We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Solares

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Solares
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

645 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Solares
See the most recent reviews
Showing 634: English reviews
Healdsburg, California
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Our room was slightly dirty (bathroom walls etc) and a little tired. Staff was friendly, although when we checked in (after 4p) a maids cell phone was plugged into an outlet in our room. Some dirty cleaning towels were left directly outside our door - they were removed fairly promptly when the maid showed up to collect her phone. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MoniClaire
DaysInnSC, General Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this review

I apologize for your experience I would like to extend a discount on your future stay. sincerely Joseph S Ramos General Manager.

Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

ok hotel, over priced but ok for a stop off, Santa Cruz as an area isn't the nicest, I would definitely avoid, you don't feel safe there, around every corner it smells, and there are so many homeless people, the best thing about Santa Cruz is at the end of the wharf the sea lions stay down at the end,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paigewoodcock
DaysInnSC, General Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this review

Thank you for your opinion.

Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

For starters we booked online and chose to have the deposit takin from the credit card and pay cash for the rest upon arrival just so we had extra traveling money on our card. Instead they took the whole amount out. When we discussed the issue when we arrived they said they would upgrade our room no charge. So sounds...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa F
DaysInnSC, Front Office Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this review

At check in it is hotel policy to charge the room most hotel do that and incidental fee is not charged it is just authorize and returned back at check out.

Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

I booked this place threw booking.com as soon as I booked it the hotel called and canceled my reservation since my card got declined so we went home. Then I go and check my bank account and the next day they charged my card once again total of 6 times my bank said they had tried to charge my debt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raeann G
DaysInnSC, General Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this review

I apologize for your experience hope you will let us make it up to you on your next stay by giving you a discount.

Fresno, California
Reviewed 4 August 2016

We paid for our room in advance. The deal was pay in advance and get a better price. Upon arriving we were not allowed to check-in early. Which okay we can deal with that, however upon checking-in the room we pre-paid for was not available. They gave our room to someone else. We paid for a suite but instead got...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank blamas4383
DaysInnSC, General Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this review

thank you for your business.

Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

This place was horrible. We booked what was supposed to be a king suite, but when we got there they said it was already occupied. We had paid $400 for the room and they would not give a discount. We had no choice as the whole town was booked. In the room there are stains on all the towels, black...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn K
DaysInnSC, General Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this review

Hello Kathryn! Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry to hear that you had a terrible stay with us. Good news is we've just undergone new management and we have a lot of fun, exciting things planned for the future. The next time you visit the area, please contact me directly at...

Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

The rooms here were well presented and had a recently updated feel to them. Breakfast was good although they could do with a lot more space / seating as people had to stand / sit in random places just to eat their food. Reception staff could most definitely work on their friendliness, there were some excellent reception staff but some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James S
DaysInnSC, Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this review

James, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are currently in the process of updating our hotel. We also added seating in the courtyard as overflow for our breakfast guest. We have new patio, table and chairs. Any time you are in the area, we would love to have you back so you can experience our...

Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

Location was good, central to Boardwalk. Neighborhood wasn't great. Hotel was very basic , considered much below Sheraton, or Double tree type hotel. Bedding was poor and likely dirty. No bugs which was good. Expensive hotel for quality. Also had a line out the door at 3:00 pm because staff would not begin check in until 3:00 exactly . Bad...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Carrie G
DaysInnSC, Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this review

Hello Carrie! Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are currently in the process of updating our hotel and we are transitioning to a new Hotel Management Company. We currently in the process of updating all of our linen and we are looking for ways to speed up the check-in process. We look forward to welcoming...

Sacramento, California
Reviewed 9 July 2016

Confirmation never given. When told they sent six emails. We reserved two rooms for different days. They were confused. Room for three had chaise lounge but no bedding for third person. No pillows, blankets, sheets, nothing. Building is old and needs update.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marycB4403NS
DaysInnSC, Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this review

Hi Mary! We apologies you never received a confirmation number. We have a new computer system and we are looking to improve all of the systems functions. We are also in the process up renovating our entire hotel, amenity and services. We look forward to your stay the next time you are in the Santa Cruz area. Sincerely, The Hotel...

Milpitas, California
Reviewed 4 July 2016

Impossible to sleep with the creaky upstairs floors and people walking around at all hours. Stay away from this place if you want to sleep! Also in a kind of sketchy neighborhood with smell of urine on sidewalk, litter, etc. There is a dog park close by. Room was reasonably clean and has a T.V., fridge, and microwave.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul78789
DaysInnSC, Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this review

Hello Paul! Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are in the process of updating our hotel, amenities and services. We are focusing on our efforts on ensuring that you have a clean, comfortable and enjoyable hotel to stay. When you are in the area again, I invite you to come see our upgrades. Sincerely, The...

85 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.3 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 53 in Santa Cruz
440 reviews
0.5 km away
Continental Inn
Continental Inn
#28 of 53 in Santa Cruz
183 reviews
0.3 km away
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
#49 of 53 in Santa Cruz
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
0.8 km away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#20 of 53 in Santa Cruz
352 reviews
0.6 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Hotel Solares

Address: 600 Riverside Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5162 (Formerly Days Inn and Suites Santa Cruz)
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Price Range: $113 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Solares 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Solares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn And Suites Santa Cruz Hotel Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Beach Hotel
Santa Cruz Beach Inn
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Solares staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I would pick a 2nd or 3rd floor room with a balcony facing the courtyard.”
 of 5 bubbles Seror_Carlos, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I would not recommend a street facing corner room because of noise concerns if you want to open a door or window.”
 of 5 bubbles MoniClaire, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“stay on the top floor only”
 of 5 bubbles Paul78789, 4 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Bottom floor allows pets. If you want quiet, try the upstairs. Sans dogs.”
 of 5 bubbles SeaweedSara, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“if you have a pet, 1st floor room is great for easy access out.”
 of 5 bubbles olgag49, 17 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay