We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Motel 6 San Jose South

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Motel 6 San Jose South
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

50 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Motel 6 San Jose South
See the most recent reviews
Showing 42: English reviews
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 28 July 2015 via mobile

Our stay was decent for the price. Our check in process was pleasant. We were able to check in on hour early because we had a reservation. The staff was very friendly.The pool was clean and enjoyable. The room was clean. The two things that bothered me was the bad smell surrounding the hotel and the shady men that were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mercedes M
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 15 July 2015

Front staff were friendly, Room was clean however the pillows were flat. The noise from the ice machine was constant, not of it running but of people getting ice and filling coolers at all hours of the night. How much ice do you need at 4:30 am?? If you choose to stay here and your room is anywhere near an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sbucsis
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 San Jose South, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the comfort issues and noise concerns you describe. We are sorry to hear about the inconvenience you experienced with the water temperature during your stay, however Motel 6 is indeed earth-friendly contentious utilizing 80 percent recycled...

Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 1 July 2015

This not a Ritz Carlton or Four Seasons,. It's not a Sheraton, Marriott, Westin, Hilton. It is a basic, no frills accommodation. The rooms are kept very clean. The ice machines worked. It's got an outdoor pool. The front desk girls were friendly and helpful and cheerful. The area around the hotel has lots of Asian businesses, so good cheap...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank xfooey
Reviewed 17 June 2015

This motel was terrible. There must have been a water leak at some time because the mold smell was very strong. The air conditioner did not run well. The toilet was barely attached to the floor. Lots of outside noise and the walls were so thin that the person next door sneezing sounded like they were right in the room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 San Jose South, responded to this review

Sue, Thank you for sharing your review. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest, and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the noise concerns you describe. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our award winning Phoenix room redesign featuring wood-effect laminate floors. Please know that the conditions you describe are atypical to Motel...

Reviewed 26 May 2015 via mobile

I was attending a four day event and only stay here for two nights because all the other hotels closer to the convention center were booked. After I checked in & opened the room I was assigned too, epic smoke attack! It was worse than a smoke filled casino and the room being small didn't help. Or the fact that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank My Stay Here
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 San Jose South, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We strive to provide a clean, comfortable room and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the odor concern and bed comfort issues you describe. We apologize for the noise inconveniences you experienced and for the unsatisfactory response you received to your complaint. Motel 6 standards for...

Baldwin Park, California
Reviewed 16 March 2015 via mobile

When I called to book a block of rooms, I was told it was under new management and completely renovated. Got to location and was told "not all rooms are cometely redone". Showers look neat but small and water gets everywhere. Requeated fridge and micro, none avail. Front desk gave us rags. Long story short, we recieved excuses rather than...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jay S
Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 31 December 2014

We only stayed at this location for one night, but it was uncomfortable, and I do not recommend staying here, especially with the rates they charge. We chose to stay there because of their pet friendly policies and the fact that they have renovated their rooms. While the floors and counters appeared to be new, the room still had a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank World23Traveler
Reviewed 15 October 2014 via mobile

Spartan is the word that comes to mind when you open the door and look in for the first time. Small room, no fridge, no microwave, no closet and no coffeemaker. No coffeemaker, really. The people above us made so much noise you would have thought they were moving furnature, if they had any, past 3 am. Spend a few...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank steve r
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 San Jose South, responded to this review

Steve, Thank you for posting your review. We are sorry that you were unsatisfied with the expected amenities; however, Motel 6 standards for quality are rooted in economical practicalities to consistently deliver on our goal to provide the lowest price of any national chain. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due...

Irvine, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 September 2014

Motel6 ain't the best place to choose but Motel6 at San Jose South is definitely to be avoided. Totally overpriced for what you get. Tiny and I mean tiny pool Breakfast room so small often nowhere to sit down. Breakfast food very limited Service not great either, not welcoming at the front desk

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VIncent210949
Chino Hills, California
Reviewed 22 September 2014

This is a fine Motel 6, I usually stay at Choice Hotels. The customer service here is excellant. They have room to park my trailer and don't mind if I choose to leave it on the lot while I am renting a room. Have to pay for internet or i would have gave a higher rating. Stayed September 2014

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HBDiver

61 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose
8.4 km away
Alura Inn
Alura Inn
#31 of 75 in San Jose
77 reviews
3.7 km away
Clarion Inn Silicon Valley
Clarion Inn Silicon Valley
#40 of 75 in San Jose
85 reviews
0.1 km away
Fontaine Inn Downtown-Fairgrounds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Lanai Garden Inn & Suites
3.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Jose
14.2 km away
Days Inn San Jose Milpitas
Days Inn San Jose Milpitas
#15 of 20 in Milpitas
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Motel 6 San Jose South

Address: 2560 Fontaine Rd, US 101/Bayshore Freeway at Tully Road East, San Jose, CA 95121-2131
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Price Range: $127 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 San Jose South 2*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Motel-6, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Motel 6 San Jose South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 San Jose South Hotel San Jose
Motel Six San Jose
San Jose Motel Six
San Jose Motel 6
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Motel 6 San Jose South staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were in the back, room 310. Very noisy and creepy people hanging around at all hours.”
 of 5 bubbles 37christyw, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“They have sometimes given the wifi (probably because they had some problems with it) but motel 6s charge a very modest fee to use it.”
 of 5 bubbles N4112RVjoeg, 4 Jun 2016 | Read review
“In the back, away from Hwy 101”
 of 5 bubbles xfooey, 30 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Just don't book this place”
 of 5 bubbles VIncent210949, 28 Sep 2014 | Read review
“This Motel is next to the freeway. get a room in the corner if that is a problem for you. They also have a lot of TRUCKS parking over night.”
 of 5 bubbles HBDiver, 21 Sep 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay