We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Monterey Fireside Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Monterey Fireside Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

75 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Monterey Fireside Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 70: English reviews
Reno area
Reviewed 6 January 2006

Unfortunately I can't comment on the lodge itself because we didn't get that far. We made reservations early (Nov '05) for our trip there in Aug '06. Confirmation # received. All seemed fine until we received a call in January '06 that rates were incorrectly quoted by their part-time help, 'Star.' They would not allow us to stay there at...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank SierraSal
A TripAdvisor Member
Wigan, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2005

Stayed one night here. Paid 90 dollars, which was about 89 dollars too much. Room was rubbish, outdated, smelly, tatty, even the tramps wont stay here. We went for our "Continental Breakfast" in the lobby. The little Chinese woman ignorantly closed the shutters in our face while she prepared our brekky. When the shutters reopened she handed us 2 Coffees...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank A TripAdvisor Member
A TripAdvisor Member
Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 February 2005

We were blown away by the hospitality of Steve and Shin - who treated us like family the moment we arrived. The rooms are very spacious and clean and the atmosphere is warm and homely. Steve and Shin helped us with directions to get everywhere we needed and they were more than happy to help out with any need we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
A TripAdvisor Member
Los Angeles
1 review
4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2005

We made reservations at the Monterey Fireside Lodge on Tenth Street in Monterey, CA. When we first arrived, we noticed that they were building a brand new structure right on their lot, which was never disclosed to us. The room we were first taken to was 2 doors down from this new structure. Upon entering the room, the woman at...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank A TripAdvisor Member
A TripAdvisor Member
LA
1 review
4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2005

My wife and I recently stayed at this dive (1/13/05), and I must tell the place was disgusting. It had fecal stains in the shower curtain, stains in the carpet, walls and the list goes on. They never disclosed that they were in the middle of construction as well We ran out of there the same day and the owner...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank A TripAdvisor Member
A TripAdvisor Member
BREWSTER,NY
1 review
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2004

The fireside lodge is a gret place to stay

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank A TripAdvisor Member
A TripAdvisor Member
Sacramento, CA
1 review
6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2004

We took our kids to this hotel in a few weeks ago, Sept, 2004. I checked out the pillows and found blood stains, saliva stains, etc. on all four pillows. Took them to the office and told them that we could not stay there another night. We did not get a discount or our money back, instead we were charged...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Witney, Oxfordshire, England
Reviewed 30 August 2004

Stayed here on 12th August 2004. We spent 22 nights travelling around California, Arizona and Nevada. This was the worst accommodation we found and at $129 + 10%Tax for 2 Queen Beds was by far the most expensive and hugely overpriced. The room contained a 'cooking area' with a filthy stove top. The sheet on one of the beds had...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Dai Batt
FeedumLead, Manager at Monterey Fireside Lodge, responded to this review

You don't go to dinner, eat your food. Decide you don't like it and want a refund or a discount. Do you? I don't. I say something the moment I notice. You should do the same for motels.

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 6 August 2003

I stayed at this "Motel" August 2003. It was the worst place I have ever been. The pictures are nothing like the room.It is very over priced ($149) and I would rather be at a Motel 6.Don't go!

 Report
Helpful?
13Thank hr324
San Francisco, CA
Reviewed 1 April 2003

I stayed at the Fireside in April 2002 and found it to be one step up from a run down hostile. The bathroom was in bad shape and the "fireplace" was gas device behind glass - more like a wall heater. I also, did not feel safe at night.

 Report
Helpful?
13Thank SouzaKH

13 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
2.2 km away
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
#47 of 55 in Monterey
289 reviews
1.8 km away
Motel 6 Monterey Downtown
Motel 6 Monterey Downtown
#42 of 55 in Monterey
51 reviews
0.7 km away
Monterey Bay Lodge
Monterey Bay Lodge
#36 of 55 in Monterey
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
1.9 km away
Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman's Wharf Aquarium
1.2 km away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Monterey Fireside Lodge

Address: 1131 10th St, Monterey, CA 93940-3638
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Price Range: $129 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Monterey Fireside Lodge 1*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Monterey Fireside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Fireside Hotel Monterey
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Monterey Fireside Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't get the king with the double. They charge extra if you use both beds!”
33Hayley33, 12 Jan 2015 | Read review
“make sure there is adequate lightening- ground floors are well suited for animals- less noise for someone below you...”
873cynthias, 19 Dec 2014 | Read review
“Sorry Folks!! There are no good rooms!!”
Marsha519, 24 Jun 2014 | Read review
“If you want any little comforts don't go to this hotel”
35EMS, 2 Oct 2012 | Read review
“Only stay here if you don't have a pet with you; inspect the room before you pay for it.”
snorkelpal, 25 Jul 2012 | Read review
5 of 5