We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

De Vere Wokefield Estate

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
De Vere Wokefield Estate
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,747 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,731: English reviews
Southwold, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

rather strange. A function room booked for 60+ people and rooms also booked for a large number of attendees. Our room whilst "functional" had 3 built in wardrobes and NO (yes NO) coathangers whatsoever - weird. Also the bathroom was honestly not that clean with the surround to the over bath shower screen not up to my wifes standard of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Murray G
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited on a Saturday night with my wife as we're attending a family birthday party being held at this hotel. We arrived at the main building to check in, having parked our car about 150 metres away. On completion of check-in we were told that we were in another building, requiring us to "collect our car, drive away from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark E
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were staying over for a black tie do and disco. The room was very modern clean and had a good shower. The bar area was clean and had loads of seating but bar prices are a bit on the captive market side. Venue for the do was good and food was very well presented and delivered to the whole...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Attended an 80th birthday party. No staff around to welcome or direct to venue. Huge site and the party was in the old building. "Just 2mins" I was told as I stood in the new building with my crutch. By car maybe but not walking. You would think a golf club would have karts to take disabled guests around. Room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Snodi
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked this purely for the golf, we booked two rounds and we did a lot of homework on course etc. We were so disappointed, they had vandals driving car over two of the fairways and one green over a month ago but they closed every green. They never informed us of this at any point The greens were in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 264garry
DWPFeedback, Manager at De Vere Wokefield Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent visit. I am sorry to read that your golfing day was affected by the issues caused on the course. In order to prevent further damage and to give time for the recovery unfortunately we had to close the area around the damaged greens. Our grounds...

Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked Wokefield for the works Christmas party this year for about 180 people. Communication thoughout the booking and organising was very good. On the night the food was good, the choice of which was brilliant. For the size of our party it was brilliant. We had two large areas, one for dining / seating / dancing and one with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KennyMan7
DWPFeedback, Manager at De Vere Wokefield Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at Wokefield Estate. I am delighted to read that your stay was enjoyable and the Christmas party for your company was fun and successful. We hope to see you soon again. Kind Regards.

Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We decided to stay at the hotel and booked 4 weeks before , the booking procedure was very easy with a very nice and a very helpful lady at the end of the phone. I have a mobility prob (Old age and broken tendons in leg) the room that they allocated to us could not have been better (101) and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amtech2016
DWPFeedback, Manager at De Vere Wokefield Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us. I am pleased to read that your room was superb and our reservation team was helpful in accommodating your requirements. I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy the food and please rest assured your comments have been shared with...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Even with a satnav we nearly missed the entrance for the hotel. No lighting whatsoever and even the signage couldn't be seen until we were on top of it. A promising drive up the long drive only resulted in frustration in trying to park with again no signage or lighting to help find the way, very badly planned. With our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Drewreadi
DWPFeedback, Manager at De Vere Wokefield Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent visit. I m sorry to read that your arrival experience was not enjoyable and you found our signage around the property insufficient and not apprehensive. We have just recently changed all signage on the grounds and added some additional ones to assist guests with directions....

Oxford, UK
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent facilities for conferences & the accommodation was spot on. Very new, modern, clean & tidy. Room had 'personality' so had a nice cosy feel about it. The staff were keen, helpful and efficient. The only minor downside was the amount of fire doors between reception & your room - a real hassle when you are puling a case.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravellerTony
DWPFeedback, Manager at De Vere Wokefield Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay at Wokefield Park. I am pleased to read that your stay was enjoyable and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future. Kind Regards.

Budapest, Hungary
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

Where can I even start with this awful hotel? We had a Christmas party which we arrived on time for. Went to the main reception to be greeted by two very unhelpful receptionists. Asked them where the party was and was given no real answer other than 'I think it's in the Mansion House'. When I asked for directions I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ncameron88
DWPFeedback, Front Office Manager at De Vere Wokefield Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us. I was most disappointed to read about the challenges your encountered upon your arrival and I am very sorry about the inconveniences caused. In order to look into this further and I would appreciate if you could contact me directly...

399 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (391)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (68)
Viewed
Room/Suite (107)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (41)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (143)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stratfield Mortimer
1.9 km away
Premier Inn Reading South Hotel
32.8 km away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,321 reviews
5.0 km away
The Mill House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#2 of 32 in Reading
1,628 reviews
5.4 km away
Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading
27.7 km away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
2,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
De Vere Venues Wokefield Park blends the charm of a traditional mansion house hotel in Reading with the amenities of a modern executive centre to offer a fabulous choice of accommodation and superb leisure facilities, including a US PGA-standard 7,000-yard championship golf course, boasting elevated tees and nine lakes for the ultimate golfing challenge. As you would imagine with 250 acres of landscaped grounds, outdoor activities are well catered for at Wokefield. From weddings to business events, our Wokefield Park venue is perfectly equipped to fit your every need. Wokefield Park is a great base to explore Berkshire with its many attractions and places of interest and is easily accessible from the M4 and close to Reading for direct trains from London, making Wokefield Park an obvious choice of hotels in Berkshire. It is with regret that the Wokefield Park Mansion House Spa is closed until further notice. We apologise for any inconvenience caused. ... more   less 

Additional Information about De Vere Wokefield Estate

Address: Goodboys Lane, Stratfield Mortimer RG7 3AE, England (Formerly De Vere Wokefield Park)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Stratfield Mortimer
Price Range: $105 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — De Vere Wokefield Estate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 376
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your De Vere Wokefield Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Venues Wokefield Park Hotel Reading
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from De Vere Wokefield Estate staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from De Vere Wokefield Estate staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“AVOID.....stay anywhere in Reading if you need to overnight locally”
 of 5 bubbles 71murrayg, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Some lovely rooms over course”
 of 5 bubbles 264garry, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“101 is nice but a little small however I would want that room again.”
 of 5 bubbles amtech2016, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 320 was very spacious and overlooked the golf course. ”
 of 5 bubbles 6950Cathy, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Air con would be beneficial.”
 of 5 bubbles 593dominiquem, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay