We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Zen Hotel

The Zen HotelUSD 227*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 238*
USD 227*
Great Deal
USD 238*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
The Zen Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

328 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Zen Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 312: English reviews
Norton, Massachusetts
Reviewed 19 October 2015

My husband and I were pleasantly surprised by how nice was the Zen Hotel. The exterior resembles a motel on a busy street but the interior belies this impression. The rooms are very nice with complimentary slippers and toiletries from France. The staff is very friendly and the complimentary breakfast is very good with a variety of hot and cold...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne F
Zen_Hotel_Palo_Alto, General Manager at The Zen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anne F, We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Zen Hotel. Thank you for posting such a great review. After our last renovation, we have continuously looked to implement amenities such as slippers, bathrobes and French L’Occitane toiletries with the goal to pamper our guests. Your great feedback is validation that we are moving in the...

Sacramento, California
Reviewed 15 October 2015

we were here for a soccer tournament. Upon arrival there were fresh baked cookies in the lobby, and they upgraded us to a 2 room suite which worked great for us. The breakfast was geared toward the healthy crowd. No waffles or pancakes here. The eggs were less than great, but they had a good selection of pastries, yogurt, oatmeal...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank thoogenbosch
Zen_Hotel_Palo_Alto, General Manager at The Zen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear thoogenbosch, Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us in Palo Alto during the soccer tournament. I am very glad to learn you experienced all of the aspects of our hotel we really want our guests to enjoy; from our in-house baked cookies in the lobby to our guestroom amenities and full breakfast buffet in the morning....

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 12 October 2015

Happy with this low cost hotel in Palo Alto. Easy access, easy parking. Breakfast and workout room was excellent and I like the theme of the hotel. People were friendly, and wifi was great. The only downside was the back of my room was on El Camino, and I did get some road noise. Other than that, an excellent stay...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ewishan
Zen_Hotel_Palo_Alto, General Manager at The Zen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ewishan, Thank you for your great review. I am glad to learn we met your expectations and that you enjoyed all our amenities. Thank you for taking the time to post your positive comments about your experience and we look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel. Sincerely, Ricardo Berrospi General Manager THE ZEN HOTEL 650-493-4492 X 311...

Portland, OR
Reviewed 5 October 2015

We flew down to Palo Alto for the weekend and wanted to find a clean, affordable place to stay. The Zen Hotel is truly a gem! The owners have clearly spent a lot of time seeing to the little details like chocolates, bottled water and slippers in every room. The hotel has a lovely Asian theme which is carried out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ZebaMom
Zen_Hotel_Palo_Alto, Front Office Manager at The Zen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ZebaMom, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay. I am so happy to see that our attention to detail helped add to the enjoyment of your stay. We implemented the addition of extras, such as the Godiva and Ghirardelli chocolates, robes, slippers, full breakfast buffet and complimentary bottled water, with...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 5 October 2015

Great service, great breakfast, great room. I loved everything about this hotel. Perfect for my visit with my son to Stanford. The room was quiet and clean. Easy to get to and from Stanford. Loved the fruit-infused water in the lobby.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wayne99999
Zen_Hotel_Palo_Alto, Front Office Manager at The Zen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Wayne99999, Any time that we see our property labeled as “Perfect” we know that we did our job right. Thank you so much for your kind words. We appreciate that you took the time to provide your comments and share your feedback. I am glad to know that you enjoyed both your room and our full buffet breakfast during...

Boston, MA
Reviewed 4 October 2015

When I pulled into the parking lot for The Zen Hotel, I thought that TripAdvisor had, at long last, steered me wrong. I was surprised to find that The Zen Hotel is actually a renovated motel. When I got to my initial room, #203, my fears were further reinforced. That room is on the corner with the road on one...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RKM16
Zen_Hotel_Palo_Alto, General Manager at The Zen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear RKM16, It was with great pleasure that I read your thoughtful and candid review about your stay. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to thank you for dedicating the time to post such detailed comments about your experience at The Zen Hotel. Our most recent renovation was made after thoughtful planning and with the goal to...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 2 October 2015 via mobile

All in all, clean and comfortable. Quieter than I thought it would be. Holiday Inn Express-like breakfast but that was expected. Small but adequate fitness center. Expensive for a glorified motel. For example, doors to room open to the outside and you can back your car up to your room. One particular annoyance - on the morning of checkout, I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danothemano S
Zen_Hotel_Palo_Alto, General Manager at The Zen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Danothemano S, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for pointing out the cleanliness and quietness you enjoyed while staying with us. On behalf of our staff, I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced the morning of your departure. The actions you describe from our team member are unacceptable and far from what our...

Arlington, Virginia
Reviewed 1 October 2015

We visited Palo Alto for a wedding and stayed in The Zen Hotel. Although located on a busy street, with restaurants and other commercial estblishments nearby, it was very quiet. The rooms and amenities were lovely, even bathrobes. The staff was helpful and friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Craig S
Zen_Hotel_Palo_Alto, Front Office Manager at The Zen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Craig S, Thank you for sharing your feedback with the TripAdvisor community. It is great to learn that you were able to have a peaceful stay during your recent visit. I am glad you enjoyed our numerous amenities and that our staff was able to provide quality service. We hope that you keep us in mind should you return...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 21 September 2015 via mobile

After making a booking error on booking.com, right weekend, wrong month, both the hotel manager and booking.com were nice enough to make an accommodation. The hotel rooms are not large but very modern and nicely appointed. The have L'Occitane products which I love. Room has direct TV and free wifi. I thought the Wifi was a little slow or heavily...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GregSCPA
Zen_Hotel_Palo_Alto, General Manager at The Zen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear GregSCPA, Thank you for your wonderful comments about our hotel. I am glad that we were able to accommodate your reservation change request and that you had an enjoyable stay. We appreciate you bringing out that our Wi-Fi was a little slow during your stay and we will look into it to see if this is a reoccurring issue....

La Grange, Kentucky
Reviewed 8 September 2015

We spent 2 1/2 weeks this summer travelling the California coast from San Diego to San Francisco and this was by far the nicest hotel we stayed in during our visit. It was neat and clean and the hotel staff was very friendly. Our arrival started with the wonderful smell of freshly cooked chocolate chip cookies (couldn't keep my daughter...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
Zen_Hotel_Palo_Alto, General Manager at The Zen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Robert D, It is with great pleasure that we read your feedback about your stay with us. It was wonderful to see that in your 2.5 weeks of traveling the California coast from San Diego to San Francisco, we were the nicest hotel you experienced. I am glad you enjoyed our ever popular freshly baked cookies in the lobby...

119 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (87)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palo Alto hotels
0.6 km away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
905 reviews
1.2 km away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#6 of 27 in Palo Alto
601 reviews
0.9 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Palo Alto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
0.8 km away
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
#8 of 27 in Palo Alto
591 reviews
0.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Palo Alto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In the heart of Silicon Valley, The Zen Hotel offers daily full hot breakfast buffet that includes freshly made smoothies, Peet's and Santa Cruz Organic coffees, Mighty Leaf teas, sausages, bacon, scrambled eggs and much more. L'occitane toiletries and free true high speed Internet are standard in all guestrooms. Minutes away from Stanford University, Shoreline Amphitheater and tech companies such as HP, Facebook and Google; The Zen Hotel offers great value and is a fantastic choice for business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Zen Hotel

Address: 4164 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306-4075
Region: United States > California > Palo Alto
Price Range: $177 - $483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Zen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Zen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townhouse Hotel Palo Alto
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Palo Alto
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palo Alto
#5 Business Hotel in Palo Alto
#5 Family Hotel in Palo Alto
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Zen Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Davis, California, United States

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Zen Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Just keep in mind that there is no elevator, so if you have any trouble with steps, you should request the first floor.”
dsgs, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Try the breakfast smoothies - especially the kale ones!”
JulianVan, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We where at to the left of the Lobby. It was very quite and peaceful, away from the road.”
mandye858, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I had a room onthe grund floor and irt was great, but I probably woul dhave chosen a room on the second floor.”
499sherriz, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get the rooms in the Zen Garden.”
Sunset97210, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
The Zen Hotel
USD 227* /night
View Deal
Expedia.com
PricelineUSD 238
TripAdvisorUSD 227
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates