We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Foley

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Foley
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

224 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Foley
See the most recent reviews
Showing 222: English reviews
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 March 2016

We usually stay at the Bingham in Richmond when we go to The National Tennis Centre at Roehampton, but they where full so a friend recommended the Foley and I have to say value for money wise the Foley place is excellent. we stayed 3 nights and used the Restaurant every night and the food is good pub food and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stuart m
FoleyHotel, General Manager at The Foley, responded to this review

Dear stuart m, Thank you for your comments and can assure we will pass them on to the team & look forward to welcoming you back to the Foley in the future. Declan & Trish General Managers.

Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2016

Always stay here if given the chance, free parking, staff always polite and cheerful. Had room 11 1st floor nice spacious room, outlook not the best tho looking over flat roofs, but that doesn't bother me at all. Plenty tea,coffee etc and fresh milk. Walk in shower and a fair size. Had breakfast which is always the best, salmon and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
FoleyHotel, General Manager at The Foley, responded to this review

Dear Steve J, Thank you for your comments and can assure we will pass them on to the team & look forward to welcoming you back to the Foley in the future. Declan & Trish General Managers.

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2016

The hotel was recommended to us when we were visiting relatives in the area. What a fantastic place. The rooms are excellent as were the staff, the food, the wine and the atmosphere. We will certainly be staying here again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mark_Campbell_279
FoleyHotel, General Manager at The Foley, responded to this review

Dear Mark_Campbell_279, Thank you for your comments and can assure we will pass them on to the team & look forward to welcoming you back to the Foley in the future. Declan & Trish General Managers.

Reviewed 10 March 2016 via mobile

Every time I am in Claygate I stay at this hotel it is lovely. The staff for the most part are extremly friendly and the food is lovely! Great wine, quite and the rooms are lovely. I would certainly recommend staying here! I would have given 5☆ however felt my room on my last stay could have been cleaned better...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Amanda P
FoleyHotel, General Manager at The Foley, responded to this review

Dear Amanda P, Thank you for your comments relating to your visit to the Foley Claygate, We can assure you we will use your comments constructively to avoid any similar situations occurring again in the future, and would also like to assure you that this is not typical of the high standard of environment we are striving to achieve at...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 March 2016

A terrific place to stay. Staff were welcoming, room was excellent and comfortable, food was delicious and such a friendly atmosphere. We will certainly use the Foley again and have already recommended it to family and friends.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank christine_munday11
FoleyHotel, General Manager at The Foley, responded to this review

Dear christine_munday11, Thank you for your comments and can assure we will pass them on to the team & look forward to welcoming you back to the Foley in the future. Declan & Trish General Managers.

Saalbach-Hinterglemm, Austria
Reviewed 29 February 2016

Due to a medical emergency, which I attempted to explain to the hotel when I called just after lunch on the day of arrival, I had to cancel my room. I may as well have been talking to an automated answering machine. The stock robotic response simply reiterated the hotel cancellation policy and that there would be no refund on...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
4Thank HonestTraveller122
FoleyHotel, General Manager at The Foley, responded to this review

Dear HonestTraveller122, Thank you for your comments, however we do have a cancellation policy in place and yes is wavered in some cases, however to inform the reception team that you will write a bad review on a certain worldwide review site if we charge you - doesn’t really go down well with the reception team. Declan & Trish General...

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 February 2016

Friendly staff at reception and at breakfast. Food excellent with a great choice for breakfast. Very quite and good night sleep. Room good size with all amenities you could require. Parking excellent.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank melissa-thurgood
FoleyHotel, General Manager at The Foley, responded to this review

Dear melissa-thurgood, Thank you for your comments and can assure we will pass them on to the team & look forward to welcoming you back to the Foley in the future. Declan & Trish General Managers.

United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 February 2016

An excellent gastro pub with tasty but realistically priced food .The staff are lovely - friendly and professional .The Foley has attractive bistro style eating areas in the a well tended garden area. Road noise was not intrusive .

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrsdancingqueen
FoleyHotel, General Manager at The Foley, responded to this review

Dear mrsdancingqueen, Thank you for your comments and can assure we will pass them on to the team & look forward to welcoming you back to the Foley in the future. Declan & Trish General Managers.

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 February 2016

Highly satisfied with the rooms and the food. Staff were attentive without being fussy or invasive. There is a calm and efficient atmosphere throughout. I would be confident in making a recomendation because the standards have not varied over six visits.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 134adrianneh
FoleyHotel, General Manager at The Foley, responded to this review

Dear 134adrianneh, Thank you for your comments and can assure we will pass them on to the team & look forward to welcoming you back to the Foley in the future. Declan & Trish General Managers.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 February 2016

Good hotel with nice accommodation. Food in the restaurant was great. Breakfast good. Only issue are that some of the staff could be more welcoming. Great location and walking distance from Claygate. I stayed two night on a business trip. The room was immaculate and the bathroom was bright and vey clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank deborah1010
FoleyHotel, General Manager at The Foley, responded to this review

Dear deborah1010, Thank you for your comments relating to your visit to the Foley Claygate, We can assure you we will use your comments constructively to avoid any similar situations occurring again in the future, and would also like to assure you that this is not typical of the high standard of environment we are striving to achieve at the...

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Claygate
3.9 km away
Holiday Inn London-Kingston South
2.2 km away
Chessington Safari Hotel
Chessington Safari Hotel
#2 of 3 in Chessington
1,675 reviews
8.8 km away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
2,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Premier Inn Chessington Hotel
7.0 km away
Oatlands Park Hotel
Oatlands Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Weybridge
860 reviews
6.2 km away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#2 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are the newest hotel in the area situated in a peaceful rural setting whilst being only 35 minutes from central London. There's so much to see and do in surrey making The Foley is a perfect base explore the area with Hampton Court Palace, Chessington world of adventures, RHS Gardens Wisley, Surrey Hill's Countryside walks, Sandown Park and Epsom Downs racecourses right on our door step. So after a hard day at work or play you can be absolutely sure that your room will be an oasis of calm to help you enjoy a good night's sleep. We have 17 en suite rooms that have all the comforts of home in a fantastic boutique design. All our rooms offer the following items to make your stay as restful as possible. We have room types to suit everyone, double rooms, twin rooms, rooms with sofa bed suitable for children, interconnecting rooms allowing families up to 5 to stay together and several travel cots for our younger guests. Please let reception know when booking if you require any of the above. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Foley

Address: 106 Hare Lane, Claygate, Esher KT10 0LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Esher > Claygate
Price Range: $156 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Foley 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Foley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Foley staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
6 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Foley staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All are excellent.”
 of 5 bubbles dfair11, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Over the car park better than on the road”
 of 5 bubbles O1634YZrichardw, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Our room overlooked the garden, in which there was a party on the night we stayed causing extra noise, but we weren't too bothered”
 of 5 bubbles RACHEL857, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing private car park are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles llegnalem, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We had double room overlooking outside eating area. Apparently, according to friends, this was larger than most rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles jimreeves2016, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5