We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

234 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark
See the most recent reviews
Showing 227: English reviews
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

Booked three rooms at same time for my family. They put us on different floors and different sides of the hotel. Asked if they could fix that and they said because they were fully booked they could not. Room was pretty clean but had strange smell. Our key did not work when we returned to our room. After a few... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Betty B
Ben C, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark, responded to this review

Betty, thank you for your review. My apologies that we were unable to provide rooms closer together. Whenever such a request is made in advance we make every effort. I am glad we were able to resolve the issue with the door lock, thank you for bringing it to our attention. Please reach out to me directly at the hotel... More 

Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

I always check the reviews before booking and the ones I read here I don't feel gave the hotel a fair shake. I travel enough to know some of the fairly decent chains and some of the dogs. I've always found Country Inn and Suites to be decent. This property has a little age but was clean and comfortable. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robert L
virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2016

From the peeling letters on the large outdoor highway sign to the outdated decor and noise level, this Country Inn and Suites property needs some serious renovations. This is like the misfit hotel that has been forgotten and ignored. The walls are paper thin with no soundproofing insulation. We were sandwiched between one neighbor blasting their television set and another... More 

Helpful?
Thank chocoholic52
Ben C, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark, responded to this review

Dear chocoholic52, Thanks for your review- we appreciate the feedback. We are working with our brand & local municipality to resolve our aging high rise sign & apologize for the eyesore. Our apologies for any noise issues from other guests, we are always happy to address any noise complaints immediately. We deep clean and de-frost our fridges on a very... More 

Pompano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

My 10/2-10/5/2016 stay at CI&S, Churchmens Road, Newark, DE, counts as one of my worst hotel experiences in recent years. Though it looks remarkably like every other CI&S one may have seen, there are salient differences. To wit: --the walls are as thin as the wafer at Holy Communion on Sunday. Hence, one can hear a neighboring occupant taking a... More 

Helpful?
Thank trav1eler
Ben C, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark, responded to this review

Dear trave1er, Thanks for your well written review- Our apologies that the sound of the hotel plumbing was noisy and disturbing to you. While this is an irregular concern- we will investigate and address with sound insulation where needed. We are glad to always be adding and replacing our linen stock with new towels- which are always full sized for... More 

Perrysburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2016

We were in town for a soccer game and stayed at this hotel. The hotel was dirty, the bathroom had a whole in the shower where the wallpaper and calk came together and the room smelled. We ate breakfast the next morning and the hard boiled eggs were spoiled. The hotel sign was so weathered that you could barely read... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jbo514
Ben C, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark, responded to this review

Jbo514, Thank you for for your candid review. We are very sorry your stay was not acceptable. We work very hard to offer a clean, value product for all of our guest stays. We are diligently making repairs. I assure that all of our breakfast items are stock rotated and fresh when we serve them, without fail. We are working... More 

Huacas, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2016

We were traveling for vacation, and were looking for somewhere to spend the night, close to DC and also close to somewhere with activities for kids. Wilmington happened to fit the bill, and we ended up here at that Country Inn and Suites after checking out a couple other hotels in the area. It was fine for us - we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mary B
austin
Level Contributor
197 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

You can tell when a location is being milked for profit. Carpets that need replacing don't get replaced, sheets and towels are used a little to long. When Hampton inn went in next door, the owners must have decided it was over, so let's get as much as we can for as long as we can, without investing. So next... More 

Helpful?
Thank micyer
Ben C, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark, responded to this review

micyer, Thanks you for your review- While we are not associated with the hotel next door, we are aware they are a newer facility. We recognize we are not the newest hotel in the area, however we strive to offer the absolute best personalized service and value for price paid in our market. We are constantly working to improve and... More 

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
2.7 km away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#4 of 24 in Newark
241 reviews
0.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
2.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
3.2 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Newark
0.6 km away
Courtyard Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark

Address: 1024 Old Churchmans Road, Newark, DE 19713
Region: United States > Delaware > Newark
Price Range: $120 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Newark
Newark Country Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
17 days ago
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“if i knew i would of chosen it as my stay was horrible”
 of 5 bubbles jefflevine0506, 28 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Room 412 looked out over the entrance but, the view was obstructed.”
 of 5 bubbles mtoddg67, 16 Jul 2015 | Read review
“This hotel is set-back from the main road so rooms are quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles swtravelmom, 24 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Check the air as soon as you get in.”
 of 5 bubbles tonieh923, 27 May 2015 | Read review
“Suites are the best”
 of 5 bubbles Lightson50, 14 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay