We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Howard Johnson Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

264 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk
See the most recent reviews
Showing 256: English reviews
Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 16 November 2016

The only good thing to say is that the hotel is walking distance to the municipal pier and Santa Cruz beach. There are other options.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Russell32825
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, responded to this review

While we are glad that you felt our location was convenient for you, we are disappointed that we weren't able to knock it out of the park for you. Thanks for letting us know your feedback. We hope you will give us another try. Sincerely, Hotel Management

Turlock, California
Reviewed 16 November 2016 via mobile

We always stay here. Our family walks to the Boardwalk and is across the street from the Wharf. It is within walking distance of downtown too. For the price it is great. Free breakfast is always nice for the kids.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Justinreed2269
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, responded to this review

Thank you for your continued support! We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay at our home away from home. From location to breakfast it sounds like we were the perfect fit for you and your family. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Thank you for your review! Best Wishes, Hotel Management

Sacramento, California
Reviewed 13 November 2016

The location of the room is not the best but the room with jacuzzi was roomy & clean. Perfect location if you want to stay near the beach. I will go back to HJ on my next visit to Santa Cruz.. I highly recommend.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 577celiae
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, responded to this review

We do have a really great location, don't we?! We're happy to hear that everything throughout your recent stay went so smoothly and that you will stay with us again. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thank you for your wonderful review! Best wishes, Hotel Management

Live Oak, California
Reviewed 8 November 2016

We booked 3 nights for a weekend getaway. After the refrigerator made noise all night and the shower water stayed cold with bursts of freezing we left the first day. Horrible place to stay.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank T768GHtimothys
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, responded to this review

Deat guest, our room service team is generally very thorough with checking these things so it is strange that this has happened. We wish you had let us know about this so we could have taken care of this right away or switched your rooms to ensure you had a pleasant stay with us as a vast majority of our...

Stockton, California
Reviewed 31 October 2016

We have stayed here twice and have not had any issues staff is nice, liked the breakfast the facility is always clean. This will be our go to hotel whenever we come to Santa Cruz. We love the location no need to pay for parking we can walk to the beach and boardwalk.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank F6995EGanthonyl
Modesto, California
Reviewed 30 October 2016

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sargony957
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

I came to Santa Cruz for my first time, And stayed for one night. The hotel is nice, the room had just what you need: tv, micro wave, refrigerator. I wouldn't ask for anyrhing else . Very confortable and most important very clean. Pd: you have yo make you own breakfast, but that's cool... Part of the adventure. I highly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adriana M
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lily H
Rancho Cordova, California
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank DavidGx3fi60R
San Diego, California
Reviewed 12 October 2016

I really like what HJ has done with this property. For being so close to the wharf, the is the best value in ALL of Santa Cruz. Customer Serviced was delivered by a couple with excellent customer service skills. I made a waffle in the morning and a coulee cups of OJ and I was set. I hope in the...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank X3969UNbriano

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (46)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.4 km away
Coastview Inn
Coastview Inn
#21 of 54 in Santa Cruz
298 reviews
0.2 km away
Seaway Inn
Seaway Inn
#12 of 54 in Santa Cruz
290 reviews
0.2 km away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#22 of 54 in Santa Cruz
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
0.1 km away
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn
0.1 km away
Beach View Inn Motel
Beach View Inn Motel
#20 of 54 in Santa Cruz
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk

Address: 130 W Cliff Dr, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5426 (Formerly Ramada Limited Fishermans Wharf)
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Price Range: $115 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Howard Johnson Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Fisherman`s Wharf Santa Cruz Hotel Santa Cruz
Howard Johnson Santa Cruz
Ramada Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Ramada
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“This is an older beach hotel not the Ritz and walking distance to activities”
 of 5 bubbles MGD828, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't choose any rooms, choose a different hotel!”
  • Steps up to our room, not great with loads of bags
 of 5 bubbles ClaireB761, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a view. There are 2 blocks - one has no view. 2nd only views upstairs.”
 of 5 bubbles PeterC335, 14 Jun 2016 | Read review
“205 was good room, best view I think!”
 of 5 bubbles Mperez4, 6 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Don't get room 112”
 of 5 bubbles Z1237VQnicolef, 11 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5