We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Hare & Hounds

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Hare & Hounds
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

362 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Hare & Hounds
See the most recent reviews
Showing 361: English reviews
Tarporley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2016

The Hare and Hounds is little gem of a bed & breakfast off the beaten path from the usual Lake District haunts. The room was outstanding, the bathroom provided an excellent view with an opportunity to see the sunrise whilst enjoying a good soak. The evening meal was average however the standard of the breakfast is excellent; sausages, bacon and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
kerry p, Owner at The Hare & Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon! Kind regards Kerry

Tucson, Arizona
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Three night stay. Comfortable room on top floor with beautiful views over the country side but some real anomalies. Despite leaving wet towels to be changed ( or dried) they were still in the tub at the end of day. Heating was not on so drying racks not working. We asked for dry towels. Non were offered. Shower not cleaned...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gerry H
kerry p, Owner at The Hare & Hounds, responded to this review

Dear Gerry Thank you for your review, we are terribly sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy the stay with us as much as you had hoped, however I would like to thank you for the positive comments you made about the service and friendliness of the staff, we do work very hard to make everyone’s stay as enjoyable as...

Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 October 2016

Visited on a return trip from Scotland. Stayed in a standard double room which was adequate. Restaurant food was enjoyable, disappointed that two of the three real ales were not available as was a selected wine from the menu. Breakfast was good. Overall would recommend a stay here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EJSLA
kerry p, Owner at The Hare & Hounds, responded to this review

thank you for your review, I'm sorry you didn't get the full selection of ales we normally have on offer, we hope that when you are back in the lakes you will pop in and sample the full list! kind regards Kerry

Milnthorpe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

We have been regulars to the Hare and Hounds over the last few years, missed going for a few months so was delighted to go again the week. Our timing was brilliant, new menu, very classy new crockery and some new staff. A warm and friendly welcome, my husband had a pint of Hare of the Dog while we read...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PoshTroll
kerry p, Owner at The Hare & Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review, we are really pleased you like the new menu and crockery! ( we love it too!) we hope to see you again soon Kind regards Kerry

Buckinghamshire
Reviewed 24 September 2016

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights. It is a lovely cosy place in a great location for exploring the Lake District and it provided great food, great service and lovely rooms. Lots of places are dog friendly in the Lakes, including the Hare and Hounds but we were happy that we were able to have a room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
kerry p, Owner at The Hare & Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review Jane, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope that we see you next time you visit the lakes Kind Regards Kerry

norfolk
Reviewed 9 September 2016

We stayed here from 4th to 8th September 2016. It is a family run pub with a very friendly atmosphere. Our board was bed and breakfast with the opportunity for evening meals. Our room number 3 was very comfortable albeit small. The ensuite shower and toilet were very clean, as was the bedroom with a very comfortable double bed. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank julian h
kerry p, Owner at The Hare & Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Julian, I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, room 3 is our standard room,so quite cosy! next time you visit treat yourself to a stay in our deluxe rooms, they really are lovely. We do offer early breakfast, its in the information booklet in each room, so we would have been only to...

South East England
Reviewed 7 September 2016

On a long journey back from Scotland, we had booked our rooms some months ago on the strength of the website. We were not disappointed. Lovely setting on the edge of Cartmel Fell and lovely walks in the area. The rooms were lovely, nice furnishings, good quality towels and bedding and wonderful modern bathroom with shower and gorgeous roll top...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karen5551
kerry p, Owner at The Hare & Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon! Kind regards Kerry

Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Reviewed 6 September 2016

We stayed a night on our way to London. Our room was on the second floor quite small but what you would expect in a former coach staging pub. Nice modern ensuite bathroom. Excellent meals and service from the very friendly and accommodating staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
kerry p, Owner at The Hare & Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon! Kind regards Kerry

Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Staying in Appleby for the night and went for a wander to explore the town. This is a lovely little pub with very friendly staff and clientele. Definitely worth a stop for a quick pint on a sunny afternoon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca B
kerry p, Owner at The Hare & Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review, hopefully you'll pop in again when your next in the lakes Kind regards Kerry

Canada
Reviewed 7 August 2016

We stayed here a few years back and fell in love with the place so much so that on our UK visit this year we decided to rebook. Well unlike memories that fade or become glossed over with time this inn stayed true to those memories. Walking into our room it was exactly how I remember it except that it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pagewo
kerry p, Owner at The Hare & Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review, after the little breakfast hiccup i am really pleased we got everyone where they needed to be! hopefully we will see you again soon Kind regards Kerry

59 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowland Bridge
0.0 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.0 km away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
534 reviews
0.0 km away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
0.0 km away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about The Hare & Hounds

Address: Bowland Bridge LA11 6NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowland Bridge
Price Range: $146 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hare & Hounds 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and Booking.com so you can book your The Hare & Hounds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Hare & Hounds staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Hare & Hounds staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 1 - large bathroom and walk in shower, all facilities including great tea tray and hairdryer”
 of 5 bubbles emmamcg2015, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Highly recommend room 5”
 of 5 bubbles DJEJF, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 2 was beautiful with fab roll top bath!”
 of 5 bubbles 739LL, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try room 2 on top floor. Windows are high up but if you stand next to them great views.”
 of 5 bubbles 392gerryh, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Not sure what the other rooms were like, but room 3 was adequate as a base for a couple”
 of 5 bubbles jhst1, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5