We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University

Expedia.comUSD 69*
View Deal
#9 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

363 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 344: English reviews
Start your review of Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University
 Click to rate
East Orange, New Jersey
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Another great time at the red roof in I love staying here great breakfast I asked for bananas 4 my cereal and then got them for me they're so kind have a have a lot of respect they always make sure you have clean towels your room is clean I go down to breakfast I come up everything is done...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 467jody
Roxanne G, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing your review. We are pleased you are enjoying your stay and that you feel it's like home. We appreciate you choosing our hotel.

Hershey, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 1 week ago

Late start from home, flat on trailer, tired and irritatable. Found very friendly night clerks, all 3 dogs welcome, clean no smoking room that did not have any, any residue of smoke, linens clean and fresh, first floor, could not have asked a better room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nenemoosha
Roxanne G, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I am so glad we could accommodate you with your pets and that you found your arrival very welcoming, and room exactly what you needed. Please keep us in mind for your future travels!

Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel is a refurbished Howard Johnson and the rooms are ok. They provide a Continental breakfast. My only negative comment is that they cleaned room on our second day but didn't make the bed or change the bedding. The hotel seemed largely empty.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ken133
Roxanne G, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave our hotel your review. Yes, we were a Howard Johnson for many years and converted to a Red Roof in 2013. We are upgrading still and have done many changes since then. Will share your comments with our management team and hope you'll come stay with us again in the future and...

Troy, New York
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nothing to really complain about, good rooms, helpful staff, decent breakfast for the price. Pretty clean and much better than most motels I have stayed at. I would go again. The location's not bad, pretty convenient.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ashwinbahulkar
Roxanne G, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your review. We are pleased you enjoyed and hope you stay again on future travels.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was staying in Newark to visit my daughter at college. Thought because it was close to school it would be fine However, I was wrong. The place feels so unsafe. I got the feeling it was for transients. People appeared to be living in the hotel! When I finally got the room situation straightened out ( I was given...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeri W
Roxanne G, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We take our guests' and employees safety very seriously. All Newark, DE hotels work closely with our local police department to keep everyone safe as you may have seen by the signage on our doors. Our sincere apologies if you felt unsafe as this is not what we wish our...

West Glover, Vermont
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Our room was clean, as was the bathroom. Everything was in working order, and well stocked. The beds were comfortable and outside noise was not an issue. We had four in our party and a dog. We stayed on our way to Florida, and the room was reserved last minute. We had no problem getting a decent room for us.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VTMTNGRL
Roxanne G, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Please come back and stay with us again on your return trip!

Philadelphia, PA
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

You get what you pay for. And this place was dirt cheap so I should have known what to expect. The front desk experience was okay, although the gent who checked me in was a little abrupt and hard to understand. I had to go back outside and up and down interior hallways of a very old building with confusing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PABizTripper
Roxanne G, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave our hotel your review. Our sincerest apologies that you did not have a positive experience as this is not what we wish our guests to experience. Sharing this with our management team to make improvements. We hope that after some time that you will come back and stay again with a much...

Allentown, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

I've stayed here several times over the past few years, I'm finally writing a review. They're trying to upgrade the place to compete with the hotel nextdoor, and failing miserably. Pretty LED lights outside, same 1970-80's room décor inside, NOT the 70's-80's chic, think grandma's basement. Hot water for the shower is not to be found. The hot water coming...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ryan D
Roxanne G, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Yes, we are renovating, and will continue to do so. It's an older building and takes more TLC than a brand new property. Will be sharing your concerns with our management team. We value your business and see you do come and stay frequently. Our sincere apologies that everything was...

Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

We had booked the suite for the first time. When we came down to check in, we got to know dat the bookings were made for the next day instead of that day, by mistake.The staff at the reception was very helping and they managed to book a room for us. Rooms are very good and great service and in-budget...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ashwini A
Roxanne G, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, responded to this review

Thank you very much for leaving our hotel your review. It's good to know that we were able to help accommodate your changes. We appreciate you staying with us and look forward to seeing you again.

Central New Jersey
Reviewed 31 March 2017

You can tell the sheets were slept in recently and not changed. They were pressed into the creases of the mattress pattern. Several black hairs on the pillow. Really disgusting. We arrived very late and were so tired from driving, we didn't have the energy to call for it to be rectified.Then, the air conditioner continuously cycled on and off...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike1900067
Roxanne G, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. A room should always be clean and ready for a guest, and if this wasn't the case, our sincerest apologies. We have a 24 hour front desk and would have been more than happy to change your room or have someone take care of it for you immediately. This is...

76 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
6.3 km away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#4 of 24 in Newark
259 reviews
9.1 km away
Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington
9.0 km away
Days Inn Newark Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South
6.7 km away
Ramada Newark/Wilmington
1.1 km away
Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University welcomes you to our pet friendly, family friendly hotel. We are located off of I-95 which offers easy access to shopping, dining and entertainment, as well as quick access to the university of Delaware. We are close to many corporate areas, state parks, and the Wilmington Riverfront. Scenic Lancaster, PA is just minutes away! This Red Roof Inn offers free WiFi, business center and guest marketplace. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. Check-in age is 21 years or older. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University

Address: 1119 S College Ave, I-95 & SR 896, Newark, DE 19713-2307 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn University Newark)
Region: United States > Delaware > Newark
Price Range: $89 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Red Roof Inn, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites And Conference Center
Howard Johnson Inn & Hotel Newark
Howard Johnson Hotel Newark
Howard Johnson Newark
Newark Howard Johnson
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Newark
#7 Business Hotel in Newark
#9 Family Hotel in Newark
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Nashville, Tennessee
over a year ago
West Hartford, Connecticut
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose another hotel!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
njnjnj, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Excellent Location, Clean Room, Friendly”
  • Exactly what room looked like
ryanaO3114PN, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I found my balcony room to be quite nice.”
dasunlib, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“None all horrible”
rtrotta1974, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms have the same view. Parking is adequate with parking in the back for larger vehicles,”
oconnellroc, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
USD 69* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUSD 70
CancelonUSD 79
Booking.comUSD 70
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates