
Sun Viking Lodge Daytona Beach, Florida
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#5 Best Value Hotel in Daytona Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sun Viking Lodge staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Sun Viking Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“High in the tower facing the ocean.”
 of 5 bubbles Motherroad, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Floor plans with a kitchen are nice to have with families”
 of 5 bubbles 436aileenp, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“we loved our room--it was quiet and very comfortable--we had the Garden pool view room with a kitchen and 2 queen beds,,,”
 of 5 bubbles Wallyworld2014, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“opt for a higher floor with a balcony overlooking the beach.”
 of 5 bubbles 897judithj, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The view from the top floor is amazing but the rooms walking out to the pool are a major plus, especially with children.”
 of 5 bubbles threem79, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay