We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen

Expedia.comUSD 231*
View Deal
#8 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

289 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 285: English reviews
Start your review of El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
 Click to rate
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Right on the corner of the Square, provides a great spot for shopping and walking. However, it is a Historic Hotel, in need of upgrades. For $500 per night, I wouldn't expect the doorknob to come off in my hand, or gouges out of the closet door that look like someone took an ax to it. The rooms are tiny,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue L
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed here as 2 couples attending a school friends wedding in Sonoma. The location is brilliant and right on the town square. Checkin was immediate and we were given adjacent rooms next to the pool (which is unfortunately not heated). The rooms were small but very comfortable with all necessary amenities. The only drawback if any was that the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arjun T
Brian M, Guest Relations Manager at El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen, responded to this review

Mr. or Mrs. Arjun T, Thank you very much for the review. We are pleased to hear your arrival process went smoothly. We do turn the pool solar panels off in the off-season, however the pool is heated as of May 1st throughout the summer months. We invite you to join us again - our weeknight rate is lower as...

Roseville, California
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What a beautiful retreat. Lovely fresh rooms with a Zen spa vibe and private patios. Complimentary Wifi and Bluetooth audio. On the square, walk everywhere. Dine onsite in a fabulous locally sustained, seasonal restaurant. Great signature drinks and best of the best wine menu. Dine inside or poolside on a fig tree lined patio.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ritaanddan
Brian M, Guest Relations Manager at El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen, responded to this review

Mr. or Mrs. Ritaanddan, We appreciate the review - glad you were able to enjoy the restaurant as well as the sites and sounds the Sonoma plaza has in store for our guests! Our best, The El Dorado Team

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 week ago

Room was nicely renovated and comfortable with a lovely balcony for sipping wine and people watching on the square. Property is undergoing additional renovations so the pool was closed which was a huge disappointment.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amygia
Brian M, Guest Relations Manager at El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen, responded to this review

Ms. amygia, Thank you so much for the review - our pool did have limited access last week due to some renovations we are conducting at the staircase nearby. We apologize that it was not as serene as normal, yet we hope that did not hinder you from a return trip for more people watching in the future! Our best,...

Cornelius, North Carolina
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was the first time we stayed in Sonoma County, and El Dorado Hotel was recommended because it was in the center of town. While the restaurant and cafe was excellent, the rooms are quite small for the high price we paid. We stayed there the first weekend in April. The room we stayed faced the square and therefore noisy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Boun S
Brian M, Guest Relations Manager at El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen, responded to this review

Mr. or Mrs. Boun S, We appreciate your feedback. Our guestroom rates do increase on weekends, as well as in the spring time. Our location on the plaza is second to none, however that can still pose a couple challenges when it comes to noise levels on the city plaza. We do suggest booking a courtyard facing bedroom to eliminate...

San Francisco, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had one of the pool rooms, which was great. It was quiet, off the street, and while the room was small, it was clean and comfortable. There are only a couple options right on the Sonoma Plaza, which is a great location as its walking distance to tons of great restaurants, shops and tasting rooms. There is no parking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jake L
Brian M, Guest Relations Manager at El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen, responded to this review

Mr. Jake L, Thank you kindly for taking the time to leave a note - we look forward to welcoming you two back soon to see the new pool area renovations! Our best, The El Dorado Team

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very nice rooms/bathrooms (better than pictures online), no elevator so be prepared to lug your stuff upstairs (staff helps- sometimes). Great restaurant with very good wine, Also across the street from girl and the fig!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Freya D
Brian M, Guest Relations Manager at El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen, responded to this review

Mr. or Mrs. Freya D, Thank you kindly for the note - we appreciate the feedback and hope you find time in the future to visit again! Our best, The El Dorado Team

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel has two things going for it: the location and the food. Everything else is mediocre. We had to ask for replacement key cards THREE TIMES because the technology seemingly doesn't work. We also returned to our ground floor room with a small patio in front of it to find that the shoddily-assembled gate handle and lock had been...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Logan D
Brian M, Guest Relations Manager at El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen, responded to this review

Mr. Logan D, Thank you so much for the feedback - we are pleased to hear our restaurant and amazing location worked out for your visit to Sonoma. We sincerely apologize for the guestroom door annoyances. There is a small green button in all rooms, when pressed, acts as a 'Do Not Disturb' function and only master keys can compromise...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Nice Hotel in the centre of it all. However the hotel needs to look next door and see how many guest who are staying at the hotel are having breakfast next door at the cafe or in the local bakery, Breakfast service is appallingly , slow and over priced. Waiting 20 mins to even obtain a menu, and a further...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Directbookings
Brian M, Guest Relations Manager at El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen, responded to this review

Mr. or Mrs. Directbookings, We appreciate your feedback and have made the restaurant team aware of your thoughts. You are absolutely correct - waiting over 20 minutes for a menu is absurd. We have made the necessary arrangements regarding the dining structure for larger groups at the hotel. We hope to still welcome you back in the near future. Our...

Santa Clara, California
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed lunch at EDK, all the dishes were presented well, including a mound of truffle fries with grated cheese on top. The soup of the day was a creamy garlic but not sure why it was green. The tuna tartare could've used a little bit more flavor. The burger was juicy and cooked just right. We liked how they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JeepneyGirl
Brian M, Guest Relations Manager at El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen, responded to this review

Ms. JeepneyGirl, Thank you kindly for the restaurant review. Our amazing kitchen staff have been informed to be mindful of the bones when breading our fish of the day. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Our best, The El Dorado Team

93 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (66)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sonoma hotels
1.1 km away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
1.4 km away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
621 reviews
0.3 km away
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
0.3 km away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#5 of 11 in Sonoma
195 reviews
0.1 km away
Sonoma Hotel
Sonoma Hotel
#10 of 11 in Sonoma
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set on the historic downtown Sonoma Plaza, 45 minutes north of San Francisco, our boutique hotel reflects the simple charm of the wine country as well as the urban sophistication of our guests.From world class dining at our El Dorado Kitchen, to relaxing poolside, to enjoying the area’s many local activities the El Dorado Hotel is a one of a kind destination. ... more   less 

Additional Information about El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen

Address: 405 1st St W, Sonoma, CA 95476-6608
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Price Range: $331 - $699 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Hotel And Kitchen
El Dorado Hotel Kitchen
El Dorado Sonoma
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms facing the courtyard”
bouns601, 7 May 2017 | Read review
“Don't get a room on the street.”
123DFW, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room overlooking the pool for quietness.”
Michele507, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get a room at the front as you will overlook the square park.”
MarkF945, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Plaza side is good,little noise during pool hours--otherwise no problem.”
sherryh685, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
USD 231* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 231
Hotels.comUSD 231
TravelocityUSD 231
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates