We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Gateway Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Gateway Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

483 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 465: English reviews
Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here one night (New Years Day). The hotel was full the night before so unfortunately we could not do an early check in however they got us in right on the dot at 4pm. Our room was very clean and perfect! I loved the lodge/cabin feel of the decor. The lounge looked like a lot of fun, however...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CAB_0407
Gatewayinn, General Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and I'm glad we met your expectations. We are looking forward to you staying with us again.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited the Gateway Inn between Christmas and New Year's for a little winter getaway. We brought our 3 and 6 year old to the little winter wonderland that is Grand Lake. We reserved a double bed with balcony room. When we arrived it was snowing with very low visability. In the morning the view was a surprising treat! The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rilee E
Gatewayinn, General Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us. I am sorry it was a wait for your pizza that night, we offer food to go along with the lounge but do not have a full service restaurant at this time. We look forward to your next visit.

Koblenz, Germany
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This place is LOVELY! First time in Colorado and finding this hotel was a wonderful surprise in a BEAUTIFUL place..and I'm a bit of a hotel snob. The people were incredibly friendly and helpful when I had elevation sickness. A great location and a must visit!! Ask for the room with fireplace/balcony with mountain view! We've found our hotel in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M C
Gatewayinn, General Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are so happy that you have found your mountain getaway and look forward to you staying with us again.

Upland, California
Reviewed 10 December 2016

Went to the Gateway Inn in October for a family wedding. The bed was comfortable, room had a beautiful view of the lake and the staff was friendly. I personally didn't take advantage of the continental breakfast, but there was a good variety of foods to choose from. Happy hour was fun, with good prices and freshly made popcorn. Nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jtsoup
Gatewayinn, General Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and will look forward to seeing you again.

Crete, Illinois
Reviewed 11 November 2016

This is a nice clean place in a small little town. We stayed after driving the Rocky Mountain National Park. Room was clean and the staff was more then friendly. Nice view of the lake. Offered a nice breakfast in the morning.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wilbur011
Gatewayinn, General Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this review

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We really do try to make your stay with us one that is homey and comfortable. We hope you can visit us again.

Belfast -Northern Ireland
Reviewed 31 October 2016

We drove out of Rocky Mountain Park and stopped here to stay the night The hotel is easy to get to & is signposted from the road Reception is very small but the person at check in was very friendly and explained everything to us Wifi was free and worked quite well throughout the hotel Our room was on the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank littlemissneve
Gatewayinn, Front Office Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this review

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us; Things do get quiet in town after 10 P:M but I guess that is price of a small town. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the lodge feel of the property. We hope that you can stay with us again in the future.

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 22 October 2016

We stayed here mid October. We found a great deal on Groupon! We arrived a little early for check-in and they offered to change our room, so that we could settle in right away. We had the beautiful king room with a balacony over looking the lake and town with a gorgeous view of the mountains. (I believe the double...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank StefCOLO
Gatewayinn, General Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for you great review we look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 18 October 2016

Hotel looks greats. Lobby and bar are really fun to sit around and have a beer. there is a free popcorn and games you can use in the lobby so that's great. The bed mattress was the worst one we have ever encountered. I don't see how they can leave it as it is... in addition, in one morning there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alon Y
Gatewayinn, General Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we tend to get more positive comments about our mattress. We are currently discussing a possible change in our mattress to a sleep number type for the occasional traveler who prefers a more firm mattress.

Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

Pictures make me think this is a small lodge type setting, however, it's setup like any other hotel out there. That being said, the rooms were nice and big,the old spice for men package was a nice touch in the bathroom. Great happy hour prices.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 3rdbennett
Gatewayinn, General Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Duluth, Minnesota
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

We had the king bed, mountain view fireplace room for two nights. Comfy bed, our area was very quiet and could not hear the lounge. I liked how the locals came by the lounge and played poker and watched the game. Lounge was limited food, would be nice to expand that. Games on all the tables. Breakfast was very good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela S
Gatewayinn, Front Office Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this review

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We really do try to make your stay with us one that is homey and comfortable. We hope you can visit us again.

212 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (199)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (76)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Lake
0.7 km away
Americas Best Value Inn Bighorn Lodge
34.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fraser - Winter Park Area
32.2 km away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.5 km away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#14 of 28 in Estes Park
2,222 reviews
29.5 km away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 28 in Estes Park
702 reviews
1.2 km away
Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Gateway Inn is situated along a national scenic byway, 1 mile from the entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park and the charming unspoiled village of Grand Lake. Our spacious & comfortable rooms are furnished in beautiful hand made log furniture with recently purchased upgraded mattresses and bedding to ensure a great night of rest. Guest rooms are equipped with A/C, refrigerators, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, and flat screen satellite TVs. Our amenities include a lounge with shuffleboard, a full bar, and a total body fitness center including sauna, hot tub, weight room, and massage services. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gateway Inn

Address: 200 West Portal Road, P.O. Box 1169, Grand Lake, CO 80447
Region: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Grand Lake
Price Range: $163 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gateway Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel Grand Lake
Gateway Grand Lake
Gateway Inn Grand Lake, CO
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gateway Inn staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Gateway Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you're there in the winter, get one of the rooms with a fireplace and request a lake view.”
 of 5 bubbles jtsoup, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“King room with a balcony is worth the extra price!”
  • View from balcony! It was a little cloudy, but still so beautiful!
 of 5 bubbles StefCOLO, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get one as far away from the lounge as possible.”
 of 5 bubbles NationalParkHiker, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I liked the lake view room with a balcony”
 of 5 bubbles Roberta1353, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Beds are a bit higher than normal, i"m sure they offer others if needed.”
 of 5 bubbles Kim9414, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay