We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Alena Resort by Pramana

Jl. Raya Silungan Banjar Silungan, Lodtunduh, Ubud 80571 Indonesia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (1560)
Room & Suite (185)
Dining (148)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#3 of 10 hotels in Lodtunduh
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Alena Resort is a masterpiece of a young Balinese whose not just the owner but also he put his heart to work with his hand on every details design and material to present for every traveler who looking for a small and relaxing Balinese boutique resort. The rooms are housed on two storey units with terrace and balcony facing to the pool, and the villa set around the pool with a private Balinese entrance angkul-angkul to give full privacy. The resort gardens is design to preserve the Balinese rare flowers and fruits as element of the Balinese Hindu ritual ceremony.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Entertainment staff
Free shuttle or taxi services
Spa
24-hour security
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Indonesian
785Reviews27Q+A88Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 704
  • 64
  • 13
  • 2
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Brad E wrote a review 16 Feb
1 contribution
The service was extremely polite and friendly, the atmosphere was fancy to say the least, and the food cooked by Suardiana was delicious and well presented. Fanciest restaurant in Bali, I would recommend to anyone in the Ubud area. 10/10 would recommend and will visit again
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Emily E wrote a review 15 Feb
5 contributions2 helpful votes
Just wow - we had THE best stay! The staff are totally amazing and make you feel so welcome, the food is delicious, the surroundings/decor are stunning and very authentic Balinese, the treatments at the spa were some of the best we’ve ever had, we loved the 3x a week free yoga classes and they even offer mopeds that you can hire out (just £5 a day!) - best way to get around! Or you can take their free shuttle bus into town if you prefer. HIGHLY recommend this place for an authentic, yet luxury Balinese experience 🌺🌸
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Andreas V wrote a review 9 Feb
1 contribution
The Alena Resort was the perfect place to end my Indonesia adventure. After a couple of weeks of traveling this felt like homecoming. The beautifully designed resort in general and the rooms in special were a little paradise. The food was delicious and prepared with love. A little minor was that the center of Ubud was not within walking distance from the resort. But the transfer shuttle provided by the hotel was a good alternative.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: This is a quiet place. Please be part of that to have the best experience.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
James Q wrote a review 8 Feb
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Amazing place for a peaceful stay in Ubud. We came for our honeymoon and hired the private villa with our own pool. Also added some extras like couples dinner in the villa, floating breakfast in our pool, cooking class and spa treatments. Staff are amazing and really friendly. Gusti collected us from the airport and was a great guy, really easy to speak to and happy to share his local knowledge. The food is great and the chefs Wian and Kris are also really friendly and know their cooking so well. We did the Balinese cooking experience and the food, hygiene and knowledge are top notch and they also have great English. All the ladies in the spa were super friendly and the setting is about as relaxing as you can get. Would definitely come back, absolute luxury and you feel welcome all the time. Great job Alena Resort, keep up the good work.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Typical Bali traffic makes short journeys a little longer so plan ahead if you need to do anything
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
StephS wrote a review 7 Feb
Whitehaven, United Kingdom5 contributions
This was our first stop on our 1 month holiday. We stayed for 3 nights and absolutely loved this hotel. We stayed in a Luxury Suite Room which was beautiful. The hotel transfer picked us up from the airport on time. We used our free 1 hour massage in the spa which was lovely. Breakfast was great. The restaurant has lovely food, especially the chicken satay and all of the staff are very friendly and helpful. Wouldnt think twice about staying here again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Venture21687090275 wrote a review 3 Feb
1 contribution
Small quaint hideaway. Very peaceful, excellent service. Well kept and very clean. Beautiful landscaping. Staff extremely helpful and genuinely happy. If your looking for something peaceful not far from Ubud this is an excellent choice. Highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Paula A wrote a review 1 Feb
Frimley, United Kingdom4 contributions
+1
Lovely, friendly welcoming staff who can’t do enough for you to make sure you have a lovely holiday. Food at the restaurant was excellent, couldn’t fault it and good value for money. Breakfast was included in our price and lots of choices. We chose to eat every night in the hotel as it was so good. We also enjoyed two evenings of different Balinese dancing with a 7 course dinner in the hotel which was really enjoyable and food was delicious. The hotel also put on other free activities, morning walk to local rice fields which was interesting. Yoga classes which was really good. You could also make a Balinese offering and learn some dancing but we didn’t have time to fit those in. I had several spa treatments Balinese massage, facial and Parasayu Sensation were all fabulous, would definitely recommend you try a treatment. We had our own room with a pool, which we thoroughly enjoyed. It was lovely and quiet and private. We got quite used to our outside bathroom. Bedroom had a mosquito net and aircon. We also had own fridge with free bottled water as well as tea a coffee making facilities.We booked a day trip with car and driver from hotel. They had several trips to choose from and our driver was very friendly and very informative and we had a fantastic time seeing different temples, unesco rice field and kings palace. We had already booked sunrise trip to Mount Batur before we left home, but the hotel do also provide there own. The hotel also provides a free daily shuttle service into Ubud as well, We had a fabulous relaxing holiday. A big thank you to all the hotel staff, would definitely recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Philipp S wrote a review Jan 2024
Berlin, Germany1 contribution
An absolutely amazing resort with the friendliest staff you can imagine and a love to detail in its rooms and general layout that is unmatched. From design to overall shaping of the experience our trip with a one year old was one to never forget. Definitely make sure to visit the Spa area to enjoy one of their treatments. Okta was the most welcoming massage therapist you can imagine.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Definitely make sure to visit the Spa center and enjoy one of their unique treatments -...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Danijel B wrote a review Jan 2024
Zagreb, Croatia23 contributions5 helpful votes
The resort appears beautiful at first glance—two pools, a jacuzzi, and a lovely garden. However, reality hits hard afterward: 1) The resort is distant from restaurants, shops, and any amenities. The approach to the resort is a pathway full of puddles (photo attached). 2) Breakfast is truly disappointing, NO BUFFET with a very limited food selection. The quality of the food is good, but the variety of menu choices is extremely limited. Despite paying for breakfast, I opted to dine outside the resort (2 km away), as The Alena's breakfast was by far the worst compared to other, much more affordable resorts I've visited in Bali. 3) The kitchen service is extremely slow. When you order food for breakfast, you wait quite a while for it to be served. Despite the resort having few guests (just a handful at breakfast), you'll wait around 20 minutes for a simple omelet to arrive at your table. Room service. Despite being told that room service would take 20-30 minutes, we waited over an hour each time. Again, extremely slow kitchen staff. 4) I tried organizing a surprise birthday lunch for a friend at the hotel restaurant. The hotel staff managed to ruin the surprise. Despite coordinating everything confidentially through email and in person with the hotel staff, on the day of the celebration during breakfast, an employee started questioning me in front of my friend about the birthday lunch, even though I had arranged everything with them two days earlier and emphasized that it should remain a secret. If they had additional questions, she could have pulled me aside and asked in private, or through messages, email... The birthday surprise - ruined. 5) The shower is filled with limescale, causing water to splash around (photo attached). On a positive note, the spa/massage experience was excellent. The masseuses are outstanding, providing a top-notch service. I had the best spa experience ever, lasting over two hours, including a body scrub and bath. The newly-built spa section offers exceptional service. There is a new, small but well equipped gym and yoga room. Conclusion: The level of service is far below that of a 4-star resort. Very, very poor. The staff requires intensive training. Breakfast is truly disappointing. Overall, the food is far below standard. If breakfast is crucial for you, I highly recommend avoiding this resort. In Ubud, there are countless better and higher-quality resorts for the same or even lower price.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: If breakfast is important to you, avoid this resort at any cost
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Alena Resort Ubud, General Manager at The Alena Resort by Pramana
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Danijel B, Genuine to the world greetings from The Alena Resort by Pramana. Thank you so much for staying with us, and we do apologize for all the inconvenience you have experienced with us. We are committed to making improvements and providing a better experience for all our guests. And we will take this matter to our internal team seriously. Once again personally and professionally we apologize that you didn't get the best experience with us. You're sharing your experience and giving us a review is highly appreciated, it really means a lot to us. Best Regards Indra Foresty Resort Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Voyage740907 wrote a review Jan 2024
Edinburgh, United Kingdom1 contribution
This was a lovely oasis of a place, so calm and welcoming. The staff were to a person, kind, gentle and very pleasant - nothing was too much trouble for them. Our room was very nice, spotlessly clean, had plenty of space, and a small outside patio for reading and "quiet time". The bed and bedding were of good quality, and almost sumptuous. The bed itself was huge, and mattress medium firm and very comfortable. The hotel has 2 pools, both of a good size for swimming and they were kept very clean. The hotel surroundings were well planted and maintained, contributing to the overall feeling of a beautifully kept garden. The food in the restaurant was varied, catering to international palates as well as providing local dishes. It was always beautifully presented and delicious. Although 30 minutes outside of Ubud, the free hotel shuttle bus ran several times a day, and this worked well for us - after hectic shopping, it was always good to get back "home" to our oasis.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Alena Resort Ubud, General Manager at The Alena Resort by Pramana
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Voyage740907, Genuine to the world greetings from The Alena Resort by Pramana. Thank you so much for staying with us , and we do hope you had an amazing time with us. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your experience with us. You're sharing your experience and giving us a review is highly appreciated, it really means a lot to us. Once again, thank you for recommending us, and we hope to see you again in the future!! Best Regards The Alena Resort A Pramana Experience's Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Lodtunduh area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$113 - AU$215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IndonesiaBaliGianyar RegencyUbudLodtunduh
NUMBER OF ROOMS
17
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE ALENA RESORT BY PRAMANA (AU$113): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Lodtunduh, Indonesia) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Alena Resort by Pramana
Which popular attractions are close to The Alena Resort by Pramana?
Nearby attractions include Mas Carving Center (0.5 km), Bali Handy (0.8 km), and Lumbung Sari Agroo (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Alena Resort by Pramana?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at The Alena Resort by Pramana?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Alena Resort by Pramana?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Alena Resort by Pramana?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Alena Resort by Pramana?
Conveniently located restaurants include Gajah Putih, Kayun Restaurant & Lounge, and Ksuna Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Alena Resort by Pramana?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does The Alena Resort by Pramana have airport transportation?
Yes, The Alena Resort by Pramana offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Alena Resort by Pramana?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Alena Resort by Pramana?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Indonesian.
Are there any historical sites close to The Alena Resort by Pramana?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Peliatan Royal Palace (5.7 km), Yeh Pulu Temple (4.0 km), and Pura Penataran Sasih (5.7 km).