We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Great Western Colorado Lodge

PricelineUSD 85*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 85*
USD 85*
USD 85*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Great Western Colorado Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

43 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 42: English reviews
Start your review of Great Western Colorado Lodge
 Click to rate
Colorado, United States
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I was impressed how clean the rooms were here. The front desk staff was very friendly. The bed was super clean and cozy. I will stay here again should I visit again. There is an indoor pool, hot tub and sauna. The facility itself is older. The breakfast is continental but there are tons of places to eat right around...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brittani M
Spring, Texas
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Terrible customer service! Avoid at all costs. We arrived late and no one was there to check in. We had to sleep in the car. No refund given!!They won't even work with Priceline or booking.com to resolve the issue. The general manager Ijana won't speak to us on the phone. The hotel is independently owned and no one will give...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KWK333
Great_Western_Lodge, General Manager at Great Western Colorado Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. Our front desk followed the policy that we had, but you made numerous harassing and profane telephone calls to our establishment. Like you read on the website that you used, our check-in time starts from 3:00 p.m. to 12:00 a.m. This is pretty general policy among most hotels and...

Reviewed 24 December 2016

Price was right. Room was very clean and seemed well cared for. This is an older facility nicely remodelled. Be aware that they used to build these places with much narrower doors and smaller rooms. I'm a big guy but it worked OK. Continental breakfast wasn't anything to write home about. A cup of mediocre coffee and a small banana...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
Frisco, Colorado
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

We got the Deluxe Suite. Not a real suite in there was one room....but it was pretty big with King and Queen bed. Flat screen TV and free Wi-Fi. A bit outdated but not a bad value for $90 if sharing with another person. Could easily sleep couple and three kids. Free breakfast from 7 to 10 AM. We did...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Eric R
Burleson, TX
Reviewed 10 October 2016

When you pay an average price for a room you expect an average room. This ain't it!!! The Good: The room size was a little small for the furnishings. The bed was comfortable. The REST: The toilet tilted at about 15 degrees. So much that while sitting on it, you had to put one hand on the tub to keep...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim J
St. Catharines, Canada
Reviewed 1 October 2016

We're one couple and 2 adults, and got last family room (2 rooms) with 3 beds for $168. It was Sunday, and some places were full, others expensive, and some very dingy. We stopped for one night, the area was beautiful, nice small town surrounded by mountains and located next to small river. The owners were very pleasant and suggested...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maria B
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

Too expensive for an 80's style room. Pool separate from hot tub. "Sauna" was just the steam from the hot tub in its own area. Had a chemical smell that irritated my lungs and had a non stop cough the whole time there. Haven't coughed since I left. Thank goodness it was only a 1 night stay as we passed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
Great_Western_Lodge, Manager at Great Western Colorado Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Jennifer, Thank you for staying with Great Western Colorado Lodge and then taking your time to write us a review. As Salida is a town for tourism, all motels in Salida have high room rates during busy season and on the weekends. However, we are still one of the cheapest motels in Salida. We do have old building, but...

Iowa City, Iowa
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

This motel is clean, but dated. Room is tiny. Walls are paper thin. I can hear the couple in the next room quietly conversing. This is a 1 star place. I expected much more, based on the reviews I read online. Very disappointing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cappy38020
southern plains
Reviewed 10 September 2016

The fabulously comfortable beds more than made up for the somewhat dated look of our motel room. A friend and I stayed 2 nights, and we booked a room with 2 beds. The dividing wall with pocket door between the beds was a pleasant surprise, giving us unexpected privacy. The place could use some updating, and my friend said she...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheila_at_Lucys
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

There rooms were decent size, free continental breakfast, plus they had a heated pool, a sauna and a hot tub. Right next to the indoor hot springs in Salida, CO. Great location easy to locate. Staff made sure there was always towels in the pool area. They also made sure they refreshed breakfast foods.,........,...... They were a little pricey however...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Juelzme

31 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salida hotels
0.4 km away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
0.9 km away
Browns Canyon Inn
Browns Canyon Inn
#10 of 16 in Salida
351 reviews
0.7 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 16 in Salida
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salida
0.7 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salida
0.2 km away
Super 8 Salida
Super 8 Salida
#4 of 16 in Salida
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Great Western Colorado Lodge

Address: 352 W Rainbow Blvd, Salida, CO 81201-2234
Region: United States > Colorado > Salida
Price Range: $93 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Great Western Colorado Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Great Western Colorado Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Western Colorado Hotel Salida
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Great Western Colorado Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Colorado Springs
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Great Western Colorado Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had room 34 on back wall, it was quiet. Window unit is in bathroom though??”
357brittanim, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Find another motel!”
TimJ761, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Appear all the same.”
Ronl854, 29 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Easy accessibility, as all on one floor.”
loisj700, 17 Jun 2016 | Read review
“I had an East side room that was quiet.”
D3495DYjamesw, 30 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
USD 85* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUSD 85
Hotels.comUSD 85
Orbitz.comUSD 85
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates