We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Dover Downtown

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Dover Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

139 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Dover Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 139: English reviews
Matamoras,pa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

I go to this hotel often they have the most accommodating and friendly staff. They are the reason I go back to this hotel. The place is always clean. Only thing I wish they had is a refrigerator and a microwave in the room

Helpful?
Thank kathyann66
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2016

Stayed her on our last leg home from the Outer Banks. We arrived later than anticipated and staff was friendly and accommodating. The in house restaurant food was affordable and very good. We ordered to go late too. We enjoyed the pool area for a quick dip before bed. We found the hotel to be clean a pleasant place to... More 

Helpful?
Thank MarthaB1977
Indian Head, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2016

The front desk was very unprofessional , they look like high school drop outs. The main receptionist named Joseph was very rude , he accused my husband and I of smoking in the room with our 2 small kids ages 3 and 7. After I told him we didn't smoke he threatnen to call the police on me in front... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ginger T
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dover Downtown, responded to this review

Dear gingertravel2016, Thank you for your recent stay with us and for writing a review about your experience. It is regrettable that we were not able to execute an exemplary hotel stay experience due to the front office services and general condition at the hotel. We are committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. I... More 

Travellers are raving about these Dover hotels

rickman23
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2016

I researched a few reviews before staying in Dover, and this was toward the top of the list. We stay at Holiday Inns from time to time, and I generally consider them to be an above average brand. I would put the lobby, location and appearance of the restaurant toward the higher end of the spectrum, but the guest rooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank rickman23
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dover Downtown, responded to this review

Dear rickman23, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. We are pleased to know you liked the good location of the hotel in the area. On the other hand, we would like to apologize for the shortcomings you have experience with the room and service you received. Please be assured that your... More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2016

My sweetheart and I went recently, the place didn't look that bad, the staff tried to accommodate us, according to the pictures and the person you book from, you think that there is a mini fridge in the room, there is not unless you get lucky. The beds were hard, we tried to keep our stuff cold so we had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Roll C
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dover Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Roll C, Thank you for writing a review on our hotel. Our goal is to deliver exceptional service and comfortable accommodations and we appreciate your business with us. However, we sincerely apologize if the lack of fridge in the room and the condition of the bed received may have caused you inconvenience. It is certainly not our intent to... More 

1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2016

The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. The best part for me was the in house bar with the bartenders named Bridget and Bonnie. That were great and truly made my stay a memorable experience. The front desk was friendly also. Joseph and Kerry were always on top of their games. Everything I requested was there for me... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brandon P
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2016

At the last minute my husband and I decided to go to the casino in Dover, we pulled in to the Holiday Inn Dover downtown and were greeted with the most wonderful people. Joseph and Bonnie got us checked in and made sure we had everything we needed. Both days there were great!!

Helpful?
Thank Patty A
NewCastle, DE
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2016

My boyfriend and I were attending my sister's wedding and booked two nights at this hotel. We had dinner the night of our first stay so we didn't actually make it to the room until around 10:30pm. We relaxed, walked around the hotel then I climbed in bed. With in 2 minutes I felt something crawling on me! DISGUSTED I... More 

Helpful?
Thank angelflygirl
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dover Downtown, responded to this review

Dear angelflygirl, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. It is truly regrettable that you did not fully enjoy your recent stay with us. Allow me to apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. Let me follow-up on your concerns and have the opportunity to address your them accordingly. I have sent you... More 

The Great New York State
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2016

I had a bad check in experience, and was not happy with the way it was handled. Long story short, it took the desk clerk over 90 minutes to figure out how to check in a person who makes a reservation after midnight for that same night. He blamed the 800# person, and she blamed the desk clerk. I was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Suezzyq
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dover Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Suezzyq, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class experience, however, it appears we fell short of our goal on your visit. We would like to apologize for the less than satisfactory experience you had at check-in and for falling short... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2016 via mobile

What an experience. The team at the holiday inn Dover is absolutely incredible. From the bar tender, Bridgette, to the night manager, Deb L. Easy check in, great benefits for members, great food, plenty of parking. If you plan on traveling to Dover, this is the place to stay.

Helpful?
1 Thank NoWayJo

96 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (76)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dover hotels
0.7 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Dover
0.3 km away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Dover
3.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Dover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Dover
1.6 km away
Dover Downs Hotel & Casino
3.6 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 20 in Dover
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The contemporary Holiday Inn Dover - Downtown hotel places you near the area's best attractions and most prominent businesses. This hotel is located near Dover Downs International Speedway/Casino and Dover Air Force Base. We are proud to offer military and government travelers their own special rate. Our hotel's business travelers appreciate our modern facilities, which boast an on-site business center with print, copy and fax services. We also have meeting rooms that total more than 2800 square feet of event space. If you're looking for a hotel in Dover, Delaware near businesses search no more, since these businesses are just a short drive from our property. If you prefer the outdoors, visit Bombay Hook National Wildlife Refuge or the beach at Cape Henlopen State Park. If you are searching for a hotel in Dover, Delaware with great amenities, you'll be pleased to note that we offer free high-speed Internet access in each room. And, you're sure to enjoy a delicious meal at our on-site eatery, or a relaxing drink in the lounge. We also have an outdoor seasonal pool and a fitness center, so you can unwind after a long day. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dover Downtown

Address: 561 N. Dupont Highway, Dover, DE 19901
Region: United States > Delaware > Dover
Price Range: $109 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Dover Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Dover Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Dover Downtown Hotel Dover
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Dover
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Dover Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room near side entrance (and elevators) is convenient.”
 of 5 bubbles SaraVK626, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Choose another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles tonihoney, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Warning. Stay away from this hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles angelflygirl, 24 May 2016 | Read review
“Third floor is my favorite!!”
 of 5 bubbles robertbN8757ZH, 15 Jan 2016 | Read review
“I was on the third floor, and had no complaints about the room's location.”
 of 5 bubbles M1859VDrobertm, 5 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay