We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rose Garden Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

368 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 331: English reviews
Start your review of Rose Garden Inn
 Click to rate
Visalia, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

My friend and I spent a Friday night at the Rose Garden. The front desk staff, Daniel and Leo, were both helpful and welcoming. The lobby was clean and a buffet of cookies, fruit, coffee, water, and tea were waiting for us Our room was large, the bathroom clean, and the closet was adequate. I am picky about beds and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank coxseven
Mary C, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

Dear coxseven, Thank you so much for reviewing us. It always makes my day to hear from guests who have enjoyed their stay with us. We are proud to offer quality accommodations at some of the best rates in the area, so your comments about the room and hotel grounds are greatly appreciated. I passed along your kind remarks to...

Fremont, CA
Reviewed 20 February 2017

This place is dirty, outdated, and not kept up whatsoever. The sheets and towels were stained with god knows what, the heat barely worked, and there were major signs of wear and tear throughout the property and room. Pay a few bucks more and stay somewhere clean and nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hawaiianlove1386
Mary C, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

Dear hawaiianlove1386, I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. The comfort of our guests is our top priority, so I am always disappointed to hear that a guest's stay was anything less than perfect. I have noted the concerns you mentioned, and if you would like to further discuss the issues you encountered, please...

kansas
Reviewed 17 February 2017

the room was very big, very comfy. room was clean price was what you paid for and then some. the front desk help from check in to checkout, professionals all three that i dealt with. Heidi, was exceptionally helpful, and had a very cheery, upbeat attitude, kudos to her. Lulu was very helpful, and cheery as well, willing to help,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RRguy1
Mary C, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

Dear RRguy1, Thank you so much for the nice review! I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel clean and comfortable. I shared your review with the staff, and passed along your compliments to Heidi, Lulu, and Daniel, who greatly appreciated your remarks. We pride ourselves on providing welcoming, friendly service at very competitive rates, so...

Corona, California
Reviewed 16 February 2017

The sales pitch: when booking this hotel, the person at the desk told us that the rooms were nicely appointed, the pool was heated, and that we'd enjoy soaking in the spa and "sitting under the waterfall". The reality: the pool was closed and mossy, the spa was broken, and the waterfall was purely decorative. The room was reasonably clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bruce U
Mary C, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

Dear Bruce U, Thank you so much for taking the time to review the hotel. I am sorry that you visited while the pool was not operating. We are always working on further improvements and updating the hotel, including the pool and spa area. I am glad you found the room clean and comfortable, as the comfort of our guests...

Vallejo
Reviewed 4 January 2017

This is a very convenient hotel if you have business in SLO. All rooms are equipped with microwaves and refrigerators. But my brother tells me that this hotel used to be a weekly/monthly kind of a joint, and I can see how that might be true. Linens are worn and the carpet is very tired. But on the plus side,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Merry54
Mary C, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

Dear Merry54, Thank you for sharing this review. I am happy to hear that you had a comfortable stay while working in SLO. I agree that our location is convenient for visitors to the city. Thank you for your comments, since we always appreciate feedback that helps us improve the hotel. Please stay with us again on your next trip...

Miami
Reviewed 2 January 2017

The hotel could be much more attractive with some refurbishment and better maintenance. Pros: - Good location to Hwy 101 - Friendly staff Cons: - Rooms urgently require refresh, just too many things run down - electrical outlet unprofessional and almost impossible to connect desk lamp and coffee maker - minimal water flow from bathroom sink tap - corridors dirty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank caribtravelnut
Mary C, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

Dear caribtravelnut, Thank you for reviewing us and offering this valuable feedback. I am glad you found the location convenient and had the opportunity to interact with our staff. I have noted the concerns you raised and am currently looking into them. We are always looking to improve the experience of our guests, and have improvements planned for the future....

Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

Clean rooms Bath tub was old and making squeaky sounds Ample parking No commentary breakfast Cheap hotel room.. Old looking interiors... Bed was good.. Quite rooms in the night... Good TV and furniture

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mandaek
Mary C, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

Dear mandaek, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is always valuable to hear feedback from guests so that we can continue to improve the hotel's experience. Thank you for your suggestions. I have made a note of them and will bring them up with the staff. I am glad to hear that you found the...

Guatemala City
Reviewed 29 December 2016

We were there on December 27th party of four (3 adult 1 kid). Room was ready and clean. Bath was very clean. Safety and quiet neighborhood. Immediate access from highway 101. 5 minutes from SLO downtown. Free parking.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo H
Mary C, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

Dear Ricardo H, Thank you so much for this nice review. It is always a treat to hear from a guest who enjoyed their time at the hotel. We are proud to be a family friendly hotel and our top priority is always the comfort of our guests. I agree that the convenient location makes this a great spot to...

Reviewed 15 November 2016

positives: 1. dog friendly 2. least inexpensive room in SLO for timeframe 3. location is off freeway and close to coffee shop 4. clean room 5. pretty ground with roses 6. tv worked fine 7. able to park close to the room 8. close to restaurant 9. good size room in the king bed room negatives: 1. expensive for what...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diana A
Mary C, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

Dear Diana A, Thank you so much for taking the time to share this review. We always value guests feedback as it helps us to improve overall experience in the future. San Luis Obispo is only getting more and more popular, but we still pride ourselves on offering some of the most affordable rates in the area. I am glad...

Arcadia, California
Reviewed 14 November 2016 via mobile

We didn't reserve any hotel when we went San Luis obispo. All the hotel are so expensive and we needed to stay for one night. We came the hotel and staff was nice. Room key cards didn't work so we couldn't go inside hotel from outside. We called front desk and we had to come back front desk, then she...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ashamta
Mary C, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

Dear ashamta, I am sorry to hear about your disappointing experience. We always try to help out guests when they encounter issues, but we should have done more to assist you with the room keys, and for that I apologize. I have brought up your other concerns with the maintenance and housekeeping staffs, and we will work to ensure this...

220 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (61)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
0:39
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (135)
Viewed
127 Two Queens (28)
Viewed
206 Standard King (21)
Viewed
227 Two Queens (22)
Viewed
228 Double Double (17)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Pool (12)
Viewed
The Hotel (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
2.7 km away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,521 reviews
6.1 km away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
369 reviews
5.9 km away
Sands Inn & Suites
Sands Inn & Suites
#16 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
586 reviews
2.2 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
788 reviews
5.6 km away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rose Garden Inn is a San Luis Obispo hotel, located off beautiful Highway 101. It is a favorite among Cal Poly University families, with easy access to Pismo Beach, Avila Beach, Oceano Dunes and Hearst Castle. Guests are welcome to enjoy the beautiful gardens, heated pool and the areas largest spa with multiple waterfalls. The rooms are tastefully decorated, spacious, and equipped with the business and family traveler in mind. Free coffee, wireless Internet and a very friendly staff is here to make your stay more comfortable. Rose Garden Inn is just a short drive to scenic Hwy 1, Paso Robles Wine country, and Big Sur. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rose Garden Inn

Address: 1585 Calle Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-7205
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Price Range: $100 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rose Garden Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Rose Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Garden Inn - San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Rose Garden Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rose Garden Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
4 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Rose Garden Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“i would request an upstairs room. On the bottom floor you can hear every step in the room above.”
 of 5 bubbles coxseven, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“best rooms as far as i know, are the ground floor deluxe queen double rooms”
 of 5 bubbles RRguy1, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“2 double beds for 4”
 of 5 bubbles rhernandezch, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“select an upstairs room”
 of 5 bubbles P4538FDdianaa, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Request the upgraded rooms”
 of 5 bubbles denjimenez, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5