We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

El Castell Motel

Show Prices
#24 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
El Castell Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

758 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 586: English reviews
Start your review of El Castell Motel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed there over the weekend and I only have one major complaint, the pool was NOT heated. I read a few reviews with the same complaint, but the Motel said the heater was up and running. When I complained they of course told me it was broken and would be working in two days, (no good to me as I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott L
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at El Castell Motel, responded to this review

Hi Scott, Thank you for your very candid review. We are very sorry that you were so disappointed about the pool. We have been experiencing a lot of difficulties in recent times, that we are trying our very best to have fixed. We apologize sincerely that it was not sufficiently heated for you, and we hope that you will choose...

Oakland, California
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

we chose this hotel based on the fact that it had indoor heated pool. the pool was very cold we did over hear that someone was trying to repair it but it was disappointing that it was too cold to swim in during our stay. the rooms were clean and updated the locations is convenient. breakfast was mostly carbohydrates but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ashleykt
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at El Castell Motel, responded to this review

Hi Ashley, We were very happy to welcome you to our hotel recently, and we are happy that, in the main, you enjoyed your stay. We are very sorry that the pool was a little cold for you, but we hope that we will have the opportunity to be your hosts again soon, and that it will be in full...

Walnut Creek, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

What I liked: It was clean and reasonably priced. The property overall is well maintained. Bathrooms are clean and recently remodeled. Can park the car directly in front of the room. Beds were firm. Close to downtown attractions. Fridge and microwave in room. Decent coffee in room and continental breakfast in the morning. What was less perfect: Bed covers were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lovetobehomeagain
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at El Castell Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for pointing out so many positive aspects of your recent stay with us; our clean room and great facilities, our excellent price and our great coffee and breakfast. We are sorry that the noise troubled you, but your idea about ear plugs is a great one! Thank you so much for your feedback, we hope to welcome you...

Ile-de-france, France
Reviewed 1 week ago

hotel fine for a one night stop, or for the weed end. staff at reception not that friendly, breakfast average but enough. room was clean with comfortable beds. Unfortunately we could hear everything from the rooms next to us or outside, so do not expect to sleep late☺

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tpac2017
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at El Castell Motel, responded to this review

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, in particular the comfortable and clean room that we provided you with. We are sorry that you were disturbed too early in the morning, but we trust that this will not deter you from staying with us again - we would love to welcome you back. Best wishes,...

Madrid
Reviewed 1 week ago

Everything quite good excepting the noise of a near by club... Ear plugs needed! Clean, nice room, breakfast is ok... To stop by when doing the big sur is much Moreno than ok...! I will como back if I do this trip again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maruberru2906
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at El Castell Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate your comments regarding the value that we provide in this area, as well as your mention of our clean room. We love to hear guests say that they would stay with us again, and we hope to have the opportunity to greet you to our hotel again soon. Best wishes, Hotel Management

Washington
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good motor inn. Room was up to date although small. Good shampoo and shower gel. Keurig coffee maker in room. Front staff very nice. Serves a small breakfast. Did not use the pool. No hottub. They only complaint is I wish I would of known that on the weekends the next door club plays loud music until 2am. So Sunday...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rosoygirl1
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at El Castell Motel, responded to this review

It's great that our property met your needs so well, although we are disappointed that the local music disturbed you on one of the nights. We do hope that this will not dissuade you from staying with us again, we would love to welcome you back on your next visit to Monterey. Best wishes, Hotel Management

Anaheim
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great place to stay with family. Rooms are very nice and clean! Definitely recommend for familys. Pool is an awesome plus, it does need to be a bit warmer though. Breakfast is a plus but it does get crowded so I recommend arriving early.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sina842017
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at El Castell Motel, responded to this review

We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. It was a please to host. I want to thank you for your feedback, which we are always delighted to get, and I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again the next time you are in the area. Best wishes, Hotel Management.

NoCal
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed two weekend nights at a rate that we consider a rip-off ($170). The motel has a policy of not allowing check-in before 3, even if the rooms are ready. That is not very customer-friendly. However, the reception staff was helpful in getting us two-day tickets for the Aquarium. Check-in was fast. The room is large and has good-size...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank germinator
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at El Castell Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to detail your stay with us so thoroughly, we appreciate you being so candid in your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed our large and spacious rooms but we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with a number of things during your stay. We are particularly saddened to hear...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Mostly Clean room, heated pool. Parking is tricky but we managed to get a space. There was a little black hair on the sink but it could have been worse. Continental breakfast was totally cleaned out by 9am when breakfast ended at 9:30. We managed to get some cereal and there were a few waffles left but everything else was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tayler E
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at El Castell Motel, responded to this review

Hi Tayler, I want to thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay with us. We are glad you had a decent stay with us, but we really want you to love your stay with us. Please know that we are looking into the issues that you have raised. We are very sorry for...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The rooms were clean, large and comfortable. Perfect for families. Heated pool was great for kids. Breakfast was s little crowded and not much on offer when we visited but it was extremely busy. Overall great place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank justinehax
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at El Castell Motel, responded to this review

Hi Justine, we are pleased to receive your review, thank you. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our clean and spacious room, and that your room was so well suited for your needs. We are also happy to hear that our pool facilities were appreciated by you. Thank you for the feedback on your breakfast; we will...

123 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (100)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
3.5 km away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.2 km away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#27 of 55 in Monterey
136 reviews
0.4 km away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
956 reviews
2.8 km away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
0.7 km away
Pacific Inn Monterey
Pacific Inn Monterey
#26 of 55 in Monterey
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our hotel is conveniently located minutes from all the major attractions of Monterey such as the Aquarium, Fisherman's Wharf, 17 mile drive, Cannery Row and Carmel. We have several room types that range from 1 Queen/King bed to 1 bedroom suites with 3 beds. ... more   less 

Additional Information about El Castell Motel

Address: 2102 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5294
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Price Range: $97 - $976 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — El Castell Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Castell Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Castell Hotel Monterey
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Monterey
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from El Castell Motel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
San Francisco, California
25 days ago
New York City, New York
dekalb
2 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from El Castell Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms in the back building were larger. Avoid the side of the property near the dance club (to the east I believe)”
Lovetobehomeagain, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The amenities in the bathroom :)”
maruberru2906, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If staying on a weekend request a room away from the nightclub”
rosoygirl1, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Second floor in the back are best.”
germinator, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“No complaints”
justinehax, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5