We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington\/South
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

678 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South
See the most recent reviews
Showing 665: English reviews
Southbury, Connecticut
Reviewed 26 May 2016

Very nice hotel with friendly staff. Didn't get time to use all facilities but they looked clean and updated . Easy on/off highway. Good value overall and convenient to University of Delaware campus/ activities

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank J6503WAjonathanf
Colin G, General Manager at Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South, responded to this review

Dear J6503Ajonathanf, Thanks for your feedback! Glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope that we'll have a chance to have you stay with us again soon! Best Regards, Colin Grice General Manager Embassy Suites Newark-Wilmington South P) 302-368-8000 email) colin.grice@hilton.com

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 24 May 2016

The Embassy Suites is a nice enough hotel. The beds/pillows were very comfy. The breakfast had a lot to choose from, so even the pickiest folks have options. The staff was friendly. Where the property falls short is a basic design flaw. I realize that the property was probably at capacity, but rooms centered around a six story atrium makes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dawnno
Colin G, General Manager at Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South, responded to this review

Dear dawnno, Thank you for your compliments and constructive criticism. I am happy to read that you were generally pleased with our amenities and service. Apologies for the noise issues-certainly it was a busy time for us and that can be challenging. We are on schedule to update our bathrooms within the next year, which we are looking forward to....

Oxford, United States
Reviewed 24 May 2016

The complimentary happy hour, breakfast, cleanliness of suite and appearance of the central atrium made this very memorable. The staff in the atrium quickly cleared plates and cups during happy hour and breakfast, and did so with a smile. The hotel shuttle got our party to Main Street in Newark quickly and without incident. I would definitely return.

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra S
Colin G, General Manager at Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South, responded to this review

Dear Alexandra S, Thank you for using the exact word that we strive for when trying to please all of our guests; "WOW!!". It is fantastic to read that your experience was a WOW!! Certainly, we look forward to having you stay with us again in the future and adding more WOW's!! to your experiences with us! Best Regards, Colin...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 23 May 2016

Very spacious accommodation with a lounge and bedroom. The room is very functional and clean. The hotel offers shuttle services to and from a Shopping Mall which was very good for my wife. Ample parking and well situated. The only area of improvement is the adjacent restaurant TGIF -- not good. Rather ask reception for a nice seafood restaurant near...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jorge R
Colin G, General Manager at Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South, responded to this review

Dear Jorge R, Appreciate your taking time to offer your gracious comments and constructive criticism. Obviously, it is great to read that you had a great stay with us and enjoyed our amenities. I will certainly share your feedback regarding TGI Fridays with my colleague next door to ensure that our restaurant partner is maintaining the same sort of consistency...

Ashburn, Virginia
Reviewed 23 May 2016

While the location is good, that is about the only thing positive I can say about this hotel. The bathrooms in the rooms are a joke. Outdated by at least 15 years with rust and mildew very apparent. The architecture of the hotel with the 6 story atrium is awful if there is any event going on which we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CRT70
Colin G, General Manager at Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South, responded to this review

Dear CRT70, Thank you for staying with us and taking time to offer your feedback. It is regrettable that you did not enjoy your stay with us and am sorry that you had a negative experience. We certainly aspire to do what is possible to control what we can, and to minimize the impact for those whom do not prefer...

New york
Reviewed 18 May 2016

Excellent accommodations and a great hug breakfast every morning with attentive service staff in the restaurant. The only problem is the refrigerator in the safe seem to be "hidden" and once found you can understand why the cabinet cover under the sink continues to fall off because people repeatedly look for the refrigerator

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank delawaredad2016
Colin G, General Manager at Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South, responded to this review

Dear delawaredad2016, Thank you for your great comments as well as the constructive note regarding our cabinet covers. Overall, it is pleasing that you enjoyed your experience with us so much, and hope we'll have the pleasure of having you stay with us again in the future! Best Regards, Colin Grice General Manager Embassy Suites Newark-Wilmington South P) 303-368-8000 email)...

Boston, United States
Reviewed 17 May 2016

Hotel was clean and comfortable, and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. The happy hour and breakfast were outstanding! Overall, a very good value. I would definitely stay there again the next time I'm in Newark.

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey H
Lunenburg, United States
Reviewed 15 May 2016

When I was asked to present at an upcoming conference in Delaware, I knew where to stay. I've stayed at this Embassy Suites no less than 40 nights in the last few years, and it never disappoints me. The rooms have all been recently renovated, so they are clean bright and modern. The staff is well trained and very attentive...

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frank M
Colin G, General Manager at Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South, responded to this review

Dear Frank M: It is obviously great to read that your experiences with our Hotel have been terrific and that you are enjoying the updates to our rooms as well! We look forward to having you back again with us when your plans call for you to come back to Newark. Best Regards, Colin Grice General Manager Embassy Suites Newark-Wilmington...

Steamboat Springs, CO, United States
Reviewed 10 May 2016

Stayed here for a high school class reunion. The rooms are very large, comfortable and well-appointed, with refrig and microwave. Lovely lobby and social facilities. Outstanding breakfast. Pleasant and helpful service providers.

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
Colin G, General Manager at Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South, responded to this review

Dear Susan H, I am so happy to read how much you enjoyed your time with us here at the Embassy Suites Newark! Hopefully, we'll have opportunities to have you stay with us again in the future. Best Regards, Colin Grice General Manager P) 303-368-8000 email) colin.grice@hilton.com

Glen Rock, United States
Reviewed 3 May 2016

The hotel service and cleanliness was fine. The new gray, black and green color palette in the rooms belongs in an insane asylum...and if your mental health is intact when you arrive, it won't last long. Cold, dark, depressing and the frequency of the lighting adds to this very disturbing decoration. Oh and did I mention cheap! Horrible!

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank John D
Colin G, General Manager at Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South, responded to this review

Dear John D, Thank you for staying with us and taking time to offer your feedback. In recent months, we did complete our rooms renovation and it has generally been received very enthusiastically. However, we recognize that some of our guests may have a different opinion and that is okay. Certainly, it is unfortunate that it impacted your stay with...

84 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.1 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South
8.9 km away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
9.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
6.5 km away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#3 of 24 in Newark
249 reviews
3.3 km away
Courtyard Newark-University of Delaware
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South

Address: 654 South College Avenue, Newark, DE 19713
Region: United States > Delaware > Newark
Price Range: $180 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South Hotel Newark
Newark Embassy Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#7 Family Hotel in Newark
#8 Business Hotel in Newark
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 343 is very nice”
 of 5 bubbles _cjv66, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Executive King rooms give you a little more space.”
 of 5 bubbles BobM915, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Corner rooms, farther away from the perimeter of the atrium, may be quieter”
 of 5 bubbles Charlie0821, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I like the top floors away from the elevators”
 of 5 bubbles hameld, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We like upper floor. Our rooms were very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles ARust1949, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5