We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Granlibakken Tahoe

Save
Share
725 Granlibakken Rd., Tahoe City, CA 96145
Booking.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Snaptravel
Agoda.com
Priceline
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (201)
Room & Suite (346)
Dining (39)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#3 of 7 hotels in Tahoe City
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Granlibakken's Tahoe's 74 acre, secluded valley is your very own cozy, alpine getaway. Perfect year-round for groups, weddings and families to connect in an Old Tahoe ambiance. Onsite activities include a treetop adventure park, historic ski & snowboard hill, groomed sled hill, hiking & biking trails, tennis courts and a year-round heated pool and a spa to relax in after all the fun.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Coffee shop
Hiking
Ski rentals
Books, DVDs, music for children
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Plunge pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Yoga classes
Yoga room
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Kid-friendly buffet
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Ski school
Skiing
Tennis court
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Steam room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun deck
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Cable / satellite TV
Complimentary toiletries
Sofa
Telephone
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Languages Spoken
English
690Reviews8Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 356
  • 176
  • 78
  • 48
  • 32
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Monica Howard wrote a review Feb 2021
Alameda, California5 contributions1 helpful vote
We arrived at 11:05 pm after driving 6 hours through a snow storm. Unbeknownst to us, we had lost a chain and our car was not able to make it up the last hill within the resort to the lobby. We managed to park our car at the bottom of the resort. I tried calling the front desk, but nobody answered because the front desk apparently closes at 11:00 p.m. I got out of our car and started to hike through a foot of snow up up the hill towards the lobby. It was dark, it was dumping snow and I had no idea where I was going. I finally found the lobby and our keys were in an envelope waiting for us. There was a sign on the door that read "in case of emergency call" and provided a number. I tried to call, but could not get through because there is limited cell service at the resort. I hiked back to my car and tried to call again. Someone answered the phone, but claimed I was "breaking up." I told her I would call right back from my husband's phone and BEGGED her to answer because it was an emergency. I immediately called back, but nobody answered. During this process, a guest happened to come out of their room and agreed to help drive (in his 4-wheel drive) my husband and our 2 small children (ages 4 and 7) to our room, which was located at the top of the resort. When we got to the building our room was in, we saw a Granlibakken employee driving a golf cart. I stopped him and explained that we needed help getting our stuff from our car, which was parked at the bottom of the resort, to our room. It was still dumping snow, dark and freezing cold. I told him we were in room 106A and asked him to please come help us. He said "okay," and then promptly drove off never to be seen again! When we finally got to our room, my husband looked at his phone and realized we never ended the call to the emergency line. 38 minutes later and it was still ringing with no answer! The "emergency" line was completely useless. The staff member in the golf cart abandoned us. Had another guest not offered to help, I'm really not sure what we would have done since we could not drive anywhere and hiking to our room in a foot of snow when we didn't know our way around and had a 7 and 4 year old would have been next to impossible. Additionally, during our trip, we went sledding and were completely astounded by the number of people not wearing masks! Two separate groups of people, adults and children, were not wearing masks. I counted 15 people in total. We complained to the staff at the ski hill twice. The staff approached the guests and, I assume, asked them to out masks on, but not all of the guests complied. Yet, the guests were permitted to continue using the sledding facilities, thereby putting the rest of the guests at risk. This was incredibly disappointing given the current state of the pandemic. Unfortunately, these two events left a very bad taste in my mouth. For the price we paid for our room, I would have expected at least a basic level of service (e.g., someone to be available in case of an emergency) and for Covid-protocols to be strictly enforced. There is only one restaurant on-site and it is only open from 5:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m. There is a food truck with extremely limited breakfast and lunch options and is completely ill-equipped to handle the number of guests staying at the resort and visiting the ski/sledding hill.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Granlibakken Lake Tahoe, General Manager at Granlibakken Tahoe
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for the review. We apologize that you did not have an enjoyable time with us and understand traveling in the snow can be difficult, especially with young children. We strive to make sure all of our guests feel safe and are looking into the issues you mentioned. Once again, we do apologize to you and your family for any inconvenience you encountered.
Read more
SupSoCal wrote a review Aug 2020
San Clemente, California54 contributions13 helpful votes
We stayed here for 4 nights. Here’s our feedback: Pros: Price was competitive (value compared to other options) Good size room - very spacious (stayed in a one bedroom suite) Good amenities on site Great access to trails & treetops course Pretty views from our balcony Cons: Needs updating. Very tired & old rooms. Looks like the appliances, faucets, etc are from 1970. Missing oven door knob, a couple small holes in our sheets. Cleaning was ok. Something sticky was on our kitchen floor. Needs more dishes & silverware (we had a service for 6 so we’d have to hand wash or run the dishwasher after every meal for our family of 4. Overall I would recommend it & stay there again. The value, views & location made up for the small ‘issues’ in the room.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Granlibakken Lake Tahoe, General Manager at Granlibakken Tahoe
Responded 9 Oct 2020
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Most of our units are individually owned so there are some differences between rooms. Please call us and let us know what unit you stayed in so we can fix any issues. Thank you again and we hope to see you sometime soon!
Read more
Brown Eyed Flower Child wrote a review Aug 2020
Mahwah, New Jersey167 contributions36 helpful votes
Staying at Granlibakken during my time in Tahoe was so much fun. I loved how spacious the rooms were and how it provided you with the best mountain experience. My friends and I truly enjoyed the happy hour after a day of hiking and it is located to great trails, restaurants and shops along the lake. Overall, Granlibakken Tahoe is perfect for families, couples and even solo travelers. I also have to add that everything was clean!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Granlibakken Lake Tahoe, General Manager at Granlibakken Tahoe
Responded 9 Oct 2020
Thank you for your review! We so enjoyed having you stay with us and truly hope to have you back soon!
Read more
vstopaz74 wrote a review Jul 2020
Roseville, California63 contributions44 helpful votes
+1
This was an absolutely horrible experience for us from the moment we arrived. We arrive at 3:00, told that our room is not ready, check-in is at 4:00. OK, no problem. They take my cell number to text us when the room is ready. The text never came. So at 4:15, I go back to the front desk. Our room was ready, they just didn't let us know. OK, so not the end of the world. Then we get to our room. We walk in, and it was quite stuffy. Low and behold, there is NO Air Conditioning! I think that Air Conditioning is expected, and not having it should have been something I agreed to in advance. We were provided with a plug in fan. The carpet in the room was absolutely filthy. The service was also bad. We go to the patio area for breakfast. I ask where we can get breakfast service and this girl at their ordering/beverage cart tells me that breakfast is only available on the patio. No problem. We go and sit on the patio. After 20 minutes of waiting for someone to come out and take our order, I finally ask a server behind me. She tells me that we have to order at the same cart where the girl told me to sit on the patio. She never said "Order here and have a seat, someone will bring it to you." Well, I go back to the cart and the same girl tells me that the kitchen is now closed. Thanks, no breakfast, and there is no place close by to get anything to eat. That afternoon, we went back to the patio for lunch, BUT the grill doesn't open until 3:00. No food again. Every employee we ran in to seemed totally disengaged. We paid a lot of money for a filthy room with no air conditioning and I feel totally ripped off. And their website says "Clean and Safe Certified". I uploaded pictures of my room. You can be the judge of Clean and Safe...
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Mae E wrote a review Jul 2020
San Francisco, California17 contributions30 helpful votes
The room looked absolutely nothing like the pictures on all the sites we researched. I would even say that they are using a different hotel's pictures. The staff is also kinda off for a resort staff. We checked in at around 8 pm or so. The front desk clerk gave me the keys, wi-fi passcode, and circled where my room was on a map. I don't even think he said 2 words to me. Once we got to the room, the keys wouldn't work and we had to wait for someone to come help us. The room was clean, but I just couldn't get over how different it looked than what was advertised. 99% of the time, any hotel's rooms don't look as good as what you see on websites, but I've never seen something so completely off. Type in "Granlibakken Studio Room" and you'll get cabin-like rooms. What we had was more similar to a college dorm in need of repair. Lastly, our neighbor at the Granlibakken was apparently quite bothered by any noise. At around 8 pm or so on a Saturday night, he knocked and asked us to turn down the TV, which wasn't even on. My guess is that he was hearing his upstairs neighbor's TV and he probably went up and asked them to turn it down. I don't think it went over too well. We eventually heard stomping, someone purposely setting their car horn off at all hours of the night, and people speaking very loud. I'm pretty sure it was in response to the neighbor asking people to be quiet so early on a Saturday night. Moral of that part of the story: I don't recommend this place, but if you are still considering it and can't stand noise, definitely don't stay here. Stay somewhere else in North Tahoe.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
USD 160 - USD 324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
granlibakken hotel tahoe city, granlibakken resort tahoe city
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaLake Tahoe (California)Tahoe City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
160
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Granlibakken Tahoe
Which popular attractions are close to Granlibakken Tahoe?
Nearby attractions include Eagle Falls Trail (3.3 km), Hellman-Ehrman Mansion (3.3 km), and Alpine Meadows (7.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Granlibakken Tahoe?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Granlibakken Tahoe?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Granlibakken Tahoe?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Granlibakken Tahoe?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Granlibakken Tahoe?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fire Sign Cafe, Six Peaks Grille, and Christy Hill Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Granlibakken Tahoe?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Does Granlibakken Tahoe have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Granlibakken Tahoe offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Granlibakken Tahoe?
Yes, self serve laundry and a washing machine are offered to guests.
Does Granlibakken Tahoe offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Granlibakken Tahoe?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Hellman-Ehrman Mansion (3.3 km).