We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House
Panoramas (37)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

669 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 626: English reviews
Carlsbad, California
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

If you can put up with the sound of the trolley going by this is the place to stay when you visit Sacramento. Very comfy bed with fabulous pillows. The person who checked us in wasn't very knowledgable about places to eat nearby or how to catch an airport shuttle. Pretty standard questions for a desk staff person. Other than...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank copejenney
Mt. Shasta, United States
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This property sits apx 3 blocks from the state capitol. There are many restaurants and shops within walking distance and Old Sacaramento if you are really ambitious. The grounds are clean and well kept. The included breakfast is a full breakfast with lots of choices. They have a newer gym and beautiful swimming pool. Large rooms, luxurious bedding and soft,...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ed V
Reviewed 1 week ago

Even though this hotel is a little on the old side, everything from check-in to breakfast & check-out was awesome! Friendly staff, quiet room, great breakfast, and walking distance to everything fun downtown!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 31genniferm
doris1974, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House, responded to this review

Dear Traveler, Thank you so much for giving us a great review! We truly appreciate your business and hope to see you again in the future.

Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is old and need renovation. The rooms are not so clean. Breakfast room is too small. Breakfast is below average, we can even call it poor. Next time certainly I will choose another hotel. The only good point is that the hotel location is good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MEHMET O
doris1974, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House, responded to this review

Dear Traveler, I am so sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. The hotel is an older property, however, we just completed a total renovation of the property a couple of years ago, and our goal is to keep the hotel looking fresh and up to date. We truly appreciate your comments and I will be sharing them with...

Thousand Oaks
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Best Western Plus Sutter House is a regular stop each year in May. My friends and I enjoy it's location to many local favorites in downtown Sacramento. The hotel is a short walk to Old Town Sacramento, and the capitol building. The breakfast each morning is bountiful, including fresh waffles, fruit, eggs,muffins, and much more. The staff is experienced,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George F
Sacramento, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a prime location if you are wanting to do things in downtown Sac. It is 5 min drive to Ace of Spades concert house. Has a great restaurant on the premises that has wonderful food and great service. The staff at the hotel are friendly and accommodating.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ellen H
doris1974, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House, responded to this review

Dear Traveler, Thank you for choosing to make the Best Western Plus Sutter House part of your Date Night experience. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future!

Palm Desert, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Always an excellent experience. Hotel staff is very helpful and willing to work with specific needs (store luggage, taxi service etc.). This hotel is always my first choice when I am in Sacramento on business.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank brucewG5000WD
doris1974, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House, responded to this review

Dear Traveler, We are so happy that you have chosen the Best Western Plus Sutter House to be your "home away from home". Welcome to our family!!

Fresno, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The friendly and helpful staff set the stage for a nice stay. The setup of the hotel make it a safe and quiet place to stay.The location allows me to walk to the convention center and leaves my car safe and secure without paying for additional parking.Overall I always have a nice and trouble free experiance when staying at Best...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 893dough
Santa Rosa, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stay in lots of hotels mostly in the $150 to $300 per night range, and my recent conference in Sacramento, all the hotels were full, and I called the BW Sutter House. Darlene at the front desk said they were full, but took my number and when they had a cancellation, she called me up and I was able...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 285half
san Jose, United States
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have stayed in Sacramento on a few occasions in the past year and were very happy to find the Sutter House. The parking, the room, the staff was excellent, the location is also very workable for the mid-town and downtown restaurants - all within walking distance. We will be back.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank F5643MEmarkc
doris1974, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House, responded to this review

Dear Traveler, Thank you for your kind review, we are so happy that you have found us and have become one of our "family". We look forward to welcoming you back!

238 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (169)
Viewed
Amenities (7)
Viewed
Handicap with One King (31)
Viewed
King (29)
Viewed
King-2 (30)
Viewed
Pool (14)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
The Hotel (16)
Viewed
Two Queens (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.7 km away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
0.5 km away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 80 in Sacramento
1,372 reviews
1.4 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
1.0 km away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
1.0 km away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House

Address: 1100 H Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Price Range: $192 - $390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Best Western, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sutter House Hotel Sacramento
Best Western Sutter Hotel
Best Western Sacramento
Sacramento Best Western
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#8 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Have never had a bad room”
 of 5 bubbles GeorgeF928, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“location is quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles Lindainvegas, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms are all quiet, clean, and well equipped.”
 of 5 bubbles JohnMacMurray, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All of the rooms were on the second level and felt very secure and safe.”
 of 5 bubbles anthonyrC8138ZX, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Please request a room away from the street and pool. The odd rooms in the 40's are probably the quietest. Stay away from room 126.”
 of 5 bubbles DrWeniki, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5