We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica

Booking.comUSD 134*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 134*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Hostelling International - Los Angeles\/Santa Monica
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

626 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 408: English reviews
Start your review of Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica
 Click to rate
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

HI is a good option for who wants to be in the best part of LA, but doesn't want to spend a lot. Rooms are clean and roomy, with real lockers and a small table. Location is great, very close to the beach. The staff is very helpful and there's good breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gabi F
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Compared to other hostels I have stayed in, this felt like luxury. Very modern design with everything you need. The location and price is not going to be beaten in LA. Annoyed my time here was very limited.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank k g
mainplace, Guest Relations Manager at Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your great review! We appreciate your feedback and we too are sad you could not stay with us longer! There's always next time though! :) We look forward to seeing you on your future travels and we hope you have an amazing rest of your trip! Safe travels friend, you are always welcome here!

Moscow, Russia
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed 2 nights in a female 10-person dormitory, after a 2-week bicycle-camping trip and before flying home from LAX. The impression from the hostel was overall good. Nice location in a quiet street near Santa-Monica pier. The price is high. It is one of the cheapest options in the city, but still I don't think most people expect to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank helgie8888
mainplace, Guest Relations Manager at Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your detailed review! We really appreciate you taking the time to leave us such great feedback! Your bicycle-camping trip sounds awesome! We're glad you were able to get a couple decent nights of rest with us. We are sorry you feel that way about our prices. We do work very hard to keep them as...

Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great location close to the metro, seafront and shops. The dorm was comfortable and had decent sized lockers. Less impressed with the bathrooms but I understand they are being refurbished. The kitchen was good size with plenty of utensils (though missing a tin opener when I was there - I improvised). Great breakfast of toast and cereal. Not a cheap...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 483clarebear
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in the latter part of April, initial impressions were okay but that soon changed. I was in a 'premium' dorm which consisted of 4 of the flimsiest bunk beds known to man. The room smelt terribly thanks to the terrible air flow throughout the building. The shared bathrooms were an absolute joke, no temperature control on any of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alancummings123
mainplace, Guest Relations Manager at Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you for your feedback. I am so sorry that you had such a horrible stay with us, that is certainly not at all the norm. I am a bit confused about a couple details, however, especially as I cannot seem to find any reservation under the name provided. None of our premium male dormitories have 4 beds,...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I wouldn't stay anywhere else! I've been coming here since 2001 so I know a lot of the front desk and service staff. The location is key for me. The city is clean and safe to walk around in at night. The Wednesday Farmers Market is a great tourist attraction. The proximity to the ocean keeps the air fresh and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ILUVLA63
mainplace, Guest Relations Manager at Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review! We have loved having you stay with us over the years, and we are glad to be able to provide you with consistently good hostel experiences! We hope to continue the tradition for many years to come. :) See you next time!

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

It was fine. Centrally located upgraded my room and met some lovely people. Would highly recommend. As a solo traveller I felt safe beds were clean had safety cupboard in room. Get a room for 4 if you like a bit of space and a bit quieter than 6

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brenda T
mainplace, Guest Relations Manager at Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your feedback Brenda! We are so glad you had a comfortable stay and met some awesome people! We think that's the best part about hostelling: the hostellers! We love meeting people from all around the world and we are so glad we got to share that experience with you. We hope you have a great rest...

London
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

8 months prior to my trip I booked a double room with TV as the photos of the private rooms looked great. We arrive at half 9 on day or arrival, request to leave luggage in luggage room. Staff are slow and rude but I didn't think much of this to beginning with. They said come back around 2/3pm to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Holly B
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 20 April 2017

This was a great location, very close to the beach. The staff were very helpful. I just stayed here as I was on a layover from LA airport, so I had a full day to wander around and explore. I really enjoyed the area. I do a lot of yoga and there were about 5 yoga schools in walking distance....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yeahcarebear
mainplace, Guest Relations Manager at Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review, we are so glad you enjoyed your time with us! We love layovers where you can get to know a place! We're so pleased that you enjoyed your time in Santa Monica and we really hope to see you again sometime, hopefully for a more extended stay! :) Safe travels!

wandering
Reviewed 18 April 2017

I initially had to make 2 reservations - switching rooms. When I checked in the woman was able to keep me in one room, the economy dorm I booked for my last 3 nights. When I got the the room, my narrow single top bunk had a huge fan for the entire dorm right above where the head would be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alicewandersland
mainplace, General Manager at Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! We are sorry you had such a poor experience while staying with us! Did you raise any of these issues with our front desk or maintenance staff? Typically, they can fix all of these issues for you immediately once the maintenance request has been submitted. Additionally, I apologize that a man was in the female...

291 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (124)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (71)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (147)
Viewed
Amenities (27)
Viewed
Private Double Room (11)
Viewed
Private Executive Double Suite (24)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Standard Six Person Dormitory (16)
Viewed
The Hotel (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,752 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
561 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
The Hotel California
The Hotel California
#20 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,078 reviews
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#21 of 36 in Santa Monica
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Santa Monica

Neighbourhood Profile
Santa Monica
Santa Monica is a coastal town that maintains a balance as a tourist destination and as an area with a thriving local culture. On the beach, bikers, roller-bladers, runners and walkers move along the famed bike path enjoying the beautiful Los Angeles weather. The solar-powered Ferris wheel at the Santa Monica pier spins high above the water, while park revelers scream with delight riding the roller coaster. Inland from the beach, Third Street Promenade bustles with shoppers and street performers, where every block seems to have a musical or acrobatic act drawing crowds giving Santa Monica both the feeling of a laid-back beach town and a major commercial hub.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
HI-Santa Monica hostel is set close to cafes, restaurants and movie theatres, and is only just two blocks from the beach. The J Paul Getty Center, with its spectacular art, architecture and views, is nearby. The hostel has been fully renovated with a fresh, new look. There is capacity for 260 guests and facilities include daily movies, internet access, kitchen, laundry and breakfast.Enjoy your stay at the Santa Monica hostel with easy access to Hollywood, Beverly Hills, UCLA, Venice, Malibu and downtown Los Angeles. A tour operator services the hostel, with daily excursions to Disneyland Resort, Universal Studios, and all the area's famed attractions. This location is the largest purpose-built hostel in the USA,just nine miles from Los Angeles International Airport (LAX). Come and check out Santa Monica. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica

Address: 1436 2nd St, Santa Monica, Santa Monica, CA 90401-2302
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Price Range: $79 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica 2*
Number of rooms: 260
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to avoid a room overlooking the entrance, just because because of any street noise”
h4r16464, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I'd expect top floor rooms to have better view”
Arturijus, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“ask for the four bed dorms. You'll find them to be much more hygienic. The rest smell of sweaty balls and cannabis.”
robertmK847UL, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try to ask for a room as far as possible from the elevators.”
  • Inconsiderate roomates going out and leaving their things sprawled all over the place.
bunny_deluxe, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Book well in advance.”
crikeydick2015, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 134* /night
View Deal
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates