We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Donner Lake Village

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Donner Lake Village
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

90 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Donner Lake Village
See the most recent reviews
Showing 89: English reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2016

My wife, son and I had a great stay at the Donner Lake Village. The location was stunning with a beautiful view across the lake directly from our room and balcony. We found Lake Donner more interesting and accessible than the much larger and more commercial Lake Tahoe. The property had a water sports rental facility in the grounds where...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick D
DTGPM, General Manager at Donner Lake Village, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review of Donner Lake Village – we too think it’s a gem tucked away from the bustle of Lake Tahoe. We’re pleased Donner Lake Watersports & Marina met all your watersports rental needs. We hope you had a chance to see Donner at dawn when the lake is glassy (a must-do!). We also appreciate your...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 27 July 2016

Pros: Lakefront property, beautiful location, picnic tables and BBQ available. Community Rooms with fireplaces are available. Very cosy. Cons: 1) The property is old: the walls are paper thin and you can hear EVERYTHING your neighbor is doing. From watching TV to brushing their teeth, etc. we were unlucky to have neighbors that went to bed at midnight and woke...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clarita2012
DTGPM, General Manager at Donner Lake Village, responded to this review

Dear Clarita, Thank you for your Donner Lake Village review. We appreciate your comments about our great location and beauty. We greatly apologize for the noise you experienced. In the future, please contact our Front Desk so that we may correct the noise issue and ultimately make sure you get a more quiet stay. I am sorry you did not...

Muldrow, OK
Reviewed 22 July 2016

No air conditioning, only a box fan. No elevator. No bars (handholds) near the tub. I am sure this place doesn't pass Americans with Disability Act. The maids never vacuumed the room and only once after asking did they clean and refresh the coffee. There is no person on duty after 8 PM and if you call the front desk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kermit W
DTGPM, General Manager at Donner Lake Village, responded to this review

Dear Kermit, Thank you for highlighting our beautiful location. Staying on at a lakefront property is always a treat, and Donner Lake Village’s setting is a great one. I am very sorry your experience was below your expectations. It was certainly below our expectations as well. First of all, I apologize for the miscommunication and misunderstanding regarding fees for your...

Sacramento, California
Reviewed 15 July 2016

Absolutely loved our stay here, was surprised about this little total city getaway with the disconnection you get from the city. lovely setting, the resort being situated on the beach with easy access to the marina. We came with out boat and it was nice to be able to park it in the marina overnight and not having to take...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aliesem
DTGPM, Manager at Donner Lake Village, responded to this review

Hi aliesem, We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Donner Lake Village. It certainly is a peaceful slice of heaven. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you! Dan Tester Manager

Lake Tahoe (California), California
Reviewed 29 April 2016

When we visited they had given us a room where the patio was blocked with yellow tape where the view from the room is just the yellow tape and not the lake. The patio door was jammed. So there was no air circulation and it was horrible horrible experience. If they have any issues with the room, they MUST MUST...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank gs12mat
DTGPM, General Manager at Donner Lake Village, responded to this review

We were sorry to read this review about your Donner Lake experience. And equally sorry we did not know of this at the time of your stay or recently after. I have learned that a heavy load of snow fell onto the deck right before your arrival and possibly compromised the deck safety. This happened at a time that we...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 11 April 2016

Beautifully located on Donner Lake in close distance to Truckee and the northern Lake Tahoe ski resorts, e.g. Tahoe Donner, Northstar, etc. We stayed for 5 nights as 2 adults and 2 children. Good Points: i. Having a mini kitchen in the room with fridge, hot plate, etc. ii. Parking iii. Sauna iv. Excellent view of Lake Donner (right on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank greghare
DTGPM, General Manager at Donner Lake Village, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing about your stay at Donner Lake Village: pointing out all the good you experienced about our lakefront property, and its proximity to local ski resorts. We’re glad you enjoyed such fantastic spring skiing this year! We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced in printing your lift tickets. While we do not have a business center on...

Walnut Creek, California
Reviewed 7 April 2016

Great location for a ski weekend in North Tahoe. Close to Truckee, Squaw and Sugarbowl. Great to have a little kitchen to bring own food! Beautiful view of Donner Lake and easy drive over Donner Pass or I80 if the weather is bad.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny K
Reviewed 19 February 2016

This was our first time here. This is a lakeside hotel on Donner Lake, a few miles from Lake Tahoe. We stayed in the Winter because its less than 15 miles from Squaw Valley and even closer to Sugar Bowl, Northstar etc. The place is up-to-date in decor, has good, easy to access and free internet and the people there...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Pablo G
Castro Valley, California, United States
Reviewed 28 January 2016

We rented one of the Town homes on the Lake. AMAZING view. The place was perfect for a mother and FOUR teenage boys ready for some snowboarding at North Star. I had the upstairs all to myself. Super comfortable bed. The boys had the downstairs and loved it. The kitchen was fully equipped. I have not complaints. However, the only...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Shellie T
Oakland, California
Reviewed 11 January 2016

I feel sorry about giving this a one-star, because all the staff we interacted with were exceptionally nice and helpful. But the facility is literally a dump. Most of the electrical outlets in our room did not work. The overhead light flicked on and off. The bed made us sore. It was shockingly bad. I'm not a grump - I've...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank MoAnderson
beckymoore, Manager at Donner Lake Village, responded to this review

Thank you for your complements about our staff in your review. They work hard to take care of all our guest's needs. We were sorry to read the rest of your comments about your room and wish that you had contacted us during your stay to fix the lighting issues. We are in the process of room and furniture upgrades...

73 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (52)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truckee
11.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee
10.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Truckee-Tahoe Hotel
15.0 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 km away
Northstar Lodge by Welk Resorts
15.2 km away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#1 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,584 reviews
6.5 km away
Inn at Truckee
Inn at Truckee
#10 of 13 in Truckee
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Donner Lake Village is a year-round condominium resort nestled in the pines on the west shore of Donner Lake, one of the Sierra Nevada's most charming and beautiful alpine lakes. Our friendly staff can help you plan your visit, too. Encounter serenity in a one or two-bedroom suite, studio or spacious room complete with microwaves, refrigerators and FREE high speed wireless internet. Easy access to year round activities. In summer enjoy our private beach and marina with boat rentals. In winter hit the slopes at eight nearby world class ski resorts. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Donner Lake Village

Address: 15695 Donner Pass Rd, Truckee, CA 96161-3649
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Price Range: $161 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Donner Lake Village 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Donner Lake Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donner Lake Village Hotel Truckee
Donner Lake Hotel
Donner Lake Resort
Donner Lake Village Resort
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Donner Lake Village staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Donner Lake Village staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure to get a Lake-View room.”
 of 5 bubbles SusanWPetaluma, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The water front rooms are the way to go. Ours was downstairs and we had no issues.”
 of 5 bubbles shollandnapkin, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Lake view rooms are great.”
  • View from room.
 of 5 bubbles T2701DGnickd, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Choose a different place to stay.”
 of 5 bubbles cowboy45Muldrow_OK, 21 Jul 2016 | Read review
“best fireworks, great location, marina onsite, motor sports rental.”
 of 5 bubbles aliesem, 14 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5