We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Hare & Hounds

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Hare & Hounds
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

356 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 355: English reviews
London
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed one night in this lovely old pub. Our room was super comfortable (room 5) with a large bathroom with bath and separate shower. Our dinner was excellent and breakfast delicious and made to order. The location is stunning - feels remote but actually very close to the southern end of Lake Windermere. Very pretty valley and lovely views from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cjcvo
cumbria,u.k
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

2 night stay with my husband. Room 4 lovely room with nice roll top bath and separate shower. Very clean. Mattress bit too hard for me personally. Lovely breakfast cooked to order. Had dinner both evenings good choice on menu Steak and ale pie the best I have had. Deserts gorgeous. Lovely walks locally too. Would definitely come back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank julieCumbria_u_k
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked to stay on the recommendation of friends so knew it would be good. On arrival, although the room was lovely there seemed to be a problem with the radiator. On mentioning this to staff we were immediately offered a choice of alternative rooms both of which were more luxurious than our original room. What great customer service! We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank L L
kerry p, Owner at The Hare & Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your great review, we are pleased to hear that you had such a wonderfull time staying with us. We are very much looking forward to seeing you again in the near future Kind Regards Kristian

Cumbria
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Ate at the Hare and Hounds, Bowland Bridge earlier this week with a family group. We live locally and this is one of the very best places to eat..highly recommended!! Kerry & her team have the golden touch and the new menu is superb!! Top tips are the lamb and the steak & ale pie. Also worthy of note is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CumbriaMerlin
kerry p, Owner at The Hare & Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review, its great to hear that you had a fantasic time and we look forward to seeing you again soon kind regards kerry

Tarporley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2016

The Hare and Hounds is little gem of a bed & breakfast off the beaten path from the usual Lake District haunts. The room was outstanding, the bathroom provided an excellent view with an opportunity to see the sunrise whilst enjoying a good soak. The evening meal was average however the standard of the breakfast is excellent; sausages, bacon and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
kerry p, Owner at The Hare & Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon! Kind regards Kerry

Tucson, Arizona
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Three night stay. Comfortable room on top floor with beautiful views over the country side but some real anomalies. Despite leaving wet towels to be changed ( or dried) they were still in the tub at the end of day. Heating was not on so drying racks not working. We asked for dry towels. Non were offered. Shower not cleaned...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gerry H
kerry p, Owner at The Hare & Hounds, responded to this review

Dear Gerry Thank you for your review, we are terribly sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy the stay with us as much as you had hoped, however I would like to thank you for the positive comments you made about the service and friendliness of the staff, we do work very hard to make everyone’s stay as enjoyable as...

Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 October 2016

Visited on a return trip from Scotland. Stayed in a standard double room which was adequate. Restaurant food was enjoyable, disappointed that two of the three real ales were not available as was a selected wine from the menu. Breakfast was good. Overall would recommend a stay here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EJSLA
kerry p, Owner at The Hare & Hounds, responded to this review

thank you for your review, I'm sorry you didn't get the full selection of ales we normally have on offer, we hope that when you are back in the lakes you will pop in and sample the full list! kind regards Kerry

Milnthorpe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

We have been regulars to the Hare and Hounds over the last few years, missed going for a few months so was delighted to go again the week. Our timing was brilliant, new menu, very classy new crockery and some new staff. A warm and friendly welcome, my husband had a pint of Hare of the Dog while we read...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PoshTroll
kerry p, Owner at The Hare & Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review, we are really pleased you like the new menu and crockery! ( we love it too!) we hope to see you again soon Kind regards Kerry

Buckinghamshire
Reviewed 24 September 2016

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights. It is a lovely cosy place in a great location for exploring the Lake District and it provided great food, great service and lovely rooms. Lots of places are dog friendly in the Lakes, including the Hare and Hounds but we were happy that we were able to have a room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
kerry p, Owner at The Hare & Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review Jane, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope that we see you next time you visit the lakes Kind Regards Kerry

norfolk
Reviewed 9 September 2016

We stayed here from 4th to 8th September 2016. It is a family run pub with a very friendly atmosphere. Our board was bed and breakfast with the opportunity for evening meals. Our room number 3 was very comfortable albeit small. The ensuite shower and toilet were very clean, as was the bedroom with a very comfortable double bed. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank julian h
kerry p, Owner at The Hare & Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Julian, I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, room 3 is our standard room,so quite cosy! next time you visit treat yourself to a stay in our deluxe rooms, they really are lovely. We do offer early breakfast, its in the information booklet in each room, so we would have been only to...

59 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowland Bridge
0.0 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.0 km away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#1 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,404 reviews
0.0 km away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 km away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
520 reviews
0.0 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about The Hare & Hounds

Address: Bowland Bridge LA11 6NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowland Bridge
Price Range: $152 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hare & Hounds 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Hare & Hounds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Hare & Hounds staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Hare & Hounds staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 2 was beautiful with fab roll top bath!”
 of 5 bubbles 739LL, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try room 2 on top floor. Windows are high up but if you stand next to them great views.”
 of 5 bubbles 392gerryh, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Not sure what the other rooms were like, but room 3 was adequate as a base for a couple”
 of 5 bubbles jhst1, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Top floor was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles Pagewo, 7 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Avoid top floor”
 of 5 bubbles timjanewales, 3 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay