We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn

Save
Share
400 E 2nd Ave, Durango, CO 81301-5602
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!$25 Gift Card Promotion
Expedia.com
USD 184
View deal
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
USD 177
View deal
Booking.com
Travelocity
eDreams
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (117)
Room & Suite (84)
Dining (12)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 06/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 06/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#13 of 35 hotels in Durango
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Welcome to the Best Western PLUS Rio Grande Inn! Located in Historic Downtown Durango, we are 1.5 blocks from the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad, shopping, galleries, dining and nightlife. Once you arrive, there's no need to drive to enjoy Historic Downtown. The hotel features an indoor pool and hot tub,COMPLIMENTARY HOT BREAKFAST and two (2) COMPLIMENTARY COCKTAILS DAILY. Each room is equipped with all the standard amenities you'd expect as well as refrigerators and microwaves. The property has recently undergone a major refresh and our fantastic staff is here to make your stay as comfortable as possible. We look forward to having you as our guest!
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Hiking
Skiing
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Bar / lounge
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Safe
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:$25 Gift Card Promotion
1,109Reviews3Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 548
  • 313
  • 148
  • 65
  • 35
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
tacobird11 wrote a review 5 Apr
1 contribution
Jarrod Judge, front desk manager was very rude upon check in. We were put in a room which was supposed to be out of service due to huge hole in wall, lights not working ect. We were told prior to arriving our ESA dog would not be charged a fee. Jarrod Judge said that was wrong information and we were charged.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Jarrod Judge, Guest Services / Front Office at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Responded 6 days ago
We are sorry you were unsatisfied with your stay. ESA laws do not apply to hotels, they allow you to fly with you pet for free, and they allow you to rent without being discriminated against. Dogs whose sole function is to provide comfort or emotional support do not qualify as service animals under the ADA. We are a pet friendly hotel and are proud to have you bring your pet to stay with us, but if it is not a Service Animal then your pet must follow the same rules as all the other pets in the building, which includes a $20 nightly pet fee. This was taken right from the certapet.com website, a website that offers consultations for getting Emotional Support Animal Letters. Public Access: Emotional Support Laws Don’t Apply to Hotels Service animals have a right to public access, meaning that most hotels will accommodate them. This does not hold up for therapy animals and, unfortunately, an ESA's legal rights end at flying and renting accommodation. They do not have a legal right to public access. As hotels are public places, a hotel is not legally obligated to allow any types of animals to stay with them.
Read more
thetjm wrote a review Sep 2020
Chandler, Arizona46 contributions56 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
This is a great little property... 8 minute walk to Steamworks Brewery, 11 minutes to the Animus River Trail (and an Albertsons), and about 10 to all the shops and things on Main St. The price was less than most places in the area at the time. Samuel, at the front desk, was over the top helpful. Cool little indoor pool and hot tub. Like other hotels we've been to recently, the free breakfast isn't much of anything right now because of COVID rules.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Jeff H wrote a review Mar 2021
Grand Junction, Colorado9 contributions
We had to check out after one night and cut our trip short. The hotel and room was very dirty. The staff seemed bothered with any requests. The pool area didn’t have any towels. The TV and some room lights didn’t work.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: March 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Jarrod Judge, Guest Services / Front Office at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Responded 2 weeks ago
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
Read more
lalamariet wrote a review Mar 2021
Texas18 contributions5 helpful votes
First off I want to say we love the fact you can just walk to the train station from here that makes it nice. We have stayed at this hotel all four times we have rode the train. It’s always been a little dated but I do think they have done some remodels since we were there in 2016. That being said it still needs to be updated. The main things we had issues with were the toilets not wanting to flush and the water did not drain well in the sink or shower. So when taking a shower you are standing in 4 inches of water. Another thing stating you have a grab and go breakfast at ottos and when we get there it ends up being you go to the front desk and they pull out some muffins and say that all there is. Just tell people you don’t offer breakfast so they can be more prepared. When we decide to come and ride the train again we would still probably stay here just because we love being able to just walk to the down town.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Jarrod Judge, Guest Services / Front Office at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you lalamariet, for your feedback. We understand the frustration with the breakfast, it has been a rollercoaster. We do have plans to have a better breakfast with hot food options in less than 30 days, so hopefully by the time you and your family decide to visit Durango again we will be able to better accommodate you. If there is anything I can do for you the next time you are visiting, please don't hesitate to ask.
Read more
wheinz2021 wrote a review Mar 2021
1 contribution
There are more modern facilities in downtown Durango...and there are historic hotels...but for the price you pay at Best Western you get good value and comfortable beds. Unless you are a hotel snob, this property is in a great location for all your traveling around Durango. Walking to EVERYTHING...is super easy.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: March 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Jarrod Judge, Guest Services / Front Office at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for the review wheinz2021! We always appreciate feedback. We know we aren't currently offering all of our amenities, but in the next 30 days, that should all change, so we hope you consider staying with us again next time you visit Durango, so you can enjoy our hot breakfast, and happy hour drinks!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
USD 85 - USD 220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western plus rio grande hotel durango, best western durango, durango best western
LOCATION
United StatesColoradoDurango
NUMBER OF ROOMS
102
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn?
Nearby attractions include Conundrum Escape Rooms (0.5 km), Scenic Aperture Gallery (0.5 km), and Diamond Belle Saloon (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Michel's Corner Crepes, Ore House, and Ken & Sue's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Durango.
Are any cleaning services offered at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Does Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.