We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
#14 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,301 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,155: English reviews
Sacramento, California
Reviewed 4 September 2012

I only had 1 problem with this hotel property; the sound insulation between rooms. The hotel property has this "siesta" rule; quiet time between 9pm-9am. If you're gonna have this policy, enforce it. Around 10pm, I can hear the next room's occupants yelling and talking very loud. The TV can be heard and the shutters on the windows are constantly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WillA858
sabrinajs, Front Office Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review and for staying with us at the Casa Munras. I appreciate all of the positives you mentioned about the hotel despite the noise issue that you expereinced. I am truly sorry to hear that one of our other guests was not observing the "siesta" hours and that it took more than one attempt...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We had an excellent room in a back building (there are 6 - 7 buildings in the complex) on the 2nd floor with a view of the bay. Very attractive and helpful front desk and lobby area. The large room had a comfy king with duvet, wall mounted flat screen, gas fireplace and well equipped bath. The grounds are well...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank central_coast_lover
sabrinajs, Front Office Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your thorough and descriptive review. I really think you captured the essence of the Casa Munras. So glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to have you back. Sincerely, Sabrina Siino Front Office Manager Casa Munras Hotel and Spa ssiino@larkspurhotels.com

New Brunswick
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay at Casa Munras Front desk at checkin was fast and friendly, very informative with maps and detailed information as to the local area, how long a walk, how long a drive? I was surprised to drive up and see that all rooms are drive up to, motel style The rooms were very clean, beds...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Christine B
sabrinajs, Front Office Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and recent stay at the Casa Munras. Im glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for mentioning your fantastic experience at Esteban restaurant, and that our bartender Jason provided you with such good service. Please come back and see us again. Sincerely, Sabrina Siino Front Office Manager Casa Munras...

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We initially booked for one night but stayed longer as it was so nice. Room was modern, clean and roomy on the ground floor. TV and WIFI all good. The pool is lovely with great loungers and complimentary towels. It gets very deep quickly so might not suit small or non swimming kids. Breakfast was not included but is lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Prid69
sabrinajs, Front Office Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and recent stay. I'm so glad to hear that our restaurant made the celebration of your sons birthday special. As you mentioned they do serve a fantastic breakfast. My person favorite is the Spanish Benedict. We hope that you will come back and stay with us again. Sincerely, Sabrina Siino Front Office Manager Casa Munras...

San Francisco, California, United States
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Very low quality. It looks great online, but it's extremely shabby and run down. The rooms quality is very poor (i.e. bad carpet, stains, not sound proof, worn out furniture, and even odor). It should cost $89.00 or less. My wife hated that there were no shades in the bathroom, which overlooks the parking lot. And we could also hear...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Justin M
sabrinajs, Front Office Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us (apart from the firepit). Thank you for the feedback regarding the issues that detracted from your experience. It is feedback like yours that helps us to continually improve the hotel. I would welcome the opportunity to speak with you further regarding your stay, and...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We were welcomed by a very friendly and helpful man at reception. Our room was ready early which was very helpful as we had been driving for over 2 hours and wanted a bit of rest. We had a queen room and it was quite small. The tv was also very outdated and small. The bathroom was not very clean...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mel F
sabrinajs, Front Office Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that your check in process was efficient and that the man working at reception at the time provided you with great service. I am very sorry to hear of the housekeeping issue with your bathroom, and would very much like to get the particulars of your stay dates and room...

uk
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Hotel was booked for one night, room was not huge but was clean and comfortable. We had reason to take one of our party to hospital in the early hours and the staff on the front desk were stars, providing telephone numbers, contact details, maps and connected me to the accident dept without hesitation. We had to extend our stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank afcb0k
sabrinajs, Front Office Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review and recent stay. Though I am very sorry that you had occasion to visit the emergency room during your stay, though I'm happy to hear that the staff was able to be of assistance. Thank you for mentioning that you enjoyed a dip in the pool. I'm happy to hear that you...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We were looking forward to our stay in this hotel but were a bit disappointed. From the outside the hotel is charming, and it looks like the lobby was recently remodeled, however, the rooms are not as nice. The room we received was extremely small, pretty much the size of our bedroom at home. The bathroom was very outdated. It...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank yaeliam
sabrinajs, Front Office Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for staying and with us and for reviewing our hotel. I am a sorry to hear that you were a bit disapointed in the size as well as the bathroom of your room. Each of our room types is different, but judging from your review I am assuming you stayed in a Cozy Queen room which is the...

Cambridge, UK
Reviewed 14 August 2012

You have a compact queen sir, will that be OK? Err yes...... I was not expecting one UK sized double bed in a compact room. Bed was comfortable and for 1 night OK. Bathroom well appointed, but small. Smell of disinfectant in room - could smell,of worse things!! Didn't use restaurant, but will follow,advice of other tavellers and go,across road...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ashgreen
sabrinajs, Front Office Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for staying and taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that you had a comfortable stay though I am sorry to hear that your Cozy Queen room was not the best fit for you. Though they are our most economical rooms, as you mentioned our Cozy Queen is a smaller size accomodation. We have a...

Galt, California, United States
Reviewed 14 August 2012

I set up a golf package with the hotel for 12 guys to play Poppy Hills, Bayonet and Blackhorse. The logistics went flawlessly. Sabrina Siino, the Front Desk Manager was extremely helpful and accomodating to our group. The front desk staff provided excellent customer service the entire time we stayed there (Thurs. through Sun.). The restaurant on site was excellent....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael Q
sabrinajs, Front Office Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review and for bringing your golf group to the Casa Munras. I'm glad to hear that you had a great time. We'd love to set up another golf package for you in the future if you'd like to come back and play again. It was a pleasure working with you. Sincerely, Sabrina Siino Front...

828 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (286)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (62)
Viewed
Room/Suite (83)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (94)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (509)
Viewed
Amenities (58)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room with Fireplace (55)
Viewed
Deluxe King Room (58)
Viewed
Deluxe King Room with Fireplace (53)
Viewed
Double Room (52)
Viewed
Pool (20)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Standard Queen Room (57)
Viewed
Standard Queen Room #106 (51)
Viewed
Suite (61)
Viewed
The Hotel (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.7 km away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.2 km away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#8 of 55 in Monterey
1,962 reviews
3.5 km away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
2.0 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
1.8 km away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Breakfast Available
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stay Authentic. Historic Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa is located in the Old-Town heart of the picturesque coastal town of Monterey. True to its Spanish heritage, this hacienda-inspired hotel embraces its outdoor spaces while beckoning guests to the warm comforts of their living quarters. A short stroll to Historic Old Monterey or the world famous Fisherman's Wharf, Casa Munras Hotel & Spa is ideally located near many of the Central California region's most visited attractions - coastal California at its best. Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa strives to offer a personalized experience tailored to guest's individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and movie libraries, to a full service business center and a knowledgeable concierge program. Whether traveling on business or enjoying a well-deserved vacation, the Casa Munras Hotel & Spa offers a wide array of amenities to make your stay comfortable and memorable. Guests can "sip, savor and share" Spanish-inspired tapas at the hotel's on-property restaurant, Esteban. Serving traditional dishes with a pinch of adventure, Esteban is the ideal place for a sit down dinner or socializing with friends. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa

Address: 700 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-3110 (Formerly Casa Munras, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Price Range: $184 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cancelon, Priceline, TIG Global and Jetsetter so you can book your Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Casa Munras
Larkspur Collection Monterey
Casa Munras Garden Hotel
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#10 Green Hotel in Monterey
#13 Family Hotel in Monterey
#22 Business Hotel in Monterey
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question
Northern CA
Santa Barbara, CA
over a year ago
Perth, Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Bring your "Walking Shoes"”
 of 5 bubbles 469michealm, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The king size room with the fireplace was super nice, and mine was a corner room which was an extra little benefit.”
 of 5 bubbles 529leeannl, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Book a 2nd floor room.”
 of 5 bubbles brendahoover517, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Double queen rooms in the building at the top of the hill are bigger. From the second floor you might get a peak of the ocean.”
 of 5 bubbles 863pa, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get a renovated room”
 of 5 bubbles Elissa121, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay