We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

213 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area
See the most recent reviews
Showing 209: English reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2016

We had a wonderful stay here. The staff was very friendly. The hotel was very close to the highway. The room was very nice, the bathroom updated and clean. We will definitely stay there again, really soon

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen P
Management response:

Dear Karen Thank you for your great review.We greatly appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future. Thank you for choosing IHG. Sincerely Fran Atiq General Manager Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area 100 East River Drive, East Hartford, CT...

Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

Just wanted you to know that bryanna at the front desk was so nice and cheery. She made me feel welcome and i would come back just to see her. Thanks .... Astin .... i dont have 200 more words to say but im happy i went there... it was nice, food amazing, fast room service loved the heated pool....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank astin2164
Management response:

Dear Austin Thank you for your positive comments. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! I hope your next stay and just around the corner. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose “Holiday Inn” for future travel needs. Sincerely Fran Atiq General...

Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

I was very dissatisfied with my visit. If it wasn't for ms Raptis helping us we would have left. The rest of the staff are uneducated and lack communication skills. I won't stay there again the room was dirty upon my check in, the manager no where to be found and just as bryana was leaving to go home she...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anamaria G
Management response:

Dear Anamaria we were delighted to be your chosen hotel during your recent stay. I am happy to hear that Bryanna made it right for you. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose “Holiday Inn”...

Reviewed 8 September 2016

Upon check-in the two young ladies behind the desk greeted me with such warm smiles. When we went upstairs to our room we noticed that it had not been cleaned so we went back downstairs and informed the young ladies.They were quick to apologize and changed our room to a higher floor and then called to make sure that it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank luperod78
Management response:

Dear Lupe I apologize for the inconvenience you had we want to make sure every single guest stay with us experience exceptional service and high level of cleanliness . I cannot apologize enough regarding the issues you had during your stay. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make the Holiday...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 3 September 2016

An old well located hotel converted into a traditional Holiday Inn with 215 non-smoking good size rooms, 2 suites distributed in 8 spacious floors, showing a careful renovation dated from 2013 but well preserved, well serviced and clean. Several large meeting rooms, a small business center and an average restaurant with bar, free parking in a large area outside and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Eupms
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area, responded to this review

Dear Eupms, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. There is no greater satisfaction as a customer service professional than receiving kind words from a valued guest like you. We are delighted to know that you found our facilities to be good and our staff to be pleasant....

Maryland
Reviewed 2 September 2016

Mildew, Mildew, Mildew....Rooms Stunk!!! Something definitely was wet behind the walls or floor. Lighting and Outlets did not work properly. Bathrooms need major upgrade! Exterior and foyer of building is misleading, rooms do NOT match the entry. Very disappointing, not worth the cost I paid...overpriced solely b/c of location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carl M
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area, responded to this review

Dear Carl M, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. Please accept our deepest apology for the unusual smell and condition of the room you received. We also apologize that the design of our property fell short of your expectations. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the...

New York
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Stayed here on a business trip for 2 weeks. This morning I went to my car and to my surprise I found it on bricks because all four tires had been stolen overnight IN THE HOTEL PARKING LOT. My car was parked directly in front of the hotel within eyesight of the hotel lobby. After speaking to the staff and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CF_10591
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area, responded to this review

Dear CF_10591, Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us and...

Somers, Connecticut
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

My company hosts a event every month and every month the Bartender Terry is always smiling and able to handle a million orders being thrown at her. She is an absolute rockstar!!!! I can't believe how well she handles all the demands at once and never break a sweat!! She is one in a million!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachael M
Management response:

Dear Rachael We greatly appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make the Holiday Inn a leader in excellence. Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of...

California
Reviewed 23 August 2016

The Desk Crew are the most warm and sweet and attentive staff I have seen in a very long time. I travel a lot and that is saying something. Briana was so helpful couldn't ask for a better time. more than happy to return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anamariagrey1
Management response:

Dear Guest I am very pleased to hear that our staff made your stay pleasant. I hope your next stay and just around the corner.We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future. Thank you for choosing IHG. Sincerely Fran Atiq General Manager Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area 100 East River Drive, East Hartford, CT 06108 Contact:...

Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

It's alright but it's old like. The beds are comfortable though. The staff there are wonderful people. They are caring and will answer any question you have. They charge $18 a day for parking overnight I think that expensive but that up to you.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PrettyLu
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area, responded to this review

Dear PrettyLu, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and leaving a feedback. I am pleased to note that you liked the comfortable bed and wonderful staff. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Your comments regarding the parking...

57 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Hartford
0.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford/East Hartford
1.2 km away
Hilton Hartford
Hilton Hartford
#2 of 11 in Hartford
1,020 reviews
1.7 km away
Red Roof PLUS+ Hartford Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hartford Marriott Downtown
1.0 km away
Radisson Hotel Hartford
Radisson Hotel Hartford
#5 of 11 in Hartford
384 reviews
1.5 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Easily accessible from Interstates 91 and 84 and located only 12 miles from Bradley International Airport, Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area features 215 tastefully appointed guest rooms and suites. Additionally, there is more than 7,200 square feet of meeting and event spaces. Plus a restaurant and lounge. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area

Address: 100 East River Drive, East Hartford, CT 06108 (Formerly Hartford Plaza Hotel)
Region: United States > Connecticut > East Hartford
Price Range: $131 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area 3.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Hotel East Hartford
Sheraton East Hartford
East Hartford Sheraton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not sure of a good tip,but all rooms are accessible by elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles Bjackman, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“8th floor had upgraded bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles chriswQ9239EY, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Love the pillows!!”
 of 5 bubbles Csheeshka, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I will not stay here again and I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. I will be sending a letter stating this.”
 of 5 bubbles Jadtino, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“don't stay here.”
 of 5 bubbles karlenew2014, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5