We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Manor House

Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Manor House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

92 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 90: English reviews
Start your review of Manor House
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed at the Monor House for three nights over Memorial Day weekend. The property reminds us of an old English country house and the common areas are comfortable and inviting. We stayed in the spofford room and found it to be extremely comfortable. The room had a great four poster bed, two great chairs for reading and a working...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dfharri
North Branford, Connecticut
Reviewed 15 January 2017

The review of the "girls weekend" stay in the Chalet Suite prompted me to write a review about my stays at the Manor House. I had stayed in various rooms on the second floor and then one year discovered the Chalet Suite. After staying in the chalet suite once, that became our number one selection each year. Part of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deb D
Coxsackie, New York
Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

My spouse and I arrived about 4:00PM on Friday evening. We were greeted by the most delightful innkeeper, Patti. She made us feel welcome and at home without formalities, like we were family. She showed us where we could find coffee, tea, wine and refreshments. A brief history of the incredibly gorgeous home was given and then she escorted us...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank KThibeault
Waterbury, Connecticut
Reviewed 2 September 2016

Beautifully kept old mansion with great hosts! The gardens were lovely! Sitting on our deck at night, under the stars, away from the rigors of the city was delightful. We hiked to both Kent Falls and Campbell Falls, and the hot tub provided soothing relief for our tired legs. The air conditioning was a little weak, and the room stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank ppratt2016
Andover, Massachusetts
Reviewed 7 August 2016

I was looking forward to spending two nights at this B&B based upon photos and reviews. The property is located on a quiet residential street within walking distance of downtown Norfolk. Upon entering the house, I was immediately impressed with the grandeur of the 1890 home: the architectural details, the numerous fireplaces, the wood paneling, and large open stairway. Unfortunately...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MEV61
Michael and Pat... S, Manager at Manor House, responded to this review

Dear MEV61, I apologize that your expectations were not met during your stay here at the Manor House. I also regret that your concerns were not brought to our attention until just before your departure after a two night stay. If we had known that you were so unhappy after your first night, we would have happily move you to...

CT
Reviewed 2 August 2016

Do NOT rent the third floor chalet room! The guest rooms on the second floor are appointed in a lovely way and the third floor feels like you are in an old attic with some furniture. The list of things wrong with the third floor is so long it is unbelievable. We went for a girls weekend expecting a comfy...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GWA83
Michael and Pat... S, Manager at Manor House, responded to this review

Dear GWA83, We apologize that your experience here at the Manor House was not what you expected. Since two members of your group have written separate reviews about the same stay, Please see our response to your collective concerns above. Thank you, The Innkeepers

Charlestown, Rhode Island
Reviewed 28 July 2016

We received a great welcome at the Manor House. It was a short stay, but really pleasant and comfortable. It is walking distance to a concert at Infinity Hall, which works out great. Breakfast was delicious! I hope we are able to go back some day.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Z7285OJlisat
Groton
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

My traveling companion and I stayed on the top floor of this elegant house - two small rooms with a minuscule bath in between. A giant in room air conditioner roared in one - the other was stiflingly hot. The indoor/outdoor looking carpet was stained, the wallpaper buckling in places, the armoire stuffed with a spare blanket (I think that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susannegt
New York City
Reviewed 18 July 2016

The Manor House disappointed us on two counts: (1) the new innkeepers refused to refund an overpayment of $24 and (2) they reneged on a promise of plain scrambled eggs for breakfast. We'd received a gift certificate for $300 a year and a half ago, but explained to the former managers that we couldn't use it until after knee replacement...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wordtraveler
White Plains, NY
Reviewed 28 June 2016

My wife and I just spent a wonderful anniversary weekend at the Manor House. This grand mansion turned inn offers marvelously appointed rooms, each unique, and a great main floor and grounds. Breakfasts were superb, and little add-ons like coffee, cookies, fruit, wine placed out for guests add to the hospitality. This is a superb spot in a perfectly lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WPHS57

68 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norfolk
18.8 km away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#1 of 1 in Salisbury
76 reviews
28.5 km away
Litchfield Inn
Litchfield Inn
#1 of 1 in Litchfield
223 reviews
4.0 km away
Blackberry River Inn
Blackberry River Inn
#2 of 4 in Norfolk
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Rock Hall Luxe Lodging
Rock Hall Luxe Lodging
#1 of 1 in Colebrook
62 reviews
28.0 km away
The Cornwall Inn
The Cornwall Inn
#1 of 1 in Cornwall
144 reviews
24.4 km away
The Amselhaus
The Amselhaus
#1 of 1 in Cornwall Bridge
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Manor house is an ideal accommodation in Norfolk, CT, offering one of the most romantic getaways in New England. Full of charming ambiance and convenient amenities, The Manor House is complete with beautiful garden views in every room, a delicious hot breakfast served every morning and nine unique rooms to choose from - all with their own baths. Enjoy your next New England vacation as the guests of this wonderful Connecticut bed and breakfast. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Manor House

Address: 69 Maple Ave, Norfolk, CT 06058-1104
Region: United States > Connecticut > Norfolk
Price Range: $202 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Manor House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor House Hotel Norfolk
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Manor House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Winsted, Connecticut
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Manor House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on the second floor with porches were cool and bug free on warm nights.”
ppratt2016, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Stay away from the third floor Chalet Suite”
  • Door to the Suite - door does not close tightly
  • Wires at the top of the bathroom mirror
  • Door to the Suite held closed by a eye hook latch
  • Steep stairs with dirty carpeting
  • Crack in the bedroom wall
MEV61, 6 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Do not rent third floor rooms.”
GWA83, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Pick a room from their website”
WPHS57, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“If you are uncomfortable with your room - and there are other available rooms,ask to look at them.There are surprising charms to each one.”
Roadtraveler03, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Hotels.com
* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.com
getaroom.com
Expedia.com
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates