We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Desperado Inn

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Desperado Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

191 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for Desperado Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 191: English reviews
Torrance, California
Reviewed 9 May 2015

My husband and I will be celebrating our 14th year anniversary this end of May. We thought this would be a great place to just relax and get away. My husband called and made a reservation on April 17th and spoke to Tom who was initially "pleasant". We paid for two nights. The following day, we saw lots of negative...

10Thank laine_vb
Marina, California
Reviewed 27 April 2015

Wonderful serene property, accommodations welcoming and private. The view from the Desperato Inn is absolutely amazing if you are looking for a relaxed getaway that is far enough away from it all yet a hop jump and a skip away from town this is the place for you. Tom is the perfect host, he has multi talents, he has wonderful...

Thank kathy s
Reviewed 18 April 2015 via mobile

I loved the Paso Robles area when I was here for business last year. So when my wife found this place I jumped at the chance. We booked a six night stay at the Desperado Inn for our 10 year anniversary. It has been an amazing stay. Tom's a gracious and wonderful host. The property is beautiful and very convenient...

1Thank MarkusWelbyMD
Reviewed 1 April 2015

Like other posters here, I read the reviews after purchasing a living social deal. I'm considering asking for our money back, our stay was so poor. Here's our accumulated pros and cons list: Cons • Owner had to be reminded to say good morning the first morning, didn't even acknowledge us the next. You're in the hospitality business, be at...

6Thank Yahudz
tomr67, Owner at Desperado Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. As the owner of Desperado Inn it can be difficult to hear critical feedback, since we care so much about our customers and want to provide value and satisfaction for every one of them. However, I believe we can always improve, so I will share your thoughts with our team to see how we can...

Reviewed 19 March 2015

Overall beautiful place. The room was great, gorgeous view, and central location for other wineries. The complimentary breakfast was delicious. Only issue we had were frozen pipes preventing us from an early shower, but it helped to keep water dripping overnight for the following morning. Also, if you're allergic to cats, like I am, be prepared because there's a house...

1Thank nsalguero
Berkeley, California
Reviewed 17 February 2015

We had a great time at Desperado Inn. It is a small bed and breakfast, with a nice and friendly atmosphere. The place is located on a beautiful hill with a great view of the area and wineries. The room was clean and well maintained. Also the owner took great care of us and was really nice.

1Thank marj0ke
Santa Maria, California
Reviewed 11 February 2015

Despite seeing horrible reviews (after I had made the reservation), my husband agreed to go with an open mind and we were so pleasantly surprised and happy to know we had a fabulous time. Very relaxing. Tom and Eva are both very welcoming and friendly people. The view was amazing, despite the rain. Exactly what we were looking for. Breakfast...

1Thank Susi M
tomr67, Manager at Desperado Inn, responded to this review

thank you kindly for your review and for staying with us!! Come back and enjy our new upgrades!! Tom

bay area
Reviewed 23 December 2014

Great location and lots of potential but all the negative reviews are quite accurate. We bought a voucher from living social and stayed here 2 nights. We were greeted by a pleasant lady and the first thing she did was asked us for our credit card so she can charge us 30 dollars for tax. The room was big enough...

13Thank supernurserch
tomr67, Manager at Desperado Inn, responded to this review

sorry we were not up to your expectations, next time we will do better.

Oceanside, California, Usa
Reviewed 4 December 2014

The Desperado Inn in Paso Robles is definitely not worth what Groupon advertised the regular price to be. At over $150 per night (plus the $30 additional fee which was a rip off) we felt we made a mistake in booking it. We did not even get a cursory room clean up for the second night. Everything in the upgraded...

10Thank gjresh
tomr67, Manager at Desperado Inn, responded to this review

sorry we were not up to your expectations, next time we will do better.

Reviewed 4 November 2014

Used a Living Social voucher (finally) after being denied a reservation the first 4 times I tried to book a room. As it turns out, I would have been better off just looking elsewhere. Photos are very nice, but reality isn't as clean nor nearly as luxurious as the photos. The place doesn't feel like a B&B, it feels more...

10Thank flobertIdaho

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (32)
Room/Suite (12)
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Pool/Beach Area (3)
View from Room (2)
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (14)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Room/Suite (1)
Other (12)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
10.1 km away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
614 reviews
10.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Paso Robles
18.6 km away
The Creekside Bed & Breakfast
The Creekside Bed & Breakfast
#12 of 30 in Paso Robles
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 km away
Wild Coyote Estate Winery Bed & Breakfast
17.9 km away
San Marcos Creek Vineyard & Winery
15.7 km away
The Inn at Croad Vineyards
The Inn at Croad Vineyards
#3 of 30 in Paso Robles
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Relax at our romantic Villa located close to town and yet worlds away. Surrounded by vineyards, bask in the sun by the pool and enjoy see forever views from our 1200 ft elevation on a ten acre estate,lined with olive trees, lavender, and many kinds of flowers. Four suites, all with full bath, private patios or walk out sundecks. Southwest/Tuscan decor; eclectic furnishings; flat screen DVD players in every room for private movie viewing our library of over 500 first run movies. Air conditioned, Pool, serene, exclusive. Owner is Executive Chef and winemaker. Est. 2007.. Ten minutes from 20 wineries, located in the heart of the "Backroads wine district" in east Paso Robles. WALK to a nearby winery for a picnic and tasting. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Desperado Inn

Address: 2552 Old Grove Ln, Paso Robles, CA 93446-9438 (Formerly The Sundance Inn)
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Price Range: $298 - $413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desperado Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Desperado Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Valdemosa Hotel Paso Robles
Valdemosa Hotel Paso Robles
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Desperado Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Outside rooms have a view.”
olivierleigh, 7 Aug 2016 | Read review
“do some research”
166katyab, 18 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Use Uber or wine tours to drive you around to avoid a DUI :-)”
50nHappy, 22 Jun 2015 | Read review
“The Desperado Room is great, I love the private entrance and back door to little patio as well.”
S8251LEkathys, 27 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Don't go there”
gjresh, 4 Dec 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates