We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Carousel Beach Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Carousel Beach Inn
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

268 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Carousel Beach Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 258: English reviews
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

Location right across from the boardwalk is ideal. But the newly renovated rooms are just some paint and new curtains. Beds are ok not great. We were told that the king spa room would sleep our family of 4 no problem. But it only had 1 king bed and a pull out that was a single. Made for a very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michele B
SCBoardwalk, Manager at Carousel Beach Inn, responded to this review

We apologize for any misunderstanding regarding the number of beds in your King Spa Room. I wish we could have resolved the issue during your stay because we want all of our guests to feel very comfortable! We hope you will try us again in the future in a room that better fits your needs. Sincerely, Lisa King Director of...

Tracy, California, United States
Reviewed 15 July 2016

The continental breakfast could use some improvement. They had bagels but not regular bread for toasting. They served the continental breakfast in a small room with rickety tables. The rooms were clean, but the bathrooms small. The motel is located right across from the Boardwalk. With the sliding glass door open you can here the activity from the boardwalk. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pam B
Novato, California
Reviewed 14 July 2016

Very convenient to the beach and boardwalk if that is your intent. We came with a child and did not want to have to deal with driving and parking so it was perfect for that. If you are coming to sightsee other areas as well, or want to avoid crowds, it would be better to stay further from the boardwalk,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scochrane8792
Sacramento, California
Reviewed 12 July 2016

The room was clean and close to the beach boardwalk! The linoleum floors make for easy sand clean up. Bed was creaky and old and lock on bathroom didn't work. Customer service was Excellent! Very friendly, helpful staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Candi M
Somis, California
Reviewed 10 July 2016

The staff were very friendly upon check-in and the hotel was clean.I enjoyed being close to the beach and easy walk to the wharf for dinner (at Riva's - excellent!) It was loud till almost midnight because of proximity to the Boardwalk so be aware. the Continental breakfast could have used cereal and milk also for kids. beds were very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yvonne J
SCBoardwalk, Manager at Carousel Beach Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying and thank you for taking the time to review our property. It would be very helpful to know which room you were in so that we can check out the beds. All beds have been replaced with new beds. I'm sorry if you did not realize how close we were to the Boardwalk, and I'm sorry...

Santa Rosa, California
Reviewed 6 July 2016

This could be a really great place! But it still needs improvement. I love how close it is to the boardwalk, the hotel has been renovated so it does not look as bad as the other hotels do. I really like the colors used in the room, they are inviting and vibrant but lack quality. The furniture is all flimsy,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank E-202
SCBoardwalk, Manager at Carousel Beach Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give us your feedback. We have recently finished replacing all of our beds with new beds, so it would be helpful to know which room you were in. I am surprised and sorry that our customer service was not better, typically we rate very highly in this area. If...

Byron, California
Reviewed 2 July 2016

I love this hotel. This is our third year. It has all that we need to be comfortable. No loud guest. Very family friendly. As close to the boardwalk as you can get. Some units have small outside areas to sit. Will be back again next year!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank crazygig
Ceres, can.
Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

The springs in my mattress were broke, most uncomfortable hotel we ever stayed at. Bathrooms in both our rooms had broken locks. Maintenance said they couldn't fix. Very uncomfortable situation. The best thing of course right across the street from the boardwalk. Not sure if we'll stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank U4279QWchristopherm
SCBoardwalk, Manager at Carousel Beach Inn, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear that your stay was not up to our standards. We recently finished replacing all of our beds, so that issue should now be resolved. We have also fixed the locks on the bathroom doors. We'd like to make it up to you, so please give us a call and ask to speak to Lisa. Sincerely, Lisa...

Danville, California
Reviewed 26 June 2016

It's right across from the Boardwalk. Right. Across. If you have small kids, you know how important that is. Right. Across. Parking is with the rate and saved us $30 because the big main parking lot is $15 a day. And did I mention it was located RIGHT ACROSS from the Boardwalk?

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wacuna21
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

The hotel is conveniently located right next to the boardwalk which is great. The rooms are clean but would benefit from coffee making facilities and an iron/ironing board. My only criticism is that we booked this hotel on line on the hotel website for 2 double beds. When we arrived they informed us that there had been an issue with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela J

73 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.8 km away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
406 reviews
0.8 km away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#4 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,242 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
1.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn
0.8 km away
Seaway Inn
Seaway Inn
#12 of 54 in Santa Cruz
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The family-friendly Carousel Beach Inn is just steps away from the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk and the Main Beach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Carousel Beach Inn

Address: 110 Riverside Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5520 (Formerly Carousel Motel)
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Price Range: $131 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Carousel Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carousel Motel Santa Cruz
Carousel Hotel Santa Cruz
Carousel Santa Cruz
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Cruz
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#11 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Carousel Beach Inn staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Carousel Beach Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you don't mind a bit of noise in the summer, ask for a view of the boardwalk”
 of 5 bubbles 537garethm, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
“3 floors with elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles 874deborahh, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Upstairs on North side of building is great view to beach, boardwalk, and hills.”
 of 5 bubbles familysarazen, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Alway go with the king spa rooms, ask for one that overlooks the street for the best view of the boardwalk.”
 of 5 bubbles D1134YLmichaelh, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Check to see if the boardwalk is open, top floor room”
 of 5 bubbles 174jenns, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5