We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Monarch Mountain Lodge

Booking.comUSD 115*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Monarch Mountain Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

92 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Monarch Mountain Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 90: English reviews
Arlington, Texas
Reviewed 3 August 2016

Thought we would really enjoy Monarch Mountain Lodge based on the website descriptions and pictures. However, I was very disappointed with reality. We rented a suite, but it was really two adjoining rooms; the TVs in both rooms didn't work and most importantly, the air conditioning didn't work so we sweated all night. Definitely would not recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Audrey R
Stephanie D, Guest Relations Manager at Monarch Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Audrey, we are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience. The lodge does not have A/C at all as temperatures stay cool year-round on the mountain, but we do provide fans upon request. Thank you for your review, it helps us grow and improve.

Glenview, Illinois
Reviewed 2 August 2016

We had been traveling for 8 hours. everything in buena vista was booked, everthing in salida was booked. It was about 12:00 midnight and we wondered into the lobby, looking every bit as tired as we were. We explained we had rooms booked at the MML for the next 2 nights but tonight there was no where to go. The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank nursetyk
Stephanie D, Guest Relations Manager at Monarch Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review, we are happy to help and hope you had a wonderful rest of the weekend!

Iowa
Reviewed 29 July 2016

Read that this hotel had closed and recently reopened - We found a work in progress. Pros - Hot tub fine with a view, indoor pool ok - Room was roomy. Cons - must negotiate steep ramp to elevator - staff wifi only in public areas, restaurant open on weekends only, staff a littly surly. No free coffee in am....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BigBigAl
Stephanie D, Guest Relations Manager at Monarch Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us; These reviews help us grow and learn. Right now our restaurant is only open a few hours every day but will be back full-time once ski season starts! We'd like to hear more about your stay if you'd like to reach out to our guest relations team at guestrelations@monarchmountainlodge.com

Garland, Texas
Reviewed 15 July 2016

If you have read reviews of MML that are more than 18 months old....discard that info. What was and what is are considerably different....sorta like a date from Match based on a 10 year old photo! Having said that, what you will find is a fine old mountain lodge in a state of resurrection. This incarnation has only been open...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ratherrandy
Stephanie D, Guest Relations Manager at Monarch Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! We hope to see you back soon!

Henderson
Reviewed 25 June 2016

We were greeted by very friendly staff and a clean room and it had a pillow-top mattress which we requested. The pillows were really soft. If I would have known that we were going to get a room on the highway side, I would have requested one of the other side. Our room was stuffy and didn't have any air...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hildegarded_2000
Stephanie D, Guest Relations Manager at Monarch Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We would like to know more about your stay. Please reach out to our guest relations team at guestrelations@monarchmountainlodge.com.

Indiana
Reviewed 8 June 2016

I am currently traveling the country on my bicycle. A couple weeks ago, I was traveling the rocky mountains and came upon this hotel and the manager lady was helpful in giving me information of the area. I moved on and everything took a wrong turn for me. I got weak, hungry, low on water, light headed, in pain, and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank jdeck979
Stephanie D, Guest Relations Manager at Monarch Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your kind review! We are always happy to help.

Reviewed 31 May 2016 via mobile

Where to begin... A few short months ago we discovered Monarch Mountain Lodge had reopened! Before you know it, Cale and I did a tour with Miranda of the facility and a short time later had booked our wedding with the lodge! Carolyn and her staff went above and beyond for us and we could not have asked for anything...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jackie S
Stephanie D, Guest Relations Manager at Monarch Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review. The Sasser wedding was an honor to be apart of! Come back soon!

Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewed 21 March 2016

My name is Helena and I stayed at this property on February 26th. I had a wonderful time and just wanted to thank everyone that worked there. Everyone from the managers, Carolyn and Miranda to the front desk ( Stella and Logan) and to the food/beverage staff ( Emily, Alex, Stefani and Nick) were the best. They were always friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank anonymouso262TM
Stephanie D, Public Relations Manager at Monarch Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again at the Lodge!

Colwich
Reviewed 18 March 2016

Close to the Monarch Ski area so we didn't have to fight the snow packed roads over 5 minutes to get there. The 11 inches of fresh powder was a nice surprise, which made for excellent skiing conditions for all levels with no waiting in the lift lines, except a short time on Monday. Friendly staff and plenty of hot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brady W
Stephanie D, Public Relations Manager at Monarch Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again at the Lodge!

New York
Reviewed 7 March 2016

This is the place you will want to stay if you want to be first to Monarch Mountain on a powder day. It is less than five minutes down the mountain from the resort. The lodge itself is pretty old school (the rooms have actual keys!), but has pretty much everything you will need. There is a nice indoor pool...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Malcolm_NYC
Don P, Director of Sales at Monarch Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again at the Lodge!

90 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (40)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monarch
24.8 km away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
26.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salida
26.0 km away
Browns Canyon Inn
Browns Canyon Inn
#10 of 16 in Salida
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 km away
Amigo Motor Lodge
Amigo Motor Lodge
#3 of 16 in Salida
76 reviews
23.1 km away
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
24.5 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Monarch Mountain Lodge is in the heart of the Rockies and surrounded by the San Isabel National Forest. Re-opened in Feb. 2015 Under new ownership, the guest rooms have been repainted, re-carpeted, and refurnished for a more modern feel. We've also put brand new tile in our lobby and restaurant, and fresh carpet in common areas. We are just 4 miles from the Monarch Mountain Ski Area, and given our unique location, the possibilities in terms of outdoor activities are virtually endless. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Monarch Mountain Lodge

Address: 22720 W US Highway 50, Monarch, CO 81201-9406
Region: United States > Colorado > Monarch
Price Range: $129 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monarch Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Monarch Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monarch Mountain Hotel Monarch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Monarch Mountain Lodge staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Monarch Mountain Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Great location to ski slopes”
kdrabens, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Bring your own food!”
jldono2, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Best views, close to Monarch Mountain”
afuchsFox, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms with balcony totally worth it (view to the mountain)”
154vin_ciusg, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“First floor are the pet suites and very convenient to the pool, hot tubs and arcade.”
Angiedaweeze, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 115* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUSD 120
TripAdvisorUSD 115
TravelocityUSD 120
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates