We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Crowne Plaza Wilmington North

CrownePlaza.comUSD 126*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Crowne Plaza Wilmington North
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

202 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Wilmington North
See the most recent reviews
Showing 200: English reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2016 via mobile

We booked a room after finding out that our hockey playoff games were charged to early in the morning. Booking was easy and the price was reasonable. Front desk staff was pleasant and helpful. Our room was clean and the beds were comfortable. Bathroom was clean but showed recent work was done to change the position of the exhaust fan....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John K
tzezu871, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this review

Dear Crowne Plaza Guest I appreciate your time to complete a review about the hotel. I was great to hear that your stay at the hotel for the hockey playoff was good and the room clean. I will share with the staff that they were pleasant and helpful. Also I will review the items mentioned concerning the bathroom to assure...

Wilmington, Delaware
Reviewed 15 February 2016 via mobile

The Embers restaurant is a place that I am promising myself and hubby never to visit again. Crab cake sandwich was full of filler and little crab. The fries that came with the "fried too long" fish and chips were an insult. We sent the fish back. Very disappointing. Wish we had chosen a different place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jlew2121
tzezu871, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this review

Dear Embers guest I apologize that your visit to the Embers Restaurant was disappointing. I am sorry to hear that your dinner did not meet your expectations. I will review the menu items you have mentioned with the chef to see what we can improve. We want assure every guest has an enjoyable experience at our restaurant. If I can...

Reviewed 18 December 2015 via mobile

Hotel was nice staff is very unpleasant, the hostess in the restaurant omg no hospitality ... I don't normally write but this is just me saying do better because crappy service can really ruin someone trip, don't know if it's because they were older folks or what

 Report
Helpful?
Thank terisa123
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this review

Dear terisa123, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to note that you liked the hotel facility. We are always happy to provide a consistently clean, comfortable and courteous place for our guests. It is truly regrettable to hear that you were disappointed with the level of service that you received from the staff....

Bristol, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 16 December 2015

My boyfriend and I have stayed at this hotel a few times now. The staff is usually pretty nice and helpful. Our room usually comes with a mini-fridge which is very nice. The bedroom is large and clean, the bed is very comfortable; the bathroom is a bit small but clean. It's always a nice stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AmazingPitaPan
tzezu871, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza and I appreciate that you have taken the time to complete a review. I am happy that your room was clean and that you enjoyed your stay. I will be sure to share your comments with the staff. We always strive to provide exceptional service with a great room. I look forward...

Reviewed 16 December 2015

The entire hotel smelled awful !! Ballroom, public restrooms, hallways, elevators, and rooms. All carpet in entire hotel needs to bee replaced. Staff unhelpful. The Banquet food was inedible, and the breakfast food wasn't any better.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 331abdulz
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this review

Dear 331abdulz, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We would like to apologize for the less than satisfactory dining experience you had and for falling short of your expectations regarding our facilities and staff. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve and continually provide...

Reviewed 20 November 2015

First night go in around 9 and had dinner in hotel restaurant. Service was terrible. One waiter who didn't have it togther. Rarely seen had to ask bartender for help. Place was not that crowded proabaly 20% capacity. Waited approximately 45 minutes for dinner to be served. Next morning back for breakfast more of the same. Typical hotel buffet breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jpcbos
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this review

Dear Joseph C, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay with us. We would like to apologize for the less than satisfactory dining and breakfast experience you had and for falling short of your expectations regarding our front desk staff. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as...

Pitman, New Jersey
Reviewed 6 November 2015 via mobile

Hotel itself was clean. Staff at front desk when checking in were a little unpleasant. The only thing I didn't like was the breakfast. Eggs were grose and the pancakes made me feel sick. Nothing great about it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SDoble64
John L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this review

Hello Pitman NJ, Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your thoughts regarding your experience. We are sorry that you did not enjoy some of the aspects of your visit; these items will be shared with the team so they can learn from them. Being relatively close to the hotel, we hope you try us again in the...

Evans, Ga
Reviewed 1 November 2015 via mobile

Stopped here one night while visiting the area. Room was large and comfortable. Bed very comfortable Bathroom small , plenty hot water and good water pressure. Quite as well. My main complaint was the breakfast. It is not worth 15:00/person. I have had better at low cost hotels. You can not even get your own coffee. They need to change...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tleeEvans
John L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you staying with us and for providing feedback regarding your experience. I will absolutely share your thoughts with the Chef and F&B team about your breakfast input. We do provide a station where guests can obtain coffee and tea, but it appears we did a poor job of ensuring it is evident. We are happy you enjoyed most...

Ashburn, Virginia
Reviewed 27 October 2015

We stayed here multiple nights for a skating competition and I had the opportunity to see a few different types of rooms when visiting friends. While the beds were comfortable, the rest of our room left a lot to be desired. There was at least an eighth of an inch of dust on the windowsill, a huge sticky stain in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank judoha
John L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review. On behalf of the entire team, I apologize for your experience. Though we recognize opportunities we have to improve overall and in particular areas, there are also items you experienced that we know better on how to deliver. We are also sorry about the person you describe as not being able to assist with...

Hadley, Massachusetts
Reviewed 25 October 2015

If you like stained carpet, scratched furniture, long-waits for balky elevators, door locks that may or may not work, this is for you! Conveniently near I95 and the PA-Delaware border. Apparently some serious security problems reported online from 2014 have been fixed by new managers, but the place DESPERATELY needs major refreshment of its public areas and at least some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phillylad
John L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this review

Phillylad, Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your thoughts with us. We are working diligently on transforming the hotel after taking over in late 2014, and we appreciate that you have noticed some of the positive changes (security improvements, personnel). We recognize that there is more to do and continue to work on it. We are in...

86 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Claymont
7.7 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington
8.0 km away
Inn at Wilmington
Inn at Wilmington
#5 of 12 in Wilmington
372 reviews
11.3 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington - Brandywine Valley
9.6 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Philadelphia Airport South at Widener University
9.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Plus Concordville Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Boasting spacious rooms with deluxe bedding and free Wi-Fi, plus full-service amenities including a restaurant and lounge, the Crowne Plaza Wilmington North provides guests with the complete package. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Wilmington North

Address: 630 Naamans Rd, Claymont, DE 19703-2310 (Formerly Holiday Inn Select Wilmington - Brandywine)
Region: United States > Delaware > Claymont
Price Range: $166 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Wilmington North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Wilmington North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Select Wilmington - Brandywine Hotel Claymont
Holiday Inn Claymont
Claymont Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Crowne Plaza Wilmington North staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Crowne Plaza Wilmington North staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Probably quietest on the south side.”
robertf873, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“make sure it doesn't smell from smoke when entering your room”
yellowrosesbutrfly, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“corner room?”
1358rebecca, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I was 6th floor, okay but site was quiet.”
tomcL1591JT, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“You may want a room on the back of the building, opposite to the highway.”
dzolin8, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
CrownePlaza.com
USD 126* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUSD 126
Booking.comUSD 126
Expedia.comUSD 126
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates