We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

232 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside
See the most recent reviews
Showing 222: English reviews
Coastal South Carolina, South Carolina
Reviewed 18 February 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maryhH6603WZ
hojoSeaside, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside, responded to this review

Lemoore, California
Reviewed 17 February 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SMRiggs1202
hojoSeaside, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside, responded to this review

Los Osos, California
Reviewed 17 February 2016

We found 3 live cockroaches on the wall. The bedspreads were stained. The walls were stained. The "fresh" towels were stained. There was McDonald's used ketchup packets beside the bed... we didn't eat McDonald's. Our room was non-smoking but clearly it was a smoking room at some point. The walls were paper thin. At 2 am, our neighbors got in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnnieBannan
hojoSeaside, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside, responded to this review

Dear Annie, we aim to provide safe clean and comfortable stay for our guests. I am deeply disappointed to hear about your experience. Our staff is always at your service, and they are always there to help. We wish you had brought this to our attention during your stay, we would have loved to give you another room to ensure...

Carmichael, California
Reviewed 4 January 2016

The room was clean and had everything necessary for a nice stay. My only complaint is that the walls are thin so we could hear the people in the next room talking, coughing, and could hear their fussy their fussy baby. The people at the front desk were very nice and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank somegirlbd
hojoSeaside, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside, responded to this review

So glad you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. Also very happy to hear that you enjoyed your rooms and amenities. We look forward to make your next stay even better. Thank you and Happy new year!

San Diego, California
Reviewed 4 January 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 197arturog
hojoSeaside, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside, responded to this review

Fresno, California
Reviewed 30 December 2015

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 178duanet
hojoSeaside, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside, responded to this review

Visalia, California
Reviewed 29 December 2015

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Goblirsch54
hojoSeaside, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside, responded to this review

San Diego, California
Reviewed 6 December 2015

 Report
Helpful?
Thank S1207JQm
hojoSeaside, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside, responded to this review

Vacaville, California
Reviewed 1 December 2015

 Report
Helpful?
Thank T3663VJrichardk
hojoSeaside, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside, responded to this review

San Francisco, United States
Reviewed 11 November 2015

No early check-in nor late check-out. Room is dirty, floor is not vacuumed. Not very friendly staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Antonette P
hojoSeaside, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside, responded to this review

HI Antonette, we want all our guests to have a wonderful and pleasant stay with us, if they do not then we're disappointed as well. So sorry you felt this way about your stay. We wish you had brought this to our attention during your stay, so we could have tried to switch your rooms to ensure you had a...

47 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaside
1.6 km away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
2.9 km away
Sand Castle Inn
Sand Castle Inn
#2 of 13 in Seaside
222 reviews
1.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express @ Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Econo Lodge Bay Breeze
Econo Lodge Bay Breeze
#6 of 13 in Seaside
94 reviews
1.7 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside
8.7 km away
Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside

Address: 1893 Fremont Blvd, Seaside, CA 93955-3610
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Seaside
Price Range: $64 - $624 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Seaside Hotel Seaside
Howard Johnson Seaside
Seaside Howard Johnson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Santa Rosa, California
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Bring earplugs and look down as you walk.”
 of 5 bubbles 499garye, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We were in the back - did not hear a lot of noise, except when we first arrived - there was a couple arguing up on the second floor.”
 of 5 bubbles RMPCW, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The noise from upstairs was kinda loud, you may want a downstairs room if this bothers you.”
 of 5 bubbles busymom3too, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Go to another motel!”
 of 5 bubbles Nonno2000, 21 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Do not take an end room next to the highway.”
 of 5 bubbles 870bernarda, 30 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay