We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

277 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL
See the most recent reviews
Showing 273: English reviews
Newark, Delaware
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank U9990EOjoyces
Florida
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DivainDominican
Maryville, Tennessee
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was on a motorcycle trip and I'd spent a long day on the road. Quiet, clean, comfortable was just what I needed. I honestly didn't know that Howard Johnson hotels were still around, I'll be looking for them on the future.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank C9342BAwilliamc
Shane E, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I'm so glad that you "found us". I hope we will be able to serve you again on any future trips.

Clearwater, Florida
Reviewed 22 March 2017

We were charged one price when the reservation was made, charged another when we got there...paid $144 for a room that was the quality of a $45 room. It was difficult to find off Rt. 19. The sign is small and sets back from the road. The check in clerks were not helpful or ac Como dating and acted like...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank E6580DCmarkr
Shane E, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I'm so sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. I know travelling during season, prices in the area are more expensive, and our ability to "room change" any room type that was booked erroneously is harder for us to fix; as in a smoking room to a non-smoking room. Most of the time we...

Burlington, Wisconsin
Reviewed 18 March 2017

The hotel was very clean! The people were very friendly at check in! Was only disappointed that the pool was closed and the hot tub had no water in it

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank G5750OTsamantham
Shane E, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for letting us know how we are doing. The pool is open year round; from dawn until dusk (as per city ordinance). I'm sorry that you didn't get to use the pool. The spa is being removed, we are sorry if this causes anyone any sadness, however, we are going in a different direction in the...

Nokomis
Reviewed 17 March 2017

This is our second time staying here. I is convenient for our destination. The condition of the Inn is showing signs of wear. In just one season, the overall condition has deteriorated.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Albert C
Shane E, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL, responded to this review

Dear Albert C, Thank you for responding to the guest survey. I'm sorry you felt the condition has deteriorated. We just added new paint, many new carpets, new beds and bedding, new curtains, new counter tops for the breakfast area and a new look in the office. We will be continuing improvements on the rooms as we slow down again....

Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 17 March 2017

There was no comforter, instead it was a tip sheet. The sheets were very thin and not quit white. The fitted sheet and "mattress pad" NEVER stayed on the bed. The bed itself was just okay but we just couldn't get past the awful bedding. Although the room was clean, it definitely needs some updating. The person who checked us...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 193randyp
Shane E, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I'm so sorry to hear this. We have been apprised of the situation regarding the fitted sheets and are remedying this situation. Thank you for letting us know about the issue. These are the ways we are able to address any issues and make everyone's stay with us better. Have a Blessed Day.

Greeley, Colorado
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank suzannev508
Shane E, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL, responded to this review

Ca'n Picafort, Spain
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mariabK2957RW
Shane E, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL, responded to this review

massachusetts
Reviewed 5 March 2017

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ernie40
Shane E, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL, responded to this review

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clearwater
5.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Clearwater North/Dunedin
15.9 km away
Red Roof Inn Clearwater Airport
6.7 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#42 of 96 in Clearwater
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yacht Harbor Inn
9.8 km away
VISTA Hotel on Lake Tarpon
VISTA Hotel on Lake Tarpon
#2 of 3 in Palm Harbor
177 reviews
7.2 km away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#61 of 96 in Clearwater
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL

Address: 27988 US Highway 19 N, Clearwater, FL 33712
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Price Range: $105 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites Clearwater Hotel Clearwater
Howard Johnson Clearwater
Howard Johnson Hotel Clearwater
Clearwater Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites Clearwater FL Florida
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Business rooms are larger and more comfortable but regular rooms are not too small-they are standard size which is more than adequate”
forrestgroup, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Stay in back to avoid highway noise”
loperp17, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Do not bother to go to this place!”
marymM6344CR, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Find another place to stay...”
JimI_13, 14 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from Hwy. 19”
gomexico, 2 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5