We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Cow Palace Inn/ Rodeway Inn

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
The Cow Palace Inn\/ Rodeway Inn
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

120 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 118: English reviews
Start your review of The Cow Palace Inn/ Rodeway Inn
 Click to rate
Fremont, California
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Just the smell at the front desk should send you running. Stayed here 3 days with two friends visiting the area. Awful from start to finish. Rooms are dingy, old and dirty. Had a roll-away that was awful and not replaced when requested. Air conditioning didn't work. Lobby bathroom looked and smelled like a slaughterhouse. Sticky floor and all. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roger B
DAT52, Owner at The Cow Palace Inn/ Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Hi Roger, sorry you had such a bad experience with the smell. The City has a sewer leak by the river that has not been fixed yet and that smell sometime gets into the building through the front door and our other entrance doors. I'm not sure why you were given a room that was on the remodel list but...

Longmont, Colorado
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is pretty disgusting. There was no internet in our room and the tv didn't work either. There were no rules for people being quiet in pool area and people were partying until late at night/early in the morning. The kind of hotel where you'd catch herpes on the toilet. Also it cost 129.00 a night. If your stuck...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ryan H
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at The Cow Palace Inn/ Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Dear Ryan, We are always grateful when a guest takes the opportunity to offer us feedback that we can use to improve our guest experience. We are really disappointed that you did not have a pleasant stay and that rowdy guests in the pool disturbed your rest. We will make it a point to be more diligent in regards to...

Cresco, Iowa
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed in a 2 room suite, so we had a room to ourselves. The room was older but clean and comfortable for our Family of 4. The pool and hot tub weren't very warm, but would probabily stay here again. Price was okay for 2 rooms

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greekgirl1363
DAT52, Owner at The Cow Palace Inn/ Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Hi Greekgirl, thank you for your kind words. We are currently doing a major remodel on the Hotel and all its rooms. Next time you come through, stop by, it should look like a new Hotel inside and out. We are trying to bring this grand ol' Hotel back to what it was in its glory days. Safe Travels. Doug

Lamar, Colorado
Reviewed 29 November 2016

I was a guest at the Cow Palace this past weekend for a wedding. We pre-ordered our meals days before the event to ensure the wedding guest could eat at the same time. We were to be served by 6 pm. My husband and son received their meals first. The burgers were raw and the fries were cold. The rest...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RJR3670
DAT52, Owner at The Cow Palace Inn/ Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

I'm so sorry to hear about this situation. I spoke with the on duty manager and got a little different story. Can you call me direct to speak about this? I don't want this to ever happen at my Hotel. Thank you. Doug

Reviewed 7 November 2016 via mobile

We did not stay at this hotel so I cannot speak for that however we did visit the Branding Iron Saloon. They have amazing 48oz Man Beers for $5!!! Margaritas were also huge and only $6!!! Food quality was average but well priced. Staff was super friendly!! If in the area you have to have a man beer!!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Faith S
DAT52, Owner at The Cow Palace Inn/ Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. We try to make the lounge experience something unique and I'm glad you enjoyed your time here. There are a few ladies here that go for the "man beer" also. We hope you felt like you were home here with us. Come again. Doug

Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

Great rooms, clean, a little outdated but in good condition. Shower heads are raised for tall people. Clementines restaurant in the hotel has great food too. Sports bar next to restaurant plays all the football games and serves the restaurant food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy L
DAT52, Owner at The Cow Palace Inn/ Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Hi Andy, thank you for your kind words. We are trying our hardest to bring The Cow Palace back to its glory days and are getting ready for a second major remodel. Glad you enjoyed the food and lounge. We want to create a quiet and enjoyable atmosphere to go along with the high quality beds. Hope to see you...

Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

I have stayed here multiple times, always satisfied. This time they had a continental breakfast instead of breakfast tickets for the restaurant but room was clean and comfortable bed. Had everything I needed, even let me go back to the room after I checked out to get some things I forgot. Has a comfortable relaxed atmosphere, plenty of sitting areas...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lydia C
DAT52, General Manager at The Cow Palace Inn/ Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words, we sure appreciate your business!! Look forward to seeing you again!! Our future plans are to upgrade to Clarion and that will include a hot breakfast!!

Lamar, Colorado
Reviewed 3 October 2016

7 people dining and only 2 peoples food wasn't either wrong or very cold and it took 1 hour 10 minutes to get served. The waitress never brought anything we asked for and we had to ask for refills on drinks from another waitress. Two other tables left before they were even served because of the wait time and service.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tonia E
DAT52, Owner at The Cow Palace Inn/ Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

I did hear about your issues from my managers and as you did notice, we were serving several large parties, which you were informed of when you were seated. I thought my managers treated you well and resolved your issues, but it seems not so with your review. Please feel free to call me on my personal cell phone so...

Columbia, South Carolina
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

worse places .. Greeted by a lovely girl who was attentive, efficient and helped us quickly ... The carpet throughout the facility is badly stained and in need of replacement .. The room, although spacious, had an odd smell coming from the AC system .. We later decided it was likely sewer gas .. Beds were comfortable, pillows were ok...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SpyderKumo
DAT52, Owner at The Cow Palace Inn/ Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your thoughts. As you know, we are in the middle of a major remodel and I do apologize for the issues you had with us. Give us another try as we are upgrading to a Clarion Inn and Suites, which means all new carpet, bathrooms and furniture. However, we won't be a discount hotel at that point....

Reviewed 29 June 2016

We stayed here because it has historically had the reputation of being the best hotel in Lamar but it just goes to show you can't rely on the past! There was nothing redeeming about our stay. The place is in bad need of a facelift and management is nonexistent and obviously couldn't care less about its image and service. The...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Tammy N
DAT52, Owner at The Cow Palace Inn/ Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

You feel my pain. I knew this Hotel in the past as a diamond, and watched the new owners trash the property. We are working as fast as possible to get it back in shape, and trust me, we'll do that. Call me if you are in the area again, and I'll make sure you are in a remodeled room...

59 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lamar hotels
0.1 km away
Days Inn Lamar
Days Inn Lamar
#1 of 9 in Lamar
278 reviews
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lamar
2.9 km away
Chek Inn
Chek Inn
#3 of 9 in Lamar
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Blue Spruce Motel
Blue Spruce Motel
#6 of 9 in Lamar
83 reviews
1.8 km away
3rd Street Nest Bed & Breakfast
0.3 km away
Super 8 Lamar
Super 8 Lamar
#8 of 9 in Lamar
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Cow Palace Inn has been a landmark hotel of Lamar, Colorado since 1972. It has mounds of tradition, a number of eating establishments; for breakfast, lunch and dinner; as well as all the amenities of your traditional hotel establishment. Recently remodeled, and under new ownership/management, the Cow Palace Inn is well on its’ way of becoming the finest hotel in Lamar. An indoor atrium, lined with skylights, allows natural sunlight to filter into an extra-large, indoor courtyard complete with swimming pool and hot tub. A newly remodeled kitchen and dining area provides guests with exceptional dining and commendable service. Check out the espresso bar and the ice cream shop. We are proud to say that we have the richest ice cream sold in the State Of Colorado. We’re a proud partner of Rodeway Inn and look forward to your stay with us. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Cow Palace Inn/ Rodeway Inn

Address: 1301 N Main St, Lamar, CO 81052-2115 (Formerly Cow Palace Inn)
Region: United States > Colorado > Lamar
Price Range: $107 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Cow Palace Inn/ Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cow Palace Inn/ Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cow Palace Inn/ Rodeway Hotel Lamar
Best Western Lamar
Lamar Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Cow Palace Inn/ Rodeway Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Cow Palace Inn/ Rodeway Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay anywhere else. Period.”
, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“Choose upper floor, outside facing.”
GentilleAlouette, 19 May 2016 | Read review
“check it out very carefully”
CecilRM, 24 Jan 2016 | Read review
“If you are wanting to use the pool, you should probably ask for an inside room.”
FMCAT, 13 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Don't go there”
dorothye158, 15 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
RodewayInn
Orbitz.com
Hotels.com
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates