We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sunset Inn & Suites

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Sunset Inn & Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

18 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 16: English reviews
La Honda, California
Reviewed 25 February 2016

I chose this motel because I had seen a derWeinerschnitzel on the north side of the street so I pulled into the motel on my side (south). The first motel I saw had a sign that said "Studios available." That kind of scared me into thinking it was a long term cheap housing place, so I chose the Sunset next...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vicky B
SunsetInnSacramento, Manager at Sunset Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Sunset Inn and staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and really appreciate your feedback!

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 21 September 2015

had booked a room and when we got onto wet capitol ave we drove to the motel the whole area was rundown pulled into the parking lot seen the motel and drove away phoned cancelled our room that was the first and only time I have ever done that it was not a pretty site pictures on the internet are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dan c
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 22 August 2015

We were looking for a budget hotel and this one met our needs. Unfortunately we were only able to have a smoking room but the room and bed were comfortable and that was all we needed. Furnishings were dated but were quite comfortable. The staff were very helpful and tried to make us feel very welcome. The location, although down...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joanne h
Thousand Oaks, California
Reviewed 26 June 2015 via mobile

Nice Clean Big Rooms, Awesome Hospitality, and Truckers Welcome with Available 18 Wheeler Parking for 1 or 2 trucks, a A Plus in my Book and under $60 Thanks Sunset Inn & Suite for a Great Stay. God Bless.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
central Ohio
Reviewed 31 May 2015

At under $60, this was a good value option in Sacramento. The neighborhood is a little sketchy, but I was never uncomfortable. The room was clean, and generally quiet. Wifi worked well. Fridge/microwave available. Some furnishings were a little old, but they all worked. According to the owner, the breakfast consisted of fruit, coffee, and a danish, but I left...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mapcat
Reviewed 16 December 2014

Decent rooms and good hospitality. Good for a quick night stay or two. Owners are friendly and cooperative! Also very understanding. They really try to make your stay something to remember. I definetaly recommend this motel. The owner truly knows how to run a good business.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adam-Loop
Manteca, California
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Dave and his wife are just the finest of people you'll ever meet. They're friendly, courteous, respectful down to earth people. The place is clean, and quiet, it's not the Hilton, but when it comes down a clean, affordable, comfortable place to stay, this is it. If you're looking for modern, pricey, full service restaurant, bar, pool, this isn't it....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Terry B
SunsetInnSacramento, Manager at Sunset Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Terry, guests like you are always a great pleasure, and we were absolutely delighted to have you stay with us. Please accept our sincere thanks, for giving us the opportunity to serve you. We wish you and your wife the best. Again, thank you.

Sacramento, California
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Charged me to put a phone in my room and 50 cents per call for local. Put dirty towels in my room. Yelled at me for taking 3 breakfast Danishes. Sink in my bathroom was falling off the wall. Electrical shortage in my room was without tv for days. Owner and his wife display terrible customer service. I will never...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dutch34
SunsetInnSacramento, Front Office Manager at Sunset Inn & Suites, responded to this review

We greatly appreciate your feedback #dutch34. Sorry you were given a room in such condition and we didn't meet your expectations. Our #1 priority is to make every effort to ensure your stay is comfortable and enjoyable.

Oakwood, Illinois, United States
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This Hotel is Amazing! The fantasy suites are awesome! I advise getting the Hawiian waters suite Oh my. If you are looking for A fabulous Time go for this it is affordable way worth the money. Im here right now :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Autb
Oakland, California
Reviewed 24 July 2013

This motel deserves 5 stars because it has what you need for a modest price: queen bed, refrigerator, TV, good shower, etc. Plus it's clean. Just like the chain motels except cheaper, and you are dealing with a family operation.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PapaSandy

6 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Sacramento
3.9 km away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express - West Sacramento
Holiday Inn Express - West Sacra...
#2 of 15 in West Sacramento
82 reviews
1.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites West Sacramento
Hampton Inn & Suites West Sacram...
#1 of 15 in West Sacramento
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Extended Stay America - Sacramento - West Sacramento
Extended Stay America - Sacramen...
#6 of 15 in West Sacramento
83 reviews
12.3 km away
Good Nite Inn Sacramento
Good Nite Inn Sacramento
#30 of 81 in Sacramento
413 reviews
3.4 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Room types
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sunset Inn and Suites is conveniently located, minutes from Raley Field Baseball Stadium, Old Sacramento, Sleep Train Arena, Raging Waters - Water Park, Riverboat Rides, Sacramento Zoo, Sacramento Convention Center, State Capitol and Westfield Downtown Shopping Plaza Mall. A variety of restaurants, entertainment options and cocktail lounges are located in the surrounding area. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sunset Inn & Suites

Address: 2641 West Capitol Avenue, West Sacramento, CA 95691
Region: United States > California > West Sacramento
Price Range: $89 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Sunset Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sunset Inn & Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I took the room they gave me and it was just great.”
 of 5 bubbles VickyB803, 24 Feb 2016 | Read review
“if you want to feel safe this is not the place”
 of 5 bubbles 211danc, 21 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a non smoking room if you are a non smoker!”
 of 5 bubbles joanneh116, 21 Aug 2015 | Read review
“I always go with the non-smoking king size kitchenette.”
 of 5 bubbles 894terryb, 29 Apr 2014 | Read review
“Go for the fantasy suites amazing!”
 of 5 bubbles Autb, 23 Sep 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay