We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville

Hotels.comUSD 110*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 110*
USD 110*
USD 110*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

184 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville
See the most recent reviews
Showing 180: English reviews
Buffalo, New York
Reviewed 2 July 2015

Usually, when I book on a website, there is a variety of rates to choose from. Not on this website. There is only one, and it doesn't look bad for what you get (clean room, nice people, breakfast, wifi)---$92 for a single queen with fridge, microwave, coffeemaker. But then it turns out that the AAA rate is lower, and the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sockmunky
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville, responded to this review

Greetings, sockmunky. Sorry for the rate confusion with booking through our website. We usually have purview to adjust rates before a guest checks in; however, once checked in, we can not adjust the rate. In the future, please let us know in advance if you qualify for discount programs not shown on the booking section of our website. We are...

Reviewed 27 June 2015 via mobile

Wanting a clean,inexpensive,comfortable stay on our way back home from Monument Valley Utah. We achieved this at High Country Inn. Plus we had a wonderful breakfast that included: waffles,eggs,hot and cold cereals,toast,yogurt,pastries,coffee and juice. Did our best to try it all :-). Staff was wonderful,even though we arrived after midnight and slept in our hostess at breakfast let us enjoy...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lindasveggies
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville, responded to this review

Howdy, lindasveggies! Thanks for letting your recent visit to the High Country Inn be the one to prompt you to writing your first TripAdvisor review. We rely on guests to share their experiences with us so others will know we're worth the stop. Nothing says "Job well done" better than someone who has experienced us first-hand. Your profile didn't mention...

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 June 2015

We were overnighting at Susanville on our way up to Oregon from Yosemite (as we were on holiday, we were avoiding the interstates as much as possible). I certainly wouldn't pick the town as a holiday destination!... but the High Country Inn is a good no-nonsense motel that does the job! The room was a good size with a comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank aspdav2015
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville, responded to this review

Greetings, aspdav2015. Thank you for visiting us during your holiday in the States. We appreciate our visitors from the UK as well as you taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor. Sounds as though we were just a stopping off point on a very long journey; however, we'd love to have you back to explore our...

Minden, Nevada
Reviewed 11 June 2015

There are plenty of options in susanville that are less expensive but not as nice. We decided to stop over here and all the standard rooms were taken. We were offered a jacuzzi suite so we took it. The suite had two very large rooms with a king sized bed. The jacuzzi was really just a tub with jets in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ray R
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville, responded to this review

Greetings, Ray. Thanks for the great send-up to TripAdvisor! You being a seasoned traveler certainly frames your review from a very qualified stance. We are pleased to have passed muster under your watch. We hope to see you again when you travel to Susanville from Minden, Nevada. Until we do, safe travels be yours always.

Reviewed 10 June 2015

Beautiful Inn...Lovely Room for the price...Cute and Quaint BUT... VERY NOISY. A few notes before the review: 1. Dont stay next to the Vending Machine or you will be woken all night to the folks who have to EAT Junk Food at 3am....munchies? Crack Heads? I dont know who needs sugar all night but you will find those folks at...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank menozz
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville, responded to this review

Hi, Menozz. Just read your review and, goodness, we sure do apologize that our up-down communication policies, from staff to management, seemed to stall over the course of your stay. First, let me assure you, we don't have, nor tolerate, any type of drug usage on our property; henceforth, you never need to equate another guest's late-night eating habits to...

California
Reviewed 10 June 2015

Good place to stay in Susanville. Doors to each room are inside versus the motels in the area with outside facing doors. Key cards to enter the hallways which made it feel safer. Large clean rooms. Free WiFi. Regular toiletries in the bathroom. I wasn't a fan of the shower head but it got the job done. Bed was comfortable....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank flyawayCA
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville, responded to this review

Hi, flyawayCA! We appreciate your TripAdvisor review today. It means a lot to us when guests take the time to share their experience with others. After all, it is not important what we think of ourselves; rather, it is what our guests think about us that matters most. You've amassed quite a TripAdvisor travel resume and we are glad to...

Oklahoma City, OK
Reviewed 4 June 2015 via mobile

This is a nice motel, clean and quiet, despite being an older establishment. I stayed for 3 days and was comfortable. However, I felt that accessibility for mobility impaired patrons had not been adapted very well to today's standards. Handicap parking is sparse considering the number of rooms and handicap ramps are not available at all entrances. I found a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gotmyque
cybercme, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville, responded to this review

Hi, gotmyque. Thank you for staying with us and for giving us a review on TripAdvisor. Most folks don't notice all the considerations we made for our guests that need special access. In addition to having 4 ADA rooms (3 - King Beds & 1 - Double Queen Bed) we have a total of six ADA parking spaces; each located...

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 21 May 2015

Impromptu stay in Susanville @ High Country Inn was one of our best decisions ever! Wonderful, clean, spacious place; staff friendly; nice enough hot breakfast. Would beat several "chain" hotels where we have stayed. Our room (comfortable 2Q) was large enough for both of our bicycles to fit without our having to climb anywhere near them to get around the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SBG32112
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville, responded to this review

Dear, SBG32112, What a great review! We appreciate you sharing your experience with the rest of the TripAdvisor world. You can probably tell we take very comment to heart and make every effort to replicate your experience with each guest. We'll look forward to having you back again when you travel our way. Not sure if you knew about the...

Florence, Oregon
Reviewed 25 April 2015

I always stay here when returning for reunions which is quite often. Bill and his staff are wonderful and very thoughtful. I always ask for a room upstairs in the back and this time I had a room that overlooked a small creek. I enjoyed a peaceful and comfortable stay. If you stay, you can easily see why they are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Misseastcoast
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville, responded to this review

Hi, Misseastcoast! Your review was wonderfully received and much appreciated! Morgan is our team member you referenced, and we passed along your kudos. We are committed to duplicating your experience and thank you for letting us know we exceeded your expectations on all accounts. We look forward to your return and wish you safe travels until we do! :-)

Reviewed 15 April 2015

The High Country Inn is conveniently located on the south end of town, across the street from KFC, McDonalds, and Safeway. Prices are a little higher than some of the other motels in the area but inexpensive compared to motels of equal quality in larger towns. Our room was very clean and the bed comfortable. Good complimentary breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Don M
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville, responded to this review

Hi, Don. We appreciate your honest review of the High Country Inn. Guest comfort and convenience are our nunber one priority and we are glad that your stay with us lived up to that commitment. We look for your return when you come back to Susanville. Until then, peace be yours as you travel.

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Susanville hotels
3.4 km away
Diamond Mountain Casino and Hotel
0.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Trailside Inn
BEST WESTERN Trailside Inn
#4 of 8 in Susanville
399 reviews
1.7 km away
River Inn
River Inn
#6 of 8 in Susanville
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Super 8 Susanville
Super 8 Susanville
#2 of 8 in Susanville
404 reviews
2.9 km away
Roseberry House Bed & Breakfast
1.9 km away
Diamond View Motel
Diamond View Motel
#8 of 8 in Susanville
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville

Address: 3015 Riverside Dr, Susanville, CA 96130 (Formerly High Country Inn)
Region: United States > California > Susanville
Price Range: $126 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Country Hotel Susanville
Country Inn Susanville
Susanville Country Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
ORBlue_Bear
over a year ago
over a year ago
Livermore, California
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Street side has views of the mountains.”
yvonnep522, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“no elevator”
patriciar582, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Do not take 118 or probably the ones adjacent either.”
M0bileW0man, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room 234 was quiet and not facing main street”
glutenfreeutahn, 28 Jul 2016 | Read review
“we chose a 2nd floor rear facing room which was very quiet”
JTR22, 29 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
USD 110* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 110
PricelineUSD 110
TripAdvisorUSD 110
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates