We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Salida Inn & Monarch Suites

Show Prices
#2 of 16 Hotels in Salida
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

366 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 363: English reviews
Houston, Missouri
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Decent place. Nice room and well enough maintained. Downtownish and across from the city run hot springs bath facility. Try the steak place down the street for dinner. We stayed around back and it was very quiet. Don't look beyond the guest areas, it needs work. Thanks for the oversize tub and whirlpool to ease my aches. Good room, nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sequoyah101
Fowler
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We were just getting away for the weekend and I had gone online to reserve this room. The desk clerk was very friendly and allowed us to check in a little early. He was very thorough in advising of the amenities they had to offer. The outside of the building is a little older and each room has their own...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna M
SalidaInn, Owner at Salida Inn & Monarch Suites, responded to this review

Anna, Thank you so much for your high 5 rating of our little "old style" road side motel, the Salida Inn and for taking some time to tell others about your experience here. I am glad you liked our recent remodel. With so many higher priced properties here in Salida, I am glad you choose us and we were able...

Reviewed 1 week ago

Sometimes the best vacations are close to home! We decided last minute to take off for Thanksgiving- so I hit TripAdvisor to find a spot relatively close with things to do. WE FOUND IT! I spoke to the owner, Mike, on the phone and he suggested the newly remodeled King Cottage. I am so glad he did! he has taken...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristin C
SalidaInn, Owner at Salida Inn & Monarch Suites, responded to this review

Kristen, Thanx for your high 5 rating of our little motel and for your very thorough expose of the values and benefits of staying with us. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. Melissa really appreciated your comments. My staff get a bonus when guests mention them by name in a review. Thanx again for the time you put...

Canon City, Colorado
Reviewed 1 week ago

A year ago, we kind of felt like we were taking a chance; it paid off very nicely! This year, we knew what to expect--except for all of the time, effort, and investment Mike and Jay have made to make the place just that much better! In our view, they (along with their expanded staff of really nice people) are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol K
SalidaInn, Owner at Salida Inn & Monarch Suites, responded to this review

Carol, Thanx a million for your High rating of our little motel and for taking the time to tell others about your experiences staying with us. I am glad you enjoyed your stay - Again. Have a great day, Mike

Colorado
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

From the outside, this place looks like most others in town. However, extensive work has been done on most of the rooms. We were in 108 and it has recently been upgraded. Room was very clean and cheerful. Beds were comfortable. Room was oversized with plenty of space to move about. They do use dryer sheets so if you are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ybbatcat
SalidaInn, Owner at Salida Inn & Monarch Suites, responded to this review

ybbatcat Thanx for your high rating of our little motel, the Salida Inn and for taking the time to tell others about your experience. Thanx for mentioning the dryer sheets. We started using them only recently because of static on the linens, but after reading your review, we founnd another way to reduce static. As for the low ever head...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I booked a room at Salida Inn and Monarch Suites based on reviews I had read in TripAdvisor. I was not disappointed. The appearance of the hotel was not surprising, as I had been forewarned that it looks like an older hotel. After checking in and going to our room, I was pleased with the offering. The room was large,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dbailey13
SalidaInn, Owner at Salida Inn & Monarch Suites, responded to this review

D Bailey, Thanx for your High 5 Rating of our little motel. I am so glad to read that you were not disappointed. We are trying Keurig coffee makers in a few rooms to see if guests like them better than the normal hotel coffee makers that only seem to produce week coffee. So far the response has been very...

Los Alamos, New Mexico
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Usually travel to Durango for a mountain getaway but decided to check out Salida. Was hoping for a nice place to stay and make it a nice quick trip to check out Salida. Knew nothing about the town and took a chance and called the Salida Inn to inquire about availability. Mike, the owner/manager?, guided me to reserve one of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
SalidaInn, Owner at Salida Inn & Monarch Suites, responded to this review

Patricia, Thanx for your high 5 rating and I am glad you enjoyed your stay in our Deluxe Queen Cottage. I am glad you liked our upgraded mattresses and pillows. Thanx especially for this comment, ONLY thing that would have made it better was a cooked breakfast". Many people do not know that for a hotel to offer a "Cooked"...

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Overall the hotel is very much worth what they charge, but there are a few things to be aware of. Good: the hotel is cheap, the rooms are nicely redone and well appointed, they are VERY VERY clean, they have Keurig machines (sweet!) and the beds are extremely comfortable. Bad: the WiFi is insanely slow and unreliable (think worse than...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cirruspilotdenver
SalidaInn, Owner at Salida Inn & Monarch Suites, responded to this review

cirruspilot, Thanx for your High rating in-spite of YOUR slow connection speed with our internet. I am glad you found your room to be "Very Very clean", but I cringe at the word "cheap". With as you say, "well appointed rooms", the rooms also have upgraded linens, choice of pillows etc and are anything but cheap. They are instead, "Value...

Saint Charles, Missouri
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The owner MIke bought this motel four years ago and has done extensive remodeling to bring it up-to-date and he has done a marvelous job! It is nicely appointed, clean, and comfortable. We even had a nice, comfortable king-sized bed! The room was very, very clean and the staff was attentive and friendly. I would highly recommend this motel when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PaulsTripReviews
SalidaInn, Owner at Salida Inn & Monarch Suites, responded to this review

Paul, Thanx a million for your high 5 rating of our little motel the Salida Inn. I am glad you found our rooms to be very, very, Clean and comfortable, my primary goal when I started the remodel. Thanx for your recommendation to others, maybe we will see you again. Have a great day, Mike

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The bed was the best thing about the room. The heater/air conditioner was so loud it sounded like a jet was taking off!! The breakfast was not pleasant at all the coffee was colored water. I wouldn't recommend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelly C
SalidaInn, Owner at Salida Inn & Monarch Suites, responded to this review

WOW, Kelly, Sorry you were so disappointed with your stay here at Salida Inn. I am a little taken aback by your comment about our breakfast. "Not pleasant at all" ? Our breakfast as well as our coffee gets consistent compliments from other reviewers. I would love to know what you expected from a "Continental Breakfast"?. If you were soooo...

99 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (58)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salida
1.3 km away
Browns Canyon Inn
Browns Canyon Inn
#10 of 16 in Salida
345 reviews
1.1 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 16 in Salida
186 reviews
1.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 km away
Monarch Mountain Lodge
Monarch Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Monarch
65 reviews
2.3 km away
Mountain Motel
Mountain Motel
#5 of 16 in Salida
227 reviews
0.3 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites, named after the quaint, small town of Salida Colorado and the Large beautiful Monarch Mountain. This small family owned motel is right in the heart of Salida. It is ideally located less than 1 mille from the old historic down town area, less than 20 minutes from the majestic Monarch Mountain ski resort, and practically next to the headwaters area of the Arkansas River. Salida is one of the most scenic and attractive recreation areas in the U.S.! An out door enthusiasts paradise. From snow skiing in winter to white water rafting in summer to Mountain Climbing, Hiking, Mountain Biking, four wheeling off the beaten path in any one of the beautiful and majestic fourteeners that surround the town. This friendly little town is in the heart of the beautiful Rocky Mountains. A stay with us is a great start to a lovely vacation! We are proud to be different from other hotels and motels. Ask us about our luxurious Honeymoon Suite and our secluded, quiet backyard cabins some offering fully equipt kitchenettes!. We are committed to providing you the highest level of hospitality at a price you can afford!Come and see why our motto is "Creating New Friends, one guest at a time".Features include a free continental breakfast with more than a dozen heathy breakfast items, free wifi, suites with jacuzzi tubs, heated pool, outdoor hottubs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Salida Inn & Monarch Suites

Address: 7310 W US Highway 50, Salida, CO 81201-9341 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn)
Region: United States > Colorado > Salida
Price Range: $90 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Salida Inn & Monarch Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Salida Inn & Monarch Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Salida
Travel Lodge Salida
Salida Travel Lodge
Salida Travelodge
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Salida
#3 Romantic Hotel in Salida
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Salida Inn & Monarch Suites staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Heidelberg, Germany
4 months ago
Laramie, Wyoming
The Villages, Florida

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Salida Inn & Monarch Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The off-highway wing is quieter”
 of 5 bubbles carolk371, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Cottage was best, but all the rooms are very nice, clean, and comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles patriciasG290AL, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The cottage rooms, while still sharing one common wall, are set back from the highway and very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles CADowney, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Great Views from the second floor”
 of 5 bubbles Y3911IBphilm, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms to the back of the property are away from any road noise.”
 of 5 bubbles 131irenet, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay