We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Manor House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Manor House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

90 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Manor House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 88: English reviews
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2016 via mobile

We visited Manor House for my husbands 50th birthday. You are immediately struck by the beauty of the Mansion. It has been meticulously maintained. We stayed in The Morgan Room. Great choice! It had a two person whirlpool that was awesome. Sheila and Richard, the Innkeepers were warm and friendly. The French toast and omelets for breakfast was delicious. We... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank PLee479
Rich and Sheila B, Manager at Manor House, responded to this review

We are so happy to hear you had a wonderful birthday visit. We hope to see you when the leaves turn color. Thank you, Rich & Sheila More 

Groton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2016

This was our second stay at Manor House. The facility itself is a marvel of classic old architecture, lots of interesting places to sit and nooks and crannies. And there aren't a lot of alternatives around the area. That said, we were disappointed. The bathroom sink faucet was held together with a rusty cotter-key. The shower-tub drain did not work... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank PAUL M
Rich and Sheila B, Manager at Manor House, responded to this review

Hi Paul M, We apologize for any inconveniences you experienced due to the problem with the shower. We are on the main floor from 7:00 am on and any problem could and should have been brought to our attention, and we would have addressed it. As for the newspaper, thanks for finding it under the bushes that morning. The new... More 

West Newbury, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2016

A perfect gathering place for friends or extended family! Rich and Sheila, the innkeepers, were our very generous hosts for the weekend. They kept the fires crackling and the wine poured as we lounged and laughed with six sets of friends during our two-night stay. How wonderful to climb the beautiful center staircase to bed--each couple to our own lovely... More 

Helpful?
Thank Leigh S
Rich and Sheila B, Manager at Manor House, responded to this review

Thank you, Leigh. Can't wait to host your book club. ~Rich & Sheila, Innkeepers More 

West Newbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2016

The Manor House is warm and inviting with interesting rooms each with their own personality. Many have fireplaces and we stayed in the Lincoln room which has a real wood fireplace. A roaring fire awaited us when we arrived in the living room with wine and friendly innkeepers who helped us plan a fun weekend in the area. Rich and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Midge G
Rich and Sheila B, Manager at Manor House, responded to this review

Thank you Midge G. We all had a wonderful weekend and we look forward to your return in the summer months when we will have even more activities to enjoy. ~ Sheila & Rich, Innkeepers More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2016 via mobile

We had a wonderful 2-night stay with a group of friends. Rich and Sheila were great hosts for the weekend and led us on some great hikes, museum visits and dining during our stay. The house and its cherry woodwork, many fireplaces are magnificent. Our room - The Victorian - was very spacious and quiet. We hope to return in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jonathan O
Rich and Sheila B, Manager at Manor House, responded to this review

Looking forward to your return visit. A great time was had by all, ~Rich & Sheila, Innkeepers More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2016

Stayed mid-week for a concert at the Infinity Hall ... Our hosts, Richard and Sheila, were friendly and helpful. The house is much bigger and grander than the website photos depict. The Tiffany stain glass windows, the fireplaces,beautiful ceilings and woodwork were outstanding. Each guest room has its own personality. Improvements and updates are in progress or planned for some... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tom D
Rich and Sheila B, Manager at Manor House, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. We can't wait to host you again and are looking forward to your return visit!. More 

Portland, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 December 2015

We had a wonderful visit to the Manor House. We were just staying overnight on a getaway weekend from the kids. Richard and Sheila were very hospitable and friendly. We stayed in the Victorian Room on the top floor. The room is large and well appointed. The bed was very comfortable, which is not something I find at most lodgings.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
Rich and Sheila B, Manager at Manor House, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. We look forward to your return visit. We are currently offering winter specials and we always have deals for repeat customers. Just give us a call at 860-542-569o, and follow us on Facebook for last minute specials and local events. More 

New York, New York
Level Contributor
126 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2015

This Victorian mansion was built in 1898, by the same architect who designed the Underground in London. I got a room that the bed is under the roof. The parlor has a grand piano that I played a few tunes on it.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ilanfreedman
Rich and Sheila B, Manager at Manor House, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. We enjoyed the tunes and hope you come back soon. We are currently offering winter specials and we always have deals for repeat customers. Just give us a call at 860-542-569o, and follow us on Facebook for last minute specials and local events. More 

Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2015

This is a difficult task, as we do not relish writing poor reviews (it's been several years since our last), and the innkeepers here are very nice people. They are just inexperienced as innkeepers, and some of the conditions described below are not within their control. This once beautiful, regal building (an early Craftsman-style masterpiece) is now in desperate need... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank savvyaztravelers
Rich and Sheila B, Manager at Manor House, responded to this review

We're sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. We are working with the owners to get some of the problems you mentioned corrected. Constructive criticism is always appreciated. We gain valuable experience every day, and are enjoying the job and our wonderful guests. If you are ever in the area again, please give us a call 860-542-5690 and we will make... More 

Norwalk, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2015

Wonderful, relaxing inn. We went with two couples and had a relaxing overnight. The innkeeper was friendly and helpful. He also cooks a delicious breakfast. We had a cocktail in front of the fireplace last night before heading out.

Helpful?
1 Thank Pnap15
Rich and Sheila B, Manager at Manor House, responded to this review

Thank you for thegreat review. We hope you come back soon. We are currently offering winter specials and we always have deals for repeat customers. The fireplaces are both burning now so breakfast is cozy and romantic. Give us a call at 860-542-569o, and follow us on Facebook for last minute specials and local events. More 

69 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norfolk
18.8 km away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#1 of 1 in Salisbury
64 reviews
28.5 km away
Litchfield Inn
Litchfield Inn
#1 of 1 in Litchfield
208 reviews
4.0 km away
Blackberry River Inn
Blackberry River Inn
#2 of 4 in Norfolk
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Rock Hall Luxe Lodging
Rock Hall Luxe Lodging
#1 of 1 in Colebrook
61 reviews
9.4 km away
Locust Tree Bed and Breakfast
21.5 km away
Interlaken Inn
Interlaken Inn
#1 of 1 in Lakeville
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Manor house is an ideal accommodation in Norfolk, CT, offering one of the most romantic getaways in New England. Full of charming ambiance and convenient amenities, The Manor House is complete with beautiful garden views in every room, a delicious hot breakfast served every morning and nine unique rooms to choose from - all with their own baths. Enjoy your next New England vacation as the guests of this wonderful Connecticut bed and breakfast. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Manor House

Address: 69 Maple Ave., Norfolk, CT 06058
Region: United States > Connecticut > Norfolk
Price Range: $231 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Manor House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor House Hotel Norfolk
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Manor House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Winsted, Connecticut
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Manor House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on the second floor with porches were cool and bug free on warm nights.”
 of 5 bubbles ppratt2016, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Stay away from the third floor Chalet Suite”
  • Door to the Suite - door does not close tightly
  • Wires at the top of the bathroom mirror
  • Door to the Suite held closed by a eye hook latch
  • Steep stairs with dirty carpeting
  • Crack in the bedroom wall
 of 5 bubbles MEV61, 6 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Do not rent third floor rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles GWA83, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Pick a room from their website”
 of 5 bubbles WPHS57, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“If you are uncomfortable with your room - and there are other available rooms,ask to look at them.There are surprising charms to each one.”
 of 5 bubbles Roadtraveler03, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay