We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

264 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 260: English reviews
Start your review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL
 Click to rate
Clearwater, Florida
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We were charged one price when the reservation was made, charged another when we got there...paid $144 for a room that was the quality of a $45 room. It was difficult to find off Rt. 19. The sign is small and sets back from the road. The check in clerks were not helpful or ac Como dating and acted like...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank E6580DCmarkr
Burlington, Wisconsin
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was very clean! The people were very friendly at check in! Was only disappointed that the pool was closed and the hot tub had no water in it

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank G5750OTsamantham
Nokomis
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is our second time staying here. I is convenient for our destination. The condition of the Inn is showing signs of wear. In just one season, the overall condition has deteriorated.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Albert C
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 1 week ago

There was no comforter, instead it was a tip sheet. The sheets were very thin and not quit white. The fitted sheet and "mattress pad" NEVER stayed on the bed. The bed itself was just okay but we just couldn't get past the awful bedding. Although the room was clean, it definitely needs some updating. The person who checked us...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 193randyp
Greeley, Colorado
Reviewed 1 week ago

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank suzannev508
Shane E, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL, responded to this review

Ca'n Picafort, Spain
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mariabK2957RW
Shane E, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL, responded to this review

massachusetts
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ernie40
Shane E, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL, responded to this review

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It was good hotel. Clean comfortable room. Good location for the attractions we were visiting. Pool was cold, hot tub was not working for our whole 6 day stay. A little disappointing on that front. The lady we checked in with was lacking personality. Besides that the staff was nice and the room housed us nicely for the week.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James R
Shane E, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL, responded to this review

Dear James, Thank you for responding. I'm sorry about the hot tub. I'm glad that everything else seemed to go well during your visit. Please come back to see us in the future.

Holland, Michigan
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Medium price. Low end amenities. Continental breakfast consisted of toast, bagels, cereal and stale boxed mini donuts. Room was clean. Poorly marked entrance.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank F9543YBrogerr
Shane E, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL, responded to this review

Thank you for responding to the survey. I'm glad that your stay was okay for the time that you were here. I appreciate the comments. We will all strive to continue to improve.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is the worst hotel I've ever stayed in the fraudulently billed my credit card 298.98$ for one night that was supposed to be 84.64$ the staff especially the younger brunette with piercings in her face and the older bleach blond hair woman were the rudest I've ever seen at the counter of any hotel. They take advantage of single...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Megan L
Shane E, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL, responded to this review

Thank you for responding. I honestly have no idea what this is in response to? We don't have any employees with an individual credit card scanner that would walk around the building. All transactions occur ONLY at the front desk. If we can be any assistance with this, please contact us directly. Thank you.

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clearwater
5.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Clearwater North/Dunedin
6.7 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#43 of 95 in Clearwater
208 reviews
6.8 km away
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yacht Harbor Inn
7.2 km away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#62 of 95 in Clearwater
336 reviews
15.9 km away
Red Roof Inn Clearwater Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL

Address: 27988 US Highway 19 N, Clearwater, FL 33712
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Price Range: $102 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites Clearwater Hotel Clearwater
Howard Johnson Clearwater
Howard Johnson Hotel Clearwater
Clearwater Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites Clearwater FL Florida
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Business rooms are larger and more comfortable but regular rooms are not too small-they are standard size which is more than adequate”
 of 5 bubbles forrestgroup, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Stay in back to avoid highway noise”
 of 5 bubbles loperp17, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Do not bother to go to this place!”
 of 5 bubbles marymM6344CR, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Find another place to stay...”
 of 5 bubbles JimI_13, 14 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from Hwy. 19”
 of 5 bubbles gomexico, 2 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5